Google Pixel 7 review

27 October 2022


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • 2Wx
  • 28 Oct 2022

This is the real star of the Pixel 7 lineup IMO.

Great features+performance and respectable battery life.

Heck I for one know I'd buy this over my iPhone 13 Pro if this was available when I wanted a new phone.

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • 39y
    • 28 Oct 2022

    No 3.5mm jack no buy, 28 Oct 2022How could a sane person buy this instead of Zenfone 9 is be... moreI'm going to buy a Pixel 7 but I still agree with you,lol

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • Tui
      • 28 Oct 2022

      wow really good battery life vs 7 pro.. so strange i expected similar to 6 pixel...

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • 0p}
        • 28 Oct 2022

        Please gsmarena, stop saying "fast charching" for anything under 50w! 20w is just charging.

          • F
          • Foe
          • y6V
          • 28 Oct 2022

          I don't understand your statement about region dependent software features. I have a 6a, and live in the Philippines. And I think I have the same Google software as everyone else.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • pXr
            • 28 Oct 2022

            The Moto edge 30 Fusion is a really strong competitor here.. for 70% of the asking price of the Google Pixel 7, you get about as good camera, way faster chipset, 6.55" 144hz Oled. .

              • N
              • No 3.5mm jack no buy
              • pLi
              • 28 Oct 2022

              How could a sane person buy this instead of Zenfone 9 is beyond any understanding. Yes they cost same just search properly. Advantages in camera is completely outweighed by other factors too.

              Also, they think they're being different than apple fans by getting pixel! The truth is, there's no difference between apple fans and "android "fans"" who buy android phones without headphone jack. Maybe they can't afford one so they buy the other.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • 4j0
                • 28 Oct 2022

                Um, what about the signal strength and connectivity? How can you not review this? This was a huge problem with the modem on the Pixel 6 line, with most people complaining it had the worst reception of any phone they'd ever had. Do we know if the modem was even updated in the Pixel 7 line?

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • 39y
                  • 28 Oct 2022

                  Better battery life than what I expected. It's still behind of actual compact phones like Zenfone 9 or Xperia 5 IV and there is no excuse for that other than Google bad decisions, but at least it's better than Pixel 6, Xiaomi 12 or Galaxy S22

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • n@7
                    • 28 Oct 2022

                    "If you rely on the 1x mode, however, you can be assured that your portraits woo look great. The samples below demonstrate a high level of detail"
                    Google uses an approximately 1.5x crop from the 12 megapixel (not 50 megapixel) mode of the sensor in portrait mode. So you get only approximately 5 effective megapixels in portrait mode. Definitely not a high level of detail. I think that you get better portraits with normal 2x photos with natural background blur, if the background is far away. The 2x mode gives you even 12.5 megapixel raw files in good light conditions (at least on the 7 Pro, the 6 Pro only had 3 effective megapixels at 2x) and faces will look less distorted because you will choose a higher distance than in the 1.5x crop portrait mode.

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • kXZ
                      • 28 Oct 2022

                      Anonymous, 27 Oct 2022Do Google still only allow 5g access to 'whitelisted&#... morehttps://pixel.withgoogle.com/5G/

                        • H
                        • HeyFromEarth
                        • J6r
                        • 28 Oct 2022

                        Thanks for the test.
                        What I appreciate so much at gsmarena, is the photos.
                        You guys and girls, are photographers, really.
                        Thanks for the review.

                          The secret to great battery life is 1080p display nowonder the pixel 7 has excellent battery life & SOT compared to 7 pro with 1440p display. But one area Google must seriously improve is in the charging speed.

                            This phone may be smaller than the majority of the gigantic phones out there, but I wouldn't call this phone compact.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • Lkg
                              • 27 Oct 2022

                              AngryLithuanian, 27 Oct 2022Can GSMArena re-run battery tests on Pixel6/6pro with Andro... morephones did not last 1 year. they cannot

                                • L
                                • Little Penguin
                                • Lpg
                                • 27 Oct 2022

                                Photos 50mm show very mushed turf and bushes

                                  • A
                                  • AngryLithuanian
                                  • 0xB
                                  • 27 Oct 2022

                                  Can GSMArena re-run battery tests on Pixel6/6pro with Android 13 please?
                                  It seems the update has a lot to do with improved efficiency. Nevertheless, thanks for the review. Seems like smaller Pixel is a better buy yet again.

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • Sec
                                    • 27 Oct 2022

                                    Do Google still only allow 5g access to 'whitelisted' networks? For example the largest 5g network in Ireland isn't supported unless you root the Pixel 6.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • n@7
                                      • 27 Oct 2022

                                      "The point we are trying to make is that the Pixel 7 fares pretty well without a 2x optical zoom camera."
                                      I think that some reviewers don't understand that "2x optical zoom" is just a marketing term.

                                      You still get 12.5 million sensor pixels at 2x and the focal length is even higher than the focal length of "2x" cameras from previous iPhones (6.81mm whereas iPhones with a "2x" camera had 6.0mm or 6.6mm). The difference is the color filter array. You even can't say whether the lens of the 2x camera from the iPhone 7 Plus has an image circle that could be also used as a wide angle camera.

                                      I don't think that "2x optical zoom" is the correct term because the focal length isn't twice as large (it's 6.81mm at 2x and at 1x) , but every "2x" smartphone camera doesn't deserve the term 2x "optical zoom" setting because the focal length of a "2x camera" is usually NOT twice as large as the focal length of the main camera. A common misunderstanding.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • n@7
                                        • 27 Oct 2022

                                        Anonymous, 27 Oct 2022"We didn't see any upscaling artifacts" Bec... moreI want to add that Google doesn't use the "2x camera" at night. At least that's the case with the 7 Pro, even when you use Night Sight. So at night, you again only get 3 megapixels at the 2x zoom setting.