Lenovo Tab P11 Pro Gen 2 hands-on review

9 January 2023


Sort by:

  • A
  • Abh
  • 0tP
  • 31 Jan 2023

RJ, 29 Jan 2023I don’t understand people liked you. It’s like you live in... moreApple is so lame, it wouldn't be if prices where lower.
And even if the prices where lower, it wouldn't even be in my top 3 brands because their phone are only aesthetic, nothing more.

    Apple bots are common here LMAO

      • R
      • RJ
      • Ab@
      • 29 Jan 2023

      prasad-gsma, 12 Jan 2023"How many years are you going to repeat the same myth ... moreI don’t understand people liked you. It’s like you live in a country where Apple doesn’t exist. Like you live on N Korea or something? Everything Apple makes is better and actually works correctly. You buy an $800 Lenovo Tablet and the screen sensitivity stinks or the palm rejection doesn't work or the Ram is horrible. But with a $300 iPad, everything works......lol

        • T
        • Tim
        • Ab@
        • 29 Jan 2023

        Anonymous, 18 Jan 2023In the past I bought from Lenovo: a tablet, phone and PC. ... moreYou buy Apple. Their stuff is just better built, designed, marketed, tested, etc. even the cheap garbage $300 iPad is still going to get more and better use than a $700 Samsung,chromebook or whatever.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • gqb
          • 28 Jan 2023

          aceofdatabase, 17 Jan 2023I have the first gen Xiaomi version of the P11 with 6 gb RA... moreYou even got confused by the brand itself in the first place.

            JLC, 12 Jan 2023I recently replaced my Surface Pro with a Galaxy Book2 Pro ... moreTalk about bringing down the company costs :P

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • mAE
              • 18 Jan 2023

              In the past I bought from Lenovo:
              a tablet, phone and PC.

              Nowedays I will not buy any of their products. I learned my lesson.

                • w
                • wetdog2
                • y26
                • 18 Jan 2023

                I love my P11 Pro Gen 2 as a media consumption device. The battery life is great, it's totable, and the screen and speakers are solid.

                That said, it kinda sucks as a productivity device (I have the keyboard and pen). Lenovo's productivity mode doesn't work great and the Google Workspace UI isn't optimized for tablets. I'm hopeful that an Android 13R update will remedy a lot of these issues.

                  • a
                  • aceofdatabase
                  • 0e{
                  • 17 Jan 2023

                  I have the first gen Xiaomi version of the P11 with 6 gb RAM. I get annoyed that the touch sensitivity changes slightly which necessitates turning the screen off then back on. But that's my only beef, if a big one. The Precision Pen 2 works wonderfully. Thank you for the review of the Gen 2. I don't want any of that mess!

                    A major problem with this tablet is that many users cant change the time zone once it is set.
                    Apparently you have to do factory reset when you want to change the time zone.

                      • J
                      • JLC
                      • pa7
                      • 12 Jan 2023

                      YUKI93, 12 Jan 2023Exactly. If I want a large-sized tablet as my laptop replac... moreI recently replaced my Surface Pro with a Galaxy Book2 Pro 360, but I can follow what you say.
                      My order of devices to use: Windows tablets followed by Gamsung Galaxy S series tablets

                      I have almost no usage for iPads but have two because our company software needs to be tested on iPads with different iOS versions: each iOS version has its own Safari bugs, therefore two iPads.

                        • J
                        • JLC
                        • pa7
                        • 12 Jan 2023

                        prasad-gsma, 12 Jan 2023"How many years are you going to repeat the same myth ... moreYou said:
                        "One has to have missed an entire decade of progress to even consider arguing otherwise."
                        I am sure you have missed it because you proved it yourself:
                        "the iPad has always had a fantastic app ecosystem from day 1"
                        We are in 2023 and no longer on day 1! The problem is that you only read these articles that repeat the same BS for years. I write based on my own experience.
                        I don't know how many millions Apps you use. Those relevant apps that I use on tablets behave the same on both with a few exceptions: some of them do not run on iOS in splitscreen but on my Samsung tablet thez do.
                        And please do not start with a particular artists tool that may not be available on Android. Even LumaFusion is now there.
                        The average computer users are not artists and want things get done quickly and in a productive way. iOS does not allow for this. This is fact.

                          JLC, 11 Jan 2023“This is something iPadOS is lightyears ahead in and the ne... more"How many years are you going to repeat the same myth of better app support on iOS?"

                          As long as it remains an objective fact. It's laughable someone is still arguing this point in 2023 considering the iPad has always had a fantastic app ecosystem from day 1 and the Android tablet ecosystem never even got off the ground. Even all of Google's own apps weren't optimized for tablet use many years into Android tablet's existence.

                          Across every single category, whether it's drawing apps, photo and video editing, healthcare, education, music production, photography, coding, games, you name it, the iPad has an unimaginably better app selection that is rivalled only by desktop platforms. One has to have missed an entire decade of progress to even consider arguing otherwise. Then again, that seems a given for anyone who still brings up the file system as an argument in 2023, even though iOS has had a functioning file manager for years now.

                            Anonymous, 11 Jan 2023I think the bigger problem is that neither Qualcomm nor Med... moreI think I can safely say only three phones with a budget or entry-level Snapdragon SoC that has USB-C 3, at least according to this website's Phone Finder search*. I agree with your point about the lapdock upgrade since it depends on the host device. I can easily say that Snapdragon 480 SoC is way more than enough for average consumers that only do web and social media browsing daily. Ngl, I don't think Andronix and Termux won't be a problem for such an SoC.

                            *https://www.gsmarena.com/results.php3?sFreeText=Type-C%203.0&sChipset=89&nOrder=1

                              JLC, 11 Jan 2023“This is something iPadOS is lightyears ahead in and the ne... moreExactly. If I want a large-sized tablet as my laptop replacement, the iPad is not it. That always goes to the Microsoft Surface Pro lineup.

                                JLC, 11 Jan 2023“This is something iPadOS is lightyears ahead in and the ne... moreMy banking app looks laughable on ipados

                                  • J
                                  • JLC
                                  • pa7
                                  • 11 Jan 2023

                                  “This is something iPadOS is lightyears ahead in and the next best thing to having an actual laptop.”
                                  Sorry to say this, but such “BS” needs to stop at some time. How many years are you going to repeat the same myth of better app support on iOS?

                                  You mentioned as an example Instagram. Are you aware that Instagram takes on iPads always the full screen and runs the iPhone mode? On any Galaxy tab, I can open Instagram and any other app in any size, in splitt screen, and also in popup mode and this without the support of the developer.
                                  You are recommending an OS without a proper file system and a touch pointer as the best replacement for laptops?

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • gqi
                                    • 11 Jan 2023

                                    YUKI93, 11 Jan 2023Currently, only select flagship smartphones have the Deskto... moreI think the bigger problem is that neither Qualcomm nor Mediatek make a budget or entry-level chipset with USB3 support. Just imagine the situation where you only need to buy a lapdock for larger screen experience instead of buying a cheap tablet with subpar hardware. When the time comes to upgrade your phone, your lapdock gets the upgrade too. It couldn't have been better.

                                      • d
                                      • derby
                                      • nDS
                                      • 11 Jan 2023

                                      Nothing about the display response time? How about the stylus pen? pressure points? palm rejection details? this a review?

                                        Trollhammeren, 10 Jan 2023Because people who would try to use something like this for... moreCurrently, only select flagship smartphones have the Desktop Mode feature. LG was the only brand that gave it to mainstream midrange or upper-midrange phones like the Velvet 5G and Wing 5G. Sony doesn't develop their own custom Desktop Mode flavour, yet they can still give wired video output for the 2021 Xperia 10 Mk3. Even Samsung has no problem giving DeX to the Snapdragon 778G-powered XCover6 Pro, but that is an enterprise-first smartphone. The harsh reality is that most brands know that giving wired video output and Desktop Mode features on non-flagship models will hurt their tablet sales.