nubia Z50S Pro review

8 December 2023


Sort by:

shu, 05 Apr 2024weird... when i use mine at 3x 4x an 5x zoom its not in 108... moreBro, I'm using z50s pro,and all the camera capable of taking 4k@60fps

    • J
    • JoeM
    • 31%
    • 19 Apr 2024

    Today (10/04/2024) my Z50s Pro (Global version) informed me that a new update is available. Unfortunately it is not the Android 14 / MyOS 14 Update. I will install it later today.

      • s
      • shu
      • IbK
      • 05 Apr 2024

      weird... when i use mine at 3x 4x an 5x zoom its not in 1080p like the review says it stays in 4k30/60 .... hhhmmm even exif data says 4k NOT 1080p

        igguk1, 16 Dec 20231TB -> ufs 3.1Yeah this is correct.

        I guess they did this because it was cheaper to make.

          • a
          • aquino
          • pGX
          • 19 Dec 2023

          aquino, 14 Dec 2023Another question: can apps be locked by fingerprint? I'... moreIt's under the file explorer tool. Private space. Apart from encrypting files, there is an option to guard apps behind the fingerprint lock

            ConcernedReader, 16 Dec 2023I'm seeing conflicting info online about the 1TB versi... more1TB -> ufs 3.1

              • F
              • AnonF-1006353
              • JBi
              • 16 Dec 2023

              ConcernedReader, 16 Dec 2023I'm seeing conflicting info online about the 1TB versi... moreAny good ufs benchmark tools or hw info apps?

                • F
                • AnonF-1006353
                • JBi
                • 16 Dec 2023

                MARIMAR, 12 Dec 2023I bought this monster yesterday and I can assure you it is ... moreDid I screw up some settings, or do you have the media notification seekbar working on this? Any tipps?

                  • C
                  • ConcernedReader
                  • IBU
                  • 16 Dec 2023

                  I'm seeing conflicting info online about the 1TB version of this phone is it UFS3.1 or UFS4.0? on the official nubia international website it says only the 256GB version is UFS4.0 and the 1TB is UFS3.1 can anyone confirm?

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • wr4
                    • 15 Dec 2023

                    Lenovo Vibe Shot 2023 edition 😂

                      • m
                      • moof
                      • mxK
                      • 14 Dec 2023

                      I want no camera bumps back, now SoCs are fast enough to driver several sensors at once, I think another stab at the Nokia 9 is in order.

                        • a
                        • aquino
                        • MXc
                        • 14 Dec 2023

                        Another question: can apps be locked by fingerprint? I'm unable to find the option. Can someone explain where it is on global firmware?

                          • a
                          • aquino
                          • MXc
                          • 14 Dec 2023

                          Anonymous, 12 Dec 2023YesI'm not being able to get video output with global firmware. I'm connecting directly to a monitor (Arzopa A1 Max) with the phone usb-c usb-c provided cable. Could you elaborate a little more? Is there some dev options that should be enabled? Thx in advance!

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • m62
                            • 14 Dec 2023

                            MARIMAR, 12 Dec 2023I bought this monster yesterday and I can assure you it is ... moreThe cameras besides the main camera are average, and the screen sadly isn't LTPO

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • pdX
                              • 12 Dec 2023

                              aquinoe, 12 Dec 2023Is there video output through the USB-c port? Any form of ... moreYes

                                • a
                                • aquinoe
                                • MXc
                                • 12 Dec 2023

                                Is there video output through the USB-c port? Any form of 'desktop mode' with ZTE phones?

                                  • M
                                  • MARIMAR
                                  • y6V
                                  • 12 Dec 2023

                                  I bought this monster yesterday and I can assure you it is a good phone from camera,display,chipset and battery life is simply amazing, Nubia brand is like OnePlus back then when they start selling smartphone.

                                    Anonymous, 11 Dec 2023That's some ridiculously incompetent opinions on camer... moreThose mid-range lenses usually start from 24mm because they are "standard" zoom lenses and need to cover a wide variety of shooting situations from landscape and short-range portraits to event photography. Heck, I literally said in the other comment (which you probably didn't read) that 35mm is limiting for group photos and the difference between those two FLs is huge, we stand on the same ground so you don't need to get aggro about it lol.

                                    Phones can only have a prime lens due to internal space restriction, meaning if a phone has a type 1 50MP camera with a 24mm lens, you're stuck with it you wouldn't be able to get the same depth of field, pixel density per field of view or light gathering per exposure as the same sensor paired with 35mm lens, assuming that the F-stop would be identical between the two, although like I already said having a wider lens will be more convenient for most people.

                                    Nubia's current implementation is a bit flawed because it uses a substantially smaller sensor than its competition (type 1/1.56) which somewhat diminishes the point of having a 35mm FF equivalent lens to begin with, but if they could turn their prototype unit with a type 1 sensor AND 35mm lens into an actual product, it would be epic for sure - well, at least that's what I think.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • mr}
                                      • 11 Dec 2023

                                      Nick Tegrataker, 09 Dec 2023The main advantage of 35mm is that it is narrow enough for ... moreThat's some ridiculously incompetent opinions on camera lenses, as a photographer I can tell all big cameras when using midrange zoom lenses starts at 24mm, usually it has always been the cheap pocket cameras that got a narrower 27-28mm lens, which is not suitable for landscape, or architecture shooting or large group photo especially in a small space where the photographer can't back out as much as would have been needed to catch everyone.
                                      And if the lens is "too wide" then it's easy to crop the photo so it looks like 35mm shot.
                                      Also, today all cameras have so many megapixels that lens distortion correction is the norm without barely any photo quality degradation, even for pro DSLR cameras.
                                      Going with a very narrow 35mm is a total misunderstanding of photography from Nubia's side, period.

                                        • M
                                        • Mills
                                        • xFM
                                        • 11 Dec 2023

                                        404, 11 Dec 2023"bAd sOftWaRe sUpPoRt" then just get a Samsung or... moreGSMArena really likes to punish phones who does their job right. Take A54 for example. They call the phone amazing, cameras all good and all that and the performance is good and all that. When the long-term review comes in, they trash the phone for being "laggy". I really don't understand the reviewers. nubia Z50S is a gem. 500 bucks for last years leading chipset is a STEAL!

                                        Their rating system is kinda bad. S23 FE got 4.0 while the Poco F5 (far better phone) gets a 4.1! What kind of score is that. S23 deserves around 3.6 while Poco F5 gets at least 4.4; they rate phones based on their price segment more than the actual phone itself as well.