Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra review

13 February 2024


Sort by:

Anonymous, 14 Feb 2024What ppl call "washed out colors" is better cali... moreWhy not let the user decide? Use natural if you want the best calibrated colors and use vibrant if you want punchy colors and don't care about calibration. Samsung should not make this choice themselfs. Let the user decide.

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • gDf
    • 14 Feb 2024

    It's surprising that Samsung didn't choose a 64 megapixel 115mm camera. A missed opportunity in my opinion.

      • S
      • Stoon
      • rXE
      • 14 Feb 2024

      very bad cpu throttling compared to s23 ultra

        cell-phone-guy, 13 Feb 2024Guys, please stop downplaying the grainy panel. You can cle... moreNOT every phone has the "grainy" issue! Mine does NOT have the problem! I'm sorry if yours does but not all of them do.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • 0p}
          • 14 Feb 2024

          sors, 14 Feb 2024Great review. Most other websites only mentioned how great ... moreWhat ppl call "washed out colors" is better calibration than punchy/vivid.

          Calibration is less crap than previous generations and ppl complain?

            • s
            • sors
            • m%A
            • 14 Feb 2024

            Great review. Most other websites only mentioned how great the display is because of the new anti-glare glass, but nearly none mentioned how terrible the panel quality is compared to the samsung's own last years models and other phones. I was so disappointed when compared my s24u with my old s22u that had no grainy display issue or washed-out colors and terrible brightness management.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • 0p}
              • 13 Feb 2024

              Darth Caesium, 13 Feb 2024This. While I was excited to read this review because of th... moreDo not expect oppo review before the mi 14 ultra

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • 0p}
                • 13 Feb 2024

                Alex, 13 Feb 2024Thank you for the review! Appreciation and also a small dis... moreKeep dreaming. They would have to let ppl know chinese phones have less than 240 while advertising 1920 and 2160.
                Vivo X100 Pro has less than 100Hz according to notebookcheck review.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • 0p}
                  • 13 Feb 2024

                  Phone is "so exciting" that they did not even bother to post other video samples. Only one.
                  4K@120 that is not even real 120, just playback out of 30.
                  Even this site seems to be getting tyred of samsung not doing anything new and useful.

                  It has been while that it is known samples from 115mm that are 230mm equivalent are worse than 230mm from S23u. It is equivalent of using 6mm2 sensor. That is even smaller than 1/4" (8mm2) .

                  Keep the iphonization. S7 Edge alone sold more than entire s23 series, despite having pathetic mono speaker (when stereo should have been added since s5).

                    David 040882, 13 Feb 2024Well, the "graininess" which seems to be the issu... moreI would never have my display so dim. I have used my S24 Ultra in dim light conditions, like in bed. But I have not noticed any graininess with my display.

                    I certainly like my S24 Ultra better than my S23+ was. I'm just glad they went with a flat screen this year. Otherwise, I would have never purchased the S24 Ultra.

                      walkman8, 13 Feb 2024The curse of the "even" Galaxies continues: s20u,... moreThe S21 Ultra wasn't bad when it came to its twin telephotos, but you're otherwise right. The odd-numbered phones really aren't that compelling compared to their predecessors, though you can't deny that the main camera at least was a large upgrade.

                      You're still right, though. S20->S22->S24 is a good combo compared to S21->S23.

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • gDf
                        • 13 Feb 2024

                        The 24 megapixel photos definitely have more detail.

                          [deleted post]This. While I was excited to read this review because of the new 50MP 5× telephoto and the realistic image processing, I'm still massively disappointed by how long the Oppo Find X7 Ultra's and the ZTE nubia Z60 Ultra's reviews have taken. So many phones have been reviewed before these despite these two being announced for review almost right at the start of the year.

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • gDf
                            • 13 Feb 2024

                            It would be interesting to see a 240mm or 360mm camera comparison with the Pixel 7 Pro, Vivo X100 Pro, Oppo Find X7 Ultra and Honor Magic6 Pro.

                              The curse of the "even" Galaxies continues: s20u,s22u,s24u.

                              Several reviewers mentioned that s-pen might slip up from the slot while in pocket, which was unthinkable for previous Note/S Ultras.

                                Maybe Next year!

                                  • G
                                  • GottaGo
                                  • aj}
                                  • 13 Feb 2024

                                  Now that are some really poor Pro-s for recommending this phone.
                                  Dex, like all other Samsung
                                  Charging speed is fayer than pixels and iphones
                                  The S pen :))))
                                  One Ui like all other Samsungs?

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • gDf
                                    • 13 Feb 2024

                                    "but it might be the opposite and might have false details."
                                    Yes, that's indeed the case. Just look at the last sample image from the 9x comparison. Look at the name "EDILMA" in the center of the image. The 9x machine learning version makes it more artificial.

                                    It's also possible that Samsung uses pixel binning at 10x in certain cases even in good light conditions (my Pixel 7 Pro only uses pixel binning at 10x, if the light conditions are not good, otherwise it will always avoid pixel binning at 10x). In that case, the 10x mode doesn't capture more information than the 9x mode, so it's easier for machine learning to pretend that 9x is better than 10x. For example, the 10x image of the mountains looks a little bit as if pixel binning was used, but of course I don't know whether that was really the case.

                                      • g
                                      • gerome
                                      • Fv1
                                      • 13 Feb 2024

                                      4.6 score with the whole myriad of display issues? This is hardly 4.3% this year. Samsung is clearly trying to save money on demura process. and all units are affected. If you dont see graininess on yours it does not mean it's not there.

                                        Nice