Sony Xperia 1 VI review

15 May 2024


Sort by:

  • j
  • jmydy
  • M4N
  • 20 May 2024

gutnachte, 19 May 2024You guys nitpicking on the screen resolutions, etc. While t... moreBut well, display is something you look most of the the time when you use the phone. I will check it in shop and won't be that bad ;)

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • ILe
    • 20 May 2024

    Some Anonymous Prson, 20 May 2024The U.S government didn't ban Sony. It's just no... moreSony can handle that just fine. They just had stupid ceos making poor choices

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • CbI
      • 20 May 2024

      Does this phone support 5G in India?

        How about a review of phone reception and call quality? The camera is secondary, or should be. It's a phone.

          Anonymous, 20 May 2024Did the US ban Sony as well, lol? The US market absolutely... moreThe U.S government didn't ban Sony. It's just not a feasible market for them due to carrier requirements and limitations. Bands here are different so they need to make their phones differently and have enough coverage for all of the carriers here. I despise multinational corporations but I understand Sony's reasoning. Due to the price, I probably wouldn't have bought one until the price came down or a 5vi if the screen is wider. I'm disappointed but my ego isn't wrapped up with a corporation. Sony seems to have a different approach to phones than Apple. They make minor improvements, sometimes they aren't improvements. Older models remain on their site for purchase. You can still buy a new 5iv in the U.S. It's just one more gadget that they produce and they probably use it for development for other products. It's just a phone.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • 0p}
            • 20 May 2024

            Prettycure, 19 May 2024I'm 100% sold, I will go through whatever hurdles nece... moreDid the US ban Sony as well, lol? The US market absolutely sux. No one can sell their phones without carrier support and the carriers have monopolies and can decide what phones they carry. And then the US government can also butt in and ban carriers from carrying certain makes of phones. Real freedumbz you have there.

              Prettycure, 19 May 2024I'm 100% sold, I will go through whatever hurdles nece... moreYes, but it might have bad coverage. That's my concern. Just one more reason to move to Europe, not that I'm young. Have you read or heard anything about the improved audio circuitry for the headphone jack? I saw it mentioned but haven't read anything about it in reviews from prior knowledgeable about these things.

                Kamil fso, 19 May 2024if camera apps have been changed, is it for better or worse... moreI have a 5iii. I used to have a good Cannon film camera and an old Argus. I used to have fun with those. I haven't spent time with digital cameras so I can't really say much but I do find the app a bit confusing compared to the real, but non-digital, cameras I've used so the new version could well be an improvement.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • qsL
                  • 19 May 2024

                  Sony finally trying to play catchup but all the knights will be here claiming they've been way ahead since the dawn of time

                    • T
                    • Talisaman
                    • 4wW
                    • 19 May 2024

                    After Watching this review for Sony Xperia 1 VI, I also checked out two other major rivals here at GSM Arena and mainly on the camera capabilities just to see how much of difference there really is. So I watched and compared pictures taken by GSM arena using the Sony Xperia 1 IV, Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra and Apple iPhone 15 Pro Max that were taken at low light/night.
                    I found Xperia 1 IV vs 15 Por Max are very close as the pictures were taken at same settings/locations at night in almost same light/brightness.

                    As for Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra I noticed the quality of pictures were better in general, but also noticed that for Samsung a lot more pictures were taken (again only night/lowlights) compared to 2 other rival phones. It is also clear that while taking pictures with Samsung Galaxy S24 the reviewer spent more time locating newer locations, capture at better angle advantage or view point vs the Sony Xperia 1 IV or Apple iPhone 15 Pro Max.

                    It's clear that Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra has received more attention and is favored by the reviewer than the Sony Xperia 1 IV or Apple iPhone 15 Pro Max.

                    If you are going to review major phone brands do it fairly.

                      • K
                      • Kamil fso
                      • 0u@
                      • 19 May 2024

                      if camera apps have been changed, is it for better or worse?? I have never had an Xperia or any professional camera and I was thinking about buying an Xperia 1V just to learn and take nice photos. but I was waiting for a new xperia and is it worth buying? maybe s24ultra and does Sony plan to release a PRO version at all?

                        • P
                        • Prettycure
                        • sHw
                        • 19 May 2024

                        I'm 100% sold, I will go through whatever hurdles necessary to get one in the US

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • txG
                          • 19 May 2024

                          gutnachte, 19 May 2024You guys nitpicking on the screen resolutions, etc. While t... moreim also dont have issue with display, i dont care about resolution. What i care is LTPO, color reproduction and brightness for HDR content. Xperia 1 mark VI is the only phone with dual front facing speakers (rog out), uninterrupted display (rog out also), microsd slot, and 3.5mm headphone jack. The only thing i wish available is only led notification. Sony can make beautifully integrated led notification in earpiece like old xperia z1, just dont get why sony drop this.

                          Would gladly buy this thing (trade my boring s24 ultra) with this if released in my region which sadly never going to happened.

                            • h
                            • hum
                            • TjU
                            • 19 May 2024

                            Sam N8 808 owner, 18 May 2024Hmm... A fantastic phone that in my opinion could've b... moreBasically a no no until they learn to code and upstream the code first, Snapdragon has ok Linux support, even Apple has unfixable security issues with hardware m soc nobody wants that

                              gutnachte, 19 May 2024You guys nitpicking on the screen resolutions, etc. While t... moreSame here. It's not going to be available here.

                                • g
                                • gutnachte
                                • XUB
                                • 19 May 2024

                                You guys nitpicking on the screen resolutions, etc. While this phone offers something that almost no other companies provides like front firing speakers, jack audio, micro sd slot, optimal zoom from 3x to 7x are weird. I would buy this phone in a heartbeat if it will officially released in my country, which is sadly would never happen.

                                  • j
                                  • jmydy
                                  • M4N
                                  • 19 May 2024

                                  I'm bit disappointed. Sony 1 VI has similar PPI to Galaxy S23+. I was testing S23+ for few days and eventually replaced it with base S23 due to low screen sharpness. For me difference between S23 and S23+ is easy to notice. Small fonts look better on base S23.
                                  I wish Sony 1 VI had ~450ppi. It would be then best phone on the market.

                                  PS. I have to say I haven't seen 1 VI in real yet.

                                    Some Anonymous Prson, 19 May 2024Why are you doing this? I think that a phone should have t... moreIm just ask becuse all flips, folds phones have unnatural spect ratio and you write that if price is good you would buy one (thats your words). So the aspect ratio is not a problem but price?

                                      • A
                                      • Ace
                                      • uQ5
                                      • 19 May 2024

                                      With a micro SDXC in the 2nd SIM slot, can I use eSIM as the 2nd SIM?

                                        LucasN82, 19 May 2024So you like unnatural apsect ratio?It should be like two pages in a book.