Sony Xperia 10 VI review

16 May 2024


Sort by:

The processing on the photos is terrible. They look very unnatural. This is one area that people expect Sony to excel in.

So, we have an ordinary camera, a phone that looks and feels like a remote control, an under-powered chip, ultra slow charging, a side-mounted fingerprint sensor, large bezels, poor value, and competition that blows it out of the water. Sony is pulling our legs, surely.

If you get the Pixel 8a, you get 7 years of updates (versus 3 with the Sony), 120Hz refresh rate and a superior primary camera. Enough said.

    • R
    • RoterDrache
    • 3%W
    • 17 May 2024

    Instead of making the 10 VI 50€ cheaper Sony should have made it 100€ more expensive than the 10 V but therefore with better specifications like a "Xperia 5 V Lite": Xperia 5 V with 19.5:9 display and upper midrange soc.

      Is it me or the images from the main camera hold up surprisingly well when zooming in. Interesting. There's really no alternative to this phone since it's light, has a sd card slot and headphone jack plus some water resistance. I would still only pay $300 max for this phone.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • 0p}
        • 17 May 2024

        Kaka, 17 May 2024💆🤦... I'm really speechless No led No af u... moreSony does not even have deal with mediatek to have chips.
        D8200 was tested, but not purchased.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • 0p}
          • 17 May 2024

          Zero reason to buy it over mark 5 if you have mark 1,2 or 3.
          Except the stereo speakers, I would choose mark 3 over this one.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • ajK
            • 17 May 2024

            They removed the 54mm camera but didn't put a better main sensor (lyt-600) for a better digital 2X...delusion.

              CompactPhones5ever, 17 May 2024High refresh display is imo the most important UX feature, ... moreOf course there redeeming features on the 10 VI, like the microSD card slot and the 3.5 mm jack, which the mentioned competition lacks. These are some of the reasons why this can probably be my first Sony phone, replacing my 5-year old Samsung A40.

              Is it cheap? Of course not, but at least it's 50€ cheaper then last year's model. The problem here is that there are almost no compact phones on the low / midrange segment. For me, the 10 VI would be perfect if it was even smaller, had the 10 V's battery life, FM radio and it came with accessories, while being cheaper. But looking at the options on the compact niche with microSD card slot and 3.5 mm jack, this the better we can get. If not, please tell me!

                • F
                • Funmap
                • ngB
                • 17 May 2024

                The most boring device in a long time. I wonder why they even released it. Compared to the Xperia 10 V younger one less battery life, no telephoto lense, no new sensors on any camera and not even 90 Hz for the display. Why not just get the Xperia 10 V instead. Sony should skip at least one release cycle and come up with time improvements.

                  they were so close... could've kept the price at 450 even, if they improve a couple things
                  upgrade the sensors
                  slightly stronger soc
                  Wifi6
                  USB3
                  30W charging

                  its infuriating really. now it is basically an almost worse phone than last years for cheaper. literally evolving just backwards.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • at1
                    • 17 May 2024

                    Another remote control phone from sony.

                      • S
                      • Smallworld
                      • JgF
                      • 17 May 2024

                      CompactPhones5ever, 17 May 20243.7?! Welcome to another episode of "what the f*** do ... moreSo they're better just because they got a 90hz display?
                      Lmaooo
                      How many of them will get 3 OS updates and 4 years of security updates when even high end Xiaomi phones barely get that on time? Stereo speakers? IP68 rating? SD card? 3.5mm jack?

                      High refresh rate isn't everything.

                        • S
                        • Smallworld
                        • JgF
                        • 17 May 2024

                        So now they just need to improve the display and it will finally be worth its price.

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • pw4
                          • 17 May 2024

                          Not competitive at all, 300 at most. Let's see what the 5 VI will bring to the table in sept.

                            Anonymous, 17 May 2024Who will buy this phone? Samsung and Xiaomi dominate th... morePeople who value battery life and build quality i guess maybe clean android apart from that there's really nothing much to this thing

                              • j
                              • joe joe
                              • LFq
                              • 17 May 2024

                              2020 just called, it wants its phone back.

                                CompactPhones5ever, 17 May 2024High refresh display is imo the most important UX feature, ... moreMy bad, overlooked its overpricing, so yeah, it does look pretty unimpressive compared to some of its peers

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • nDE
                                  • 17 May 2024

                                  Who will buy this phone?

                                  Samsung and Xiaomi dominate this segment.

                                    David 040882, 17 May 2024Having a 60Hz display isn't enough to bring the rating... moreHigh refresh display is imo the most important UX feature, even phones with the worst CPUs can feel smooth in use if it has at least 90Hz display (and likewise).

                                    Regardless, I disagree that the rest of the phone is pretty good. The "competition" section of the review sums it up nicely - Samsung A55 (and not only it) is straight forward better, cheaper phone. There are simply no relevant redeeming features on the Xperia 10 VI that should make anyone consider this phone. The only feature that makes it stand out is the tall aspect ratio, but realistically this is a downgrade compared to standard ratio for most people (trust me, I have Xperia 5.2 right now, I hate myself for picking this phone every time I type on this screen).

                                      • K
                                      • Kaka
                                      • R5h
                                      • 17 May 2024

                                      Kaka, 17 May 2024💆🤦... I'm really speechless No led No af u... moreAnd price between 500-700 usd

                                        • K
                                        • Kaka
                                        • R5h
                                        • 17 May 2024

                                        💆🤦...

                                        I'm really speechless

                                        No led
                                        No af ultrawide
                                        Usb 2.0? What happened to 3.0 on 10 iii?
                                        Should give the 120hz refresh rate alone with motion blur reduction
                                        Charging speed should better like 40 pd universal protocol.
                                        No ufs 3.0 or at least 3.1 ?
                                        Offer better variant with 12/256
                                        Aod
                                        Game mode

                                        Niche feature
                                        Reverse wireless and wired 10w
                                        20w wireless charging
                                        Ultrawide same sensor as main camera
                                        Selfie camera at least 12mp with af
                                        Hires wireless and wired
                                        Face unlock
                                        Dac support ( but this will disturbed sales of walkman).
                                        Dynamic vibration
                                        Trim bezel
                                        Snapdragon 7 gen 3 or dimensity 8300 (but knowing Sony and Qualcomm involved in stamina mode, I guessed Sony will lose that if use mediatek)