Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1 review: A new experience

23 December 2008
There’s a lot to fall for in Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1. Possibly the hottest looker of a PocketPC is also heavy on skill. Heavy enough to not just scratch out a living as a one-hit-wonder but aim for the WinMo top. The extra solid metal looks, gorgeous screen and the right pinch of novelty called XPERIA panels look to us as good enough reasons for the X1 to be hyped and romanticized...

Sort by:

  • Billy

my phone goes off when I open the flip what might be the cause of such an anomaly?


  • Anonymous

Does Whatsap work on this phone?

  • belle

I lost the 3dFISH PANEL and the rest. I want to install it again to my sony xperia 1. but my problem is I don't know how. pls help me...

  • littu

it vere good looking mene pcfor me

  • Anonymous

Hi.I really like this phone, but I don't know wheather to choose Nokia C6 or Xperi X1. If someone could help me please.
Thank You

  • Chassidy

plainman, 16 Jul 2009i am in the market for a phone. what are your honest opinions?One or two to rmeemebr, that is.

  • Butter_Fingers

Being a motorcycle rider, the phone has been with me for a couple of road accidents. Being in my jeans, the phone still function to let me call the tow truck to come pick me up. Even all my coins in my pocket had the queen's face scrapped off clean due to the tarmac. Durability hat's off with two thumbs up.

Friendliness with sync with other phones, computers amazing. with a 4gb microSD and a usb wire, i can transfer files, movies, music an where anytime. charge my mobile at any computer. i sometimes dont even have to go home, just borrow a usb wire from workmates external hard drive to charge my mobile. transfer of data via bluetooth to any other device, unlike the BB, iphone or some nokia's there is no issue. search, connect, send/receive. User friendly, easy and quick, dont bother thinking. the phone thinks for you.

Overall, my experience with it has been a rollercoaster. the buttons are jammed, the touch pad is too sensitive now, the sliders is loose, slow and jams once in a while.

Ultimately, the X1 is an amazing phone. you would love to hate it and hate to love it. that is what true relationships are made off. Not a one sided affair.

  • AK

I got the X1 in march 2009, and up until today I am still using the phone, and i have absolutely NO REGRETS with the phone. the build quality is superb, and despite me dropping the phone on just about any surface imaginable right from tarmac to gravel, the phone is still in one piece and hardly even scratched. the number of custom ROMs out there is also mind-boggling and im currently on WinMo 6.5 on a custom rom with HTC sense from a HTC HD and it performs brilliantly. truly this is one of the most capable phones of its time, and i surely do hope SE launch a comparable high quality replacement that runs on WinPhone 7.

  • eng.z_elnazer@yahoo.

how i can reseve masege in arabic

  • unni

i can add additional software in xperia x1 pls help

  • sloom-2@liev.com

patrick, 23 Mar 2009All you people don't no where you are talking about this is the... moresloom-2@liev.com

  • Anonymous

There seems to be a lot of problems about cracks on the X1 at particular places that are blamed on a design defect.

  • Me

adam skitt, 11 Jan 2009i had one got rid of it......its a poor persons iphonehow can that be when it's more expensive?

  • james

ok. here's the thing. the xperia x1 is pretty good. i did a lot of research and dig a lot of reviews before getting one for myself. tat was like almost a month ago. where is it now? i sold it off within 2 weeks! why? have u guys check the product's build quality?! if u have the black version, then u'll know wat i'm talking about. the paint peels off within a week! n i didn't even take it out from my house! despite my extra care and attention to keeping it safe and scratch free, the paint issue really annoyed me. if i paid so much for the phone, i expect the build quality to be top notch. i m now checking out the htc touch pro2. hopefully it's better than my xperia experience.

  • Mel

Mel, 23 Jul 2009I currently have (and am still using) the Nokia 5300, and I'm sh... moreI also forgot to mention: Quad-Band [GSM] is a COMPLETE, DEFINITE, AND UNQUESTIONABLE MUST!!

by the way, I'm going to be using the new cellphone (whichever I am recommended to get) on AT&T [in the States], "prepay" as opposed to "contract". And, I'm going to make sure that I buy the darn cellphone UNLOCKED (like maybe from Amazon.com or some other place where I can find the cellphone chosen, unlocked).

Good call-quality, good cellphone-reception, I can hear the person on the other line well, the person on the other line can hear ME well (and also, "loud and clear", obviously).


Another thing I noticed: Look at Episode 12 (ie. "Knight To King's Pawn") of the new "Knight Rider [2008]" tv-show. Sarah Graiman, in the beginning of the episode, when she hangs up on Michael Knight's phone-call, she's using an XPERIA!!! (this IS NOT affecting my decision to buy one though, by the way)

  • Mel

I currently have (and am still using) the Nokia 5300, and I'm shopping for a possible replacement. I'm currently looking at these 3: Nokia N97, Nokia 5800 Xpress-Music, and the Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1 (my first cellphone was a "Ericsson GA 628" (this one: http://www.gsmarena.com/ericsson_ga_628-105.php ), and I really have no problem going back to [Sony] Ericsson cellphones, if really it turns out that the best of the 3 I'm currently looking at, is the XPERIA X1.

Yes, I know, "there's a new model of XPERIA coming out", "the Nokia N97's got 32GB of memory", and "the Nokia 5800 Xpress-Music came out before the N97, so, supposedly -- at least in gsmarena.com -- SOME (not all) of the kinks of the Symbian OS for touch-screen cellphones, have been worked out".

But I'm really looking for a cellphone that's:

1. user-friendly,

2. easy-to-use,

3. has durable battery life (I'm not big on having Bluetooth on 24-7, or always browsing the Internet, or any of those battery-draining activities. I use them when I'm in the mood and/or "urgent need" to use them, but otherwise, I just leave them off. Period.),

4. you can easily organize and manage your contacts
(in the 2 Nokia cellphones I've had so far -- the 5300 Xpress-Music and the 'Nokia 8210', this one> http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_8210-19.php -- I've always liked how I can very easily organize multiple phone-numbers, e-mail addresses, website addresses, street addresses, birthdays, nicknames, etc etc, and other things, into one contact, and all that information would just appear under ONE name, instead of HAVING EACH-PIECE of contact information appear "SEPARATELY" and/or like a "separate contact", like my Motorola V220 did; it made the darn address-book be WAY MORE CLUTTERED, and i DESPISED that!!)

5. Bluetooth, integrated camera, 3G, not 'complicated' to learn (and/or "too hard a learning-curve, that makes the cellphone just not be worth the hassle of learning how to use it" -- yes, I always read the manual on my cellphone though, by the way)

6. The Bluetooth capabilities DEFINITELY DO need to have the ability to transfer files from cellphone to cellphone (not just sending files, but also RECEIVING files), including (but not limited to): MP3 files (for ringtones, listening to music, etc), photos, video-clips, etcetera, etcetera, etcetera. (Ahh, the magic of having Bluetooth on my Nokia 5300, especially when before that my cell-phone was the Motorola V220).

7. durable. "good quality" construction. "solid"-feeling. (i don't harass and/or "brutalize" my cellphone -- I do try to take good care of my things -- but I don't like for my cellphone to feel as if it was a 1-milimeter-thick piece of glass that could break at the slightest touch).


Any recommendations on which of these 3 cellphones to get? ie. Nokia 5800 Xpress-Music, Nokia N97, Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1?

(overall, in general, which is the best option??

and, then again: which is the best option, for ME???)

  • Anonymous

patrick, 23 Mar 2009All you people don't no where you are talking about this is the... more128mb of Graphics ram? thats ridiculous... almost unbeleiveable but the system does have 256mb of on board ram...

  • Anonymous

apt.pupil, 30 Apr 2009don't bother. touchflo3d replaces the today screen, and on my... moreyou can get an app called "second today" look it up, i seen a youtube vid that talked about it. so that solves that Touch flo problem :)

  • Anonymous

lewis, 28 May 2009i want 1 but does this phone have fast internet facebook, youtub... moreFor now WinMobile isnt the fastest Phone OS, try an Android phone or something, but right now it all really depends where your connection wifi? = fast, 3G is fast as well. it all depends where u are.

  • Anonymous

john ricky, 10 Jun 2009I got Sony Eercsson Xperia from united kingdown and it doesn't a... moreYou have to get the Phone unlocked.