Samsung I9100 Galaxy S II review: Brightest star

13 May 2011
It looks like the point where it all ends. A galaxy outgrowing its own limits. An explosion of energy and speed. An overdose of smartphone power. A phone that makes you love the smell of Android in the morning. The likes of Samsung I9100. Update: Samsung Dive overview added...

Sort by:

  • AnonD-7702

I'm tired of this iPhone copy thing everibody keeps talking about...Almoust all Android phone have a regular press Home key...where do you want them to put it...up, between the earpiece and the front facing camera?...

Just because there is a button down in the middle then everibody says it's an iPhone copy...A phone with just one button => Iphone copy...that's just stupid...That's looking for shitty excuses for not likeing this phone :)

A lot of products have similar shapes (similar, not identical) and they have that similar shape because it's proved itself the best design for it's functionality and what that product is supposed to do.

  • tungau

disadvantage of sgs2....ovi offline maps still the best

  • Smat

Anonymous, 15 May 2011Wow, how come GSMArena forgot to mention that microSD card is no... moreBecause that would be nit picking. For most people who have a large capacity micros sd they wouldn't be changing it every 5 minutes.

  • dharvu

AnonD-1082, 15 May 2011No worries fellow Nokia lovers... the upcoming MeeGo N9 will mak... moremate, i hoped same when maemo powered N900 came..and it doomed me..no apps..nosupport..ultimate crap..i agree N900 was good hardware,buts its like beauty without brains..it doesnt serve the purpose..hug sgs2..and its simple excellent

  • AnonD-291

abhi, 14 May 2011That's completely baseless and lame excuse dude...... Even if h... moreI think 'klear' is just trying to say that all standard screens including the (one in galaxy SII) have a refresh rate of 60fps. So even if the GPU outputs a higher resolution than that, there will be no practical advantage because the screen has 60fps cap. Moreover, that would also lead to wastage of battery life.

  • Anonymous

Wow, how come GSMArena forgot to mention that microSD card is not hot-swappable in the main disadvantages......?????

  • AnonD-1082

AnonD-1082, 15 May 2011I am not delusional! Nokia hyped MeeGo as the Android killer and... moreWhere's the edit button? I just noticed the date on that article. It's been almost a year and there's still no MeeGo device. Oh, well... I guess Nokia had a failure to launch problem.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-5789, 15 May 2011im from the phil..i have an unlimited internet data plan, now i ... moreur network provider doesn't know how you are using your data (except by identifying that your device is correlated with two IP numbers, meaning 2 devices are using the same connection)... whether you tether or not... just dont exceed the limits waaaaaaaay tooo much and i guess it wont raise questions...
anyway, even if u use the wifi hotspot for devices of ur own (ipod, laptop, tablet) and not for commercial purposes, no one has any right to question you

  • AnonD-1082

anti-anonymous, 15 May 2011Stop being delusional. Damn!I am not delusional! Nokia hyped MeeGo as the Android killer and there's a good reason why. MeeGo is the operating system of choice for BMW, GM, Hyundai and many others. It will be everywhere so Android better watch out! The Next BIG thing is almost upon us and everyone is waiting for the MeeGo N9.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/07/26/meego-becomes­-infotainment-operating-system-of-choice-for-bmw­-g/

  • AnonD-5789

im from the phil..i have an unlimited internet data plan, now i have use the android hotspot wifi..is these included in my unlimited data/ ? or will i incur additional fees for these usage? how bout tethering.. im using globe telecom net service.. anyone hav ideas..

  • AnonD-3713

Anonymous, 15 May 2011To me, on the side is better, i use my ipod for music and the on... moreHow can a 3.5mm jack on the side be better? You are a SE fanboy aren't you?

  • athlonia

Kam , 14 May 2011Firstly, I am no fanboy but review after review seem to be heapi... morethank you for your honest comment.

  • AnonD-2010

Wen will it be coming 2 India?

  • hoodlum

I just learned how to root my samsung galaxy i9000 and now I am on a custom Darky's ROM and I love it! With lagfix and all that, benchmark doubled.

Now comes sgs II - holy cow, I'd love to have this but when?! Kinda expensive to change high end phones every few months... But hey, I'm getting this sh!t!

  • anti-anonymous

AnonD-1082, 15 May 2011No worries fellow Nokia lovers... the upcoming MeeGo N9 will mak... moreStop being delusional. Damn!

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 14 May 2011Finally someone that say the real things. Samsung was bad wit... morethis might surprise u. i type from the sgs2. it has no lag. it is the fastest smartphone i have evr ever seen. thats why the reviews are so good. its speed will blow ur mind. and no im not kidding

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 15 May 2011To me, on the side is better, i use my ipod for music and the on... morevideo is mhl only. no analog jack for tvout anymore

  • AnonD-1082

No worries fellow Nokia lovers... the upcoming MeeGo N9 will make the SGS 2 the second best phone in the market.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-3713, 15 May 2011The Xperia Arc design is really amazing, but 3.5mm jack on the p... moreTo me, on the side is better, i use my ipod for music and the only time i will need to plug in my 3.5 is watching video which will be better on the side.

Anyone know anything about screen burn-ins? This is the thing that will worry me when i buy this.

  • Anonymous

KPS, 14 May 2011Plus To Main disadv.: -screen is bad on the day light and colou... moreWhat are you on?. have you actually used the phone?. your comments are misleading nonsense. every tech site known to man has given this phone top marks