HTC Titan review: Huge is the new big

14 November 2011
One big scary smartphone, the HTC Titan. Visible from space. Oh well, a little exaggeration won't hurt. But as far as we can tell, they certainly wanted it big enough to see from Finland. Microsoft have a thing going on up north that they want to explore. But old-time partners HTC...

Sort by:

  • AdamBoy64

I appreciate being able to go back and read these reviews. How much has changed in 6 years..

It is a shame Windows Phone ended the way it did.

  • che

I don't know how to transfer files using HTC titan Bluetooth.

  • che

I don't know how to use its Bluetooth since I can't transfer music from other phone going to HTC titan.

  • Ietege

Anonymous, 16 Dec 2011excellent audio output, better and louder than iphone 4, but sti... moreit is due to LCD problem. Since i have the watrrnay period i consulted HTC AUTHORISED SERVICE CENTRE - CELL INFOTECH, Egmore, Chennai and HTC SERVICE CENTRE - Basvangudi Branch, Banglore, but i got ill responses. MR Uday Kumar, 9884090092, Cell InfoTek Chennai, ill-treated us,i came all the way from banglore to chennai to get it serviced but there is no proper response and especially the guy guided us badly.My whole 26,000 rs is wasted now. Whos gonna answer this. This is the way you treat your customers.I have no complains over the phone, it is the smartest phone ever but service centres are too bad, please educate those service providers to behave properly with the customers.Please take necessary steps to bring back my phone and take immediate actions on those service centres.

  • Youssef

asd, 15 Dec 2011if it is 4.0inch screen size, i will buy itgoal was probably to crmoape web browsing experience at their best. The thing is, with a WP, you have only IE9 and with an androphone you have the choice between different web browser. Oh, and i have a galaxy s II and i'm using the stock web browser (cause of full flash plug in performance). Trust me, it's really fast. No flash on WP device, so you're stuck to HTML5 video web site. This is a big deal if you like watching TV shows and anime.

  • Amna

Anonymous, 15 Nov 2011plastic is better at absorbing shocks, and also is better to hol... morethat camera delay dsonet happen on my titan, perhaps its because you had lots of applications open in the backround or that the button on yours is faulty. im enjoying the device so much right now, the one thing i love about it is that you can quickly unlock it, find what you want and then put it back in your pocket. on my old htc android phone it would takes ages to do things and nything i wanted to find out would be buried within menus or would need to be slowly refreshed

  • Abadi

Abadi, 28 Mar 2012Just like u said not everyone like big screen also means not eve... moreCorrection: Lumia 800 has Amoled screen but i was surprise when i saw comment concerning the screen as disadvantge

  • Abadi

AnonD-3485, 15 Nov 2011The only advantage there is the front facing camera. This huge s... moreJust like u said not everyone like big screen also means not everyone hate big screen so its not official disadvantage feature... as per the review made by GSMarena on NOKIA Lumia the audio the result was "mixed bag" so Lumia is not the best out there... S-LCD screen is very good but not as good as the Amoled screen and Lumia doesnít has Amoled screen and the positive side for Lumia screen is "Scratch resistant Gorilla glass" and in GSMarena review they mention in the Disadvantage concerning the screen of Lumia "Display is much dimmer than the N9's display" also donít forgot "microSIM card slot"

  • Anonymous

excellent audio output, better and louder than iphone 4, but still not challanging old nokia n91. anyway the best mp3 player on a smartphone combined with superb huge display. personally i do not like windows limitations, but the sound deserve to sacrifice

  • asd

if it is 4.0inch screen size, i will buy it

  • AnonD-30483

Mugen Power released a 1950mAh OEM sized extended battery for HTC Titan.
http://www.mugen-power-batteries.com/mugen-power­-1950mah-extended-battery-for-htc-titan.html

  • AnonD-30757

Great review. One of the first honest ones I've read that deals with Wp7. I've had mine since the original launch and have loved it since. I don't understand the big push for dual and quad core type windows phones though. The only benefit that I hear you get from it is 1080 video recording. This is not a feature that I think people use that frequently. Maybe some video games would look and perform better on performs dual core system. If so, that's a legitimate reason but still not a show stopped as a phone is more geared towards casual gaming when you have downtime.
I'd love to heat why this is a big deal. Its needed on the android platform because the thing is slow. We don't have that problem.

  • AdamBoy64

volodymyrqa, 17 Nov 2011I am not buying Titan for one main reason: - in a such a big sc... moreYou still need to zoom in to see text??
What font size do you have your phone set to?

  • volodymyrqa

I am not buying Titan for one main reason:
- in a such a big screen you still need to zoom-in to read text.

This look really silly....

Lumia 800 - 900 here i come...

  • haxxy

Huge and.. very dissapointing.

  • merivengan

placed my order for this phone waiting patiently for it to arrive . 4.7 inch mini tablet bring it on !!

  • AnonD-1420

Quad-core processing = quad-core power usage, for negligible performance gain. I'm all for powerful mobile computing, but such power is better in a slate than in a phone. IMHO phones should last for days without charging - this just isn't a priority for modern handsets and that's a bit of a shame.

  • Anonymous

Cyd07, 14 Nov 2011"The Titan certainly keeps the Nokia Lumia 800 at a safe di... moreGet real, Amoled and (S)LCD are both manufactured by Samsung(&Sony).
Samsung is currently using Amoled instead of (S)LCD. Guess why they are doing that.

Yeah, because Amoled is superior than LCD.

  • kevm14

Test

  • AdamBoy64

I don't particularly understand all the hate for a larger size screen.

I find a 7" tablet fits into the pocket fine. Something like this is a breeze.
Maybe just folks down my way are taller or something?

A bit disappointed by the res though. I'm guessing WP7 doesn't support or cater for High (or HD resolutions) just yet? Is that in a coming update?