GSMArena feature labs: The tests

26 April 2012
The GSMArena Labs are tests designed to give an objective account of how a device performs in real-world scenarios. In short, it's about what you can expect from a gadget you're planning to buy. Our tests are constantly being developed...

Sort by:

please test the sound recording quality of the microphones

    • J
    • Joe
    • fIS
    • 22 Dec 2020

    Anonymous, 26 Sep 2020I regret, that sunlit contrast ratio is no longer tested. I... moreThe sound for earphones is too soft !!
    Terrible and really disappointed..

      • S
      • Swaroop
      • XTG
      • 16 Nov 2020

      I have read your review on Realme 7 Pro. Coming to Speakers quality it was not good and mobile was VIBRATING at back panel. Have you observed this from your end while reviewing the product. Thanks...

        • K
        • Kimonda
        • rra
        • 31 Oct 2020

        My google pixel has no sound

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • 3vD
          • 26 Sep 2020

          I regret, that sunlit contrast ratio is no longer tested. It was a major reason for me to select my last phone. Yes, screen glare is quite important and can offset high nits easily, and there are relevant differences. One of the last tests revealed the top performer at 5.98 when the second was at 5.17 which is a notable difference.
          Btw, there are well existing standards (even regulations) for lighting conditions in professional environments (at least in Germany), which demand between 500 lx (normal office work) and 1500 lx (e.g. watch makers) on the desk and at least 300 lx in those environments.

            • H
            • Howtomeasure
            • 0I@
            • 16 Sep 2020

            Samsung Galaxy S7 14:50h video playback is impossible!

              • J
              • JOSEPHINE
              • Nue
              • 15 Aug 2020

              my sony xperia is not working

                What made them different from other smartphone sites was precisely the audio tests with headphones. Now they are one more, camera tests can be found in many places. Audio testing was what made them different.

                  • M
                  • Max
                  • gIN
                  • 17 May 2020

                  Please add
                  1) "Very Low Ligth" scene
                  2) "Very high-contrast" scene for Dynamic Range evaluation

                    • a
                    • ali
                    • 84E
                    • 10 Apr 2020

                    please describe how you score smartphones and quantify them as 4.7 or etc ... ?

                      • s
                      • stan
                      • sSK
                      • 03 Apr 2020

                      appreciate the new loudspeaker test reasoning but would really welcome comments on the in call quality and loudness of the earpiece because other than multimedia, calls are the primary use of a phone

                        • A
                        • Aresias
                        • nJG
                        • 01 Apr 2020

                        Do you do endurance tests with several loops on the Benchmarks to see if the phone has throttling?
                        How are your benchmark scores calculated? Is it an average of several loops? if so how many?

                        Thanks

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • 7ki
                          • 04 Mar 2020

                          Please add 4G Talktime To the table and Some New Phones in the Table Like Realme 5i, Samsung Galaxy M31, Realme X50 pro, IQOO 3, Poco X2, Redmi K30 and Redmi K30 Pro

                            • t
                            • tellucas
                            • E4@
                            • 03 Mar 2020

                            Haziri, 17 Dec 2019Please I'm not so good with audio and stuffs, but I have a ... more250 ohms is probably too high impedance for a typical cellphone audio amp to drive with decent volume best to stay around or below the 50ohm range,

                              Thanks to GSM ARENA for providing this explanatory information and their specific handset stats.

                                • H
                                • Haziri
                                • Nu6
                                • 17 Dec 2019

                                Please I'm not so good with audio and stuffs, but I have a question. Using the OnePlus 3.5mm adapter can you game well using the bayerdynamic dt 990 pro which has 250 ohms (impedance) without an amplifier?

                                  • D
                                  • AnonD-492870
                                  • Emn
                                  • 06 Dec 2019

                                  Gazza, 20 Nov 2019Output POWER is measured and ststed in Watts, or for reprod... moreWhat exactly are you thinking? The headphone jack sends a low voltage signal as a source to be amplified it itself is not an amplifier to add gain to the signal or overall volume. Now if the signal is clean, low noise, etc then that is more of what can drive an amplifier to allow solid volume. But maybe we are just misunderstanding each other....and actually I may need to dig into technical details on how a powered signal jack signal operates when attached to a passive transducer...I think I kinda know what you are saying now.

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • qGA
                                    • 04 Dec 2019

                                    AnonD-170990, 24 Aug 2013I'm a little disappointed with the battery life test, as wi... moreWhile I agree that having airplane mode on while watching videos isn't totally accurate or reflective of the avg person's use, I'd say it is accurate & actually necessary in terms of this test. In fact, I'd say this is the only "true" way of testing for this metric, i.e. video playback & ONLY video playback. If airplane mode is off you're introducing the possibility of more variables skewing the results. With it off, you'll start getting calls, texts, messages, notifications, updates, etc, which not only differ from person to person, but also from time to time, e.g. time of day, date, weekday/end, yesterday/today. Now you're no longer testing purely video playback time. On top of that none of the results can be directly comparable (one of the main purposes of this test to begin w/), making them just as meaningless as the (pre-2016) 50% brightness test. In a scientific test, in order to get the most accurate measurement of the one thing you're testing for, you must eliminate all other variables, or as much as possible. If not, you're no longer testing for that one thing, but something that's completely up in the air.

                                      • G
                                      • Gazza
                                      • uF0
                                      • 20 Nov 2019

                                      AnonD-492870, 20 Apr 2019Output signal from that port is AC voltage. Why you would w... moreOutput POWER is measured and ststed in Watts, or for reproduction in headphones, Milliwatts. This enables easy comparison of the products effective volume capability as W is the standard method actoss the board. There is no point in knowing the voltage output when the load impedance is going to vary.

                                        • K
                                        • KAKA
                                        • NYp
                                        • 11 Oct 2019

                                        Anonymus, 09 Aug 2019Your audio measurement equipment is seriously outdated and ... moreTo improve same applications are autdated?