Nokia Lumia 1020 preview: Take two

12 July 2013
Their Windows Phone endeavors may have not been all smooth sailing for Nokia, but the Finnish company finally came up with the smartphone to beat – the Lumia 1020. Combining the best of both worlds - solid smartphone experience and...

Sort by:

  • Human

AnonD-58102, 13 Jul 2013Yes, but why would I buy this phone when I know there is 808 wit... moreIts camera is better than 808 pureview

  • AnonD-112424

Its not easy going everywhere with a camera these days, but you sure will never miss that moment with a Lumia 1020, cause you'll definitely almost always be with your phone.
So camera+phone=Lumia 1020 better.

  • AnonD-109315

"What might turn out to be a bigger problem however is the high asking price of the Lumia 1020. same price as a 32GB Apple iPhone 5. If that kind of pricing carries over when the smartphone hits Europe, it means that you'll have to pay about €700/£600 for it and that is really way more than Nokia can afford to charge for its flagship at the moment."

If yo buy a Lumia 1020 for 700€ you get 41Mpix, OIS, Supersensitive touch, Stereo HAAC rich recording, NFC, better and bigger screen, free lifetime voice-guided navigation that needs no data connection.

Apples advantage is? Lighter and smaller bigger app store ?

I go for the Lumia 1020!!

  • AnonD-109315

AnonD-8103, 13 Jul 2013what's the overall thickness... I'm trying to get this informati... moreThe camera bulg is 10.4mm
http://www.nokia.com/global/products/phone/lumia­1020/specifications/

  • AnonD-109315

Niche, 13 Jul 2013Wake up, everybody. Real Photography cameras don't wait for a mo... moreWake up! Why buy a phone AND a camera when you can get all in one ?! (lumia 1020)

  • AnonD-58102

Yes, but why would I buy this phone when I know there is 808 with a better camera.

If they're charging so much then they should deliver the best, not second best.

  • AnonD-44155

I'm not going to change my old 808PV to 1020. The camera quality is the same or even worse, and Symbian OS satisfies my needs completely. But if I had to pick a new cameraphone now, I certainly would have chosen Lumia.

  • AnonD-156746

Niche, 13 Jul 2013Wake up, everybody. Real Photography cameras don't wait for a mo... moreit will be available for 300$ please dont misguide people..and can you make a call and do other smartphone stuff on those better cameras?

  • Kusnadi

Nice phone but there's no memory card slot so i will not plan to buy it except Nokia makes the same with memory card slot

  • AnonD-156746

AnonD-58102, 13 Jul 2013So far all the camera samples from this phone look terrible. ... morestill much better than the competition..

  • Niche

Wake up, everybody. Real Photography cameras don't wait for a mobile revolution.

In fact, there are many options available to buy. Not for 700$. You can buy real professional mirrorless compact camera for less than 300$ these days.

So, nokia again hits with a niche product for people who just don't know there is a better choice.

  • AnonD-58102

So far all the camera samples from this phone look terrible.

Photos have so much grain, noise, JPEG over processing artifacts, oversaturated and unnatural colours. 808 takes much better, smoother pictures, with more detail.

Damian Dinning was the mastermind behind Nokia's cameras, when he left Nokia their cameras got much worse.

  • PRINCE

Finally my dream came true ...

Carol, 13 Jul 2013No? How about Nokia quality? Nokia reliability? Design, process ... moreTake it easy! I'm just telling Nokia to do better.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-8103, 13 Jul 2013what's the overall thickness... I'm trying to get this informati... moreIts 10.4mm thick....

  • Anonymous

Windows phone ruining this phone, too bad it would have been great with android.
808 takes way better pictures

  • AnonD-8103

what's the overall thickness... I'm trying to get this information but it's nowhere to be found... what's the thickness at the normal body and what's the thickness at the camera bulge???...

  • Carol

TheNeighbor, 13 Jul 2013Ahem. Apart from the high-end resolution and Nokia Maps, Nokia L... moreNo? How about Nokia quality? Nokia reliability? Design, process power, speed, no lag (imposible to do that) and especially: no ”my phone get's hot” future that all androids with allot of useless raw power (or not) and highly dumb OS. Now, tell us what s4 has against lumia, even against 808 besides raw unused bottleneck'ed hardware? QUITE NOTHING!

  • Gadgety

"However, we still feel that the Lumia 1020 is in a better position to attract customers than its predecessor was 8 months ago."

Totally. When the 920 was introduced last fall I made a comment about the 920 called a Pureview was devaluing the brand. I also referred to te 41mp with lossless zoom as the TRUE Pureview, which seemed to gather some references on various sites. So now it's here.

"Windows Phone has significantly matured in that period and now has very little gaps in the apps department."

Unfortunately, for me, there are crucial apps that I need that are not available for the WP platform. There aren't even clones or similar apps. In addition no VPN access over the phone, and other things that are required in a corporate setting is not available on WP, even though it's there for the competition, and for Windows RT.

  • Gadgety

"Perhaps adding the PureView moniker to the Lumia 920 in an attempt to capitalize on the brand was a mistake by Nokia"

I said as much immediately last year when their "Pureview" Lumia line phones came out and didn't have the 41mp sensor or lossless zoom. They had established the Pureview as a brand with a bang, and then immediately started confusing what it stood for. Big mistake. Elop of course started to say that Pureview meant advanced photo tech on a phone and bla bla bla. OK, so that was his reasoning, and the Pureview brand was devalued.