Samsung Galaxy A50
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy A50

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • TJM

Received an update today. It doesn't specifically mention a fix for the fingerprint scanner though.

avr, 01 Dec 2019check ur eyes before expecting something from a smartphone :)

  • avr

festo, 29 Nov 2019where is the gallery for this fone i may not know how to use fon... morecheck ur eyes before expecting something from a smartphone

Its a good set at Rs 12k in India

  • Schroger

Wireless charging??

trajcevasilev94, 30 Nov 2019Can you link me the video? https://youtu.be/BbQ7s0Cs9EQ You can give a try this trick....

  • Neon

Fingerprint unlock is not working.

  • BingO

MNS1257 , 30 Nov 2019Samsung Galaxy a50 user don't worry about Fingerprint issue, bcz... moreStop dreaming. No software update will fix the bad fingerprint identification. It is a hardware problem of the early generation of that kind of device, like the first folding screen or under display camera...
You have to buy a newer phone, accept it or don't use it.

  • MNS1257

Samsung Galaxy a50 user don't worry about Fingerprint issue, bcz a50 will receive December Security update in 1st week of December with resolved issue. According to rumours and rolling done also.
Its historical update, bcz Samsung did not launch any update before start Month.

Loving these Samsung plastic backs. Device durability increases by 95%. My Galaxy Note 4 is witness.

imranbani, 25 Nov 2019Thx bro I set it I had to remove screen paper to do it. I saw vi... moreCan you link me the video?

  • Hamatto

MickinetSystems, 28 Nov 2019This is my personal opinion based on my three day usage of the A... moreA50 Super Amoled display uses more battery power than y9, try using Dark Mode, and use Medium power saver in A50 to reduce CPU by 70%, this will be a perfect solution.

festo, 29 Nov 2019where is the gallery for this fone i may not know how to use fon... moreWell I guess thats why your expectations were not met you are using the phone worse than a 80 year old

  • festo

where is the gallery for this fone i may not know how to use fones but i am tired of looking for gallery store in this fone. my experience is way below what i expected.

This is my personal opinion based on my three day usage of the A50. In general, A50 is a very great phone all round. Great display, amazing performance, camera is fairly good for its price but the battery doesn't feel like 4000mah bcos it struggles to last a full day with fair usage. I always need to recharge by 4pm. I have a 6 month old huawei y9 2019 which is also 4000mah but battery is about 2 times better. So in my case, the battery is the only thing in my way. Note that I use all the advanced features like AOD

  • Yuwa

They talk big about camera , but its average, it got 3 cameras cant even zoom a product in 5 feet range, and the main camera good for nothing,
Lack of performance.,.I have used many mid range phones in same but this not worth the money ., sorry to say that a50 is disappointing,

.

Manish, 27 Nov 2019samsung a50 after October patch update heating problem very hi a... moreYes, mine had issue on fingerprint detection

  • Manish

samsung a50 after October patch update heating problem very hi and fingerprint notwork properly

  • Schmeichel

TJM, 27 Nov 2019I have used a Xiaomi phone in the past. It was a Redmi Note 4 an... moreThank you for your reply. It looks as A50 battery is fantastic, I'm not a gamer but I surf, write and watch videos a lot. I'm not sure if YouTube as draining as gaming? It shouldn't be.

So far I haven't been using fingerprint scanner at all, so I kinda ignored those issues when evaluating both A50 and Mi 9 Lite. I've heard complaints for both, and even more for A50. I am sure it improves user experience if implemented properely, but I'm used to double taping as well. So fingerprint scanner won't be a deal breaker for me. I just won't use it.

Battery is one of the most important factors, so if battery is the same, it goes like this.

A50 positives: plastic and not glass, One UI, less SAR.
Mi 9 positives: IR and better positioned audio jack.

  • TJM

Schmeichel, 27 Nov 2019Hello mobile fans. If anyone has used both phones: Samsung A... moreI have used a Xiaomi phone in the past. It was a Redmi Note 4 and it had the same battery capacity as the Galaxy A50.

The A50 has good battery life. I get around 2-3 days with gps navigation for around 30mins to 1h a day. I also don't play games. From my experience chinese phones have better battery life because they disable push-services from various apps. I often didn't receive messages and e-mails because of that and I still read that this is happening with Xiaomi, Oppo, Huawei etc.

The A50 definitely has the better UI. You get darkmode for example and that would be reason enough for me. I generally dislike MIUI.

Camera is crap. My Galaxy S8 still shoots better photos and videos. The A50 can only record in 1080p 30fps. The Speaker is also pretty bad.

And lastly the worst part about this phone is the unusable, broken and gimmicky fingerprint scanner. It was working better in October but not that well. I personally was close to smashing my phone in half because of this quite alot.