Samsung Galaxy J7 (2016)
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy J7 (2016)

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

otnaaa2, 09 Nov 2019Yes, Original android exists on Google phones (Pixel and some Ne... moreYou can find this "original android", that exists on Google phones, at AOSP an all vendors take this code from AOSP and put it on their phones, some with more and some with less modifications, like One UI. The Lineage team takes the code from AOSP and creates Lineage OS, but with no modification except adaption for the phone.

So there is no better android, it is just android from the AOSP, either compiled by the google team or by the samsung team or by the Lineage team.

As of 2020, our J7-2016 will not get any security-patches, so it is better to risk a new operating system instead of risking that the phone becomes unsafe.

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2019You cannot get "original android" because it does not exist. All... moreYes, Original android exists on Google phones (Pixel and some Nexus models). Samsung use android and change UI and add some of their apps and Galaxy store. Android is OS , AOSP is code which android works and OS based on android. Well that phone is old almost 4 years so it is pretty good that we had at least security updates for that time. Samsung will give us support until our warrancy is not expired(hardware) but it will help you with some software problems. Updates will not come in the future because of new models and new softwares.

  • Anonymous

otnaaa2, 09 Nov 2019Lineage OS is not original android, it is just based on android.... moreYou cannot get "original android" because it does not exist. All OEMs take this AOSP code an modify it for their needs.

As our Android 8.1.0 is getting older and older, as there are no security updates for our phones in 2020, we will soon be able to install Lineage OS 17 to fix all this. We will get LineageOS, but not from XDA, we will get it directly from lineageos.org!

So everybody can choose: Stay with Android 8.1.0 or install Android 10. And this is no question of support: Samsung won't give us support because this phone expires in 2020. Therefore we will get support from the LineageOS community ...

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2019"The AOSP code can be found without modification on select devic... moreLineage OS is not original android, it is just based on android. It doesn't have to be safe , you have to root your phone and do every step correctly. After that there is chance that something won't work. On XDA it is always mentioned what might not work. Our phone is getting older, in hardware we can't do anything but in software we can install 3rd side OS which may work partly good. In this time , every day we can find new phones with lot of specifications, maybe it is time to buy a new phone or use the old till we can. For example S5 is using Marshmallow as a stock rom, it is really old but almost everything what we need is compatible(Instagram, snapchat, whatsapp, facebook etc...). The original os that came on the phone (in this case J7 2016) is Oreo( when you update) and for me it works great. I really want to have PIE OR Android 10 on phone and i can find Lineage OS and risk because it is not so easy to install and even with old OS(Oreo is not that old, still functioning very great) my phone works great like the first day. Why would i risk something and screw up and people in Samsung won't give me support because it is not their OS. I believe that Samsung create most stable OS for their phones , and some other people who built Lineage platform could create a pretty good OS with some new features but they mention that something might not work. We can't use this device forever but everyone should do all process with phones on their own.

  • Anonymous

"The AOSP code can be found without modification on select devices, mainly the Nexus and Pixel series of devices. The source code is, in turn, customized and adapted by original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) to run on their hardware." - says Wikipedia!

So AOSP is 100% Android and there is no other Android! While OEMs customize the AOSP code for their needs, Lineage OS remains at 100%. Having Lineage OS installed, you can choose which "bloatware" you want to install next, facebook app, whatsapp etc or you can stay free of all that stuff.

Tho only difference is: Android for Nexus was compiled by the Nexus team and Lineage OS was compiled by the Lineage OS team. What is the difference, when your compile a source code two times? There is no difference.

Remember, that we will not get any security updates in 2020, so our phone well become unsafe. The only option to get a modern and secure system after 2020 is to self-install a new system and Lineage OS is one.

Anonymous, 07 Nov 2019LineageOS is 100% Android, because it is derived from the "Andro... moreYes, it is android but not official google android with samsung elements. One thing that samsung keeps me to be their user is what their UI. Regular UI is boring. My point is that LINEAGE OS is good to have new version of android when your android is old but it is unsafe and you have to root your phone to install that and there is a chance of bricking phone. That OS could have lot of bugs in android but official one is more safenand tested but can happen to.

  • Anonymous

otnaaa2, 07 Nov 2019Yes, it is true. But Lineage OS is not official android and can ... moreLineageOS is 100% Android, because it is derived from the "Android Open Source Project", also called "AOSP" and this is the source code from Android. But LineageOS is pure Android, so it comes without all that Samsung stuff and Microsoft stuff like UI or Word, Excel ...

And there are no updates and patches, because there will be a next version of LineageOS as LineageOS 17 ( ~ Android 10) will be out in a few weeks or months.

Anonymous, 06 Nov 2019There was LineageOS 16 (Android 9 Pie) as an unofficial update w... moreYes, it is true. But Lineage OS is not official android and can have lot of bugs to phone or some function problems but it is not always case. They are published on XDA but I prefer official. I am not sure about lineage updates but i don't see that safe

  • Anonymous

otnaaa2, 05 Nov 2019Yes but there will no be official update of Pie. You can find so... moreThere was LineageOS 16 (Android 9 Pie) as an unofficial update while we got Android 8 Oreo for this phone. But now, our Android 8 get older and older, there are no updates and security suffers.

I think, LineageOS 17 (Android 10) will be released as an official version of LineageOS für this phone.

  • mn

DATE :06/11/2019
just now i got a security patch level: 1october 2019
size 284.81MB

  • mn

otnaaa2, 20 Sep 2019Maybe you have some other variant but J7 2016 generally doesn't ... moremy mobile also supporting screen mirroring

Anonymous, 04 Nov 2019Will there be Android 10 for this phone? No? Yes: Some sources s... moreYes but there will no be official update of Pie. You can find some unofficial PIE OS for J7 2016 but it is not official and can have lot of bugs.

  • Anonymous

Will there be Android 10 for this phone? No? Yes: Some sources say that there will be Lineage OS available! Lineage OS is a free version of Android and Lineage OS 17 is similar to Android 10.

  • Anonymous

Go to settings > apps > Google play services > storage > manage storage > CLEAR ALL DATA, restart phone and you are done everything will be normal as before, I was so frustrated of this problem a few days ago, even bought a new battery but nothing changed, called customer support and they asked me to reset my device would solve the problem but I didn't reset my device got lots of important data all I did was reset Google play services app storage everything is fine now even tested the old battery and it is working fine, just wasted my money by buying the new battery

  • Indian

Sulu, 26 Sep 2019I have Samsung J7 (2016) Mobile with 16 GB Internal storage, It ... moreLook like u got Fake copy of Galaxy J7

Sulu, 26 Sep 2019I have Samsung J7 (2016) Mobile with 16 GB Internal storage, It ... moreWell, I believe there is some software error which cannot correctly read memory status. You should go to the store and see if there is way to reload the OS or find some other errors.

  • Sulu

I have Samsung J7 (2016) Mobile with 16 GB Internal storage, It always showing 'Not enough storage space'. I checked phone memory and its showing 15.8 GB used.
I calculated size of all Applications and other files getting 5 GB only. What should I do to get my remaining phone memory.

Samsung user , 20 Sep 2019Me using Google home app from playstore for screen mirroring in ... moreMaybe you have some other variant but J7 2016 generally doesn't support screen mirroring.

  • Samsung user

hendraxl, 10 May 2019i think the hardware of j7 2016 doesn't support screenmirroring,... moreMe using Google home app from playstore for screen mirroring in J7 2016.

This phone is not bad tbh. It can be used to play low graphic game.Recommended for social media and such as work.the camera i can say not bad la.its good when you hold in your hand.The only problem of this phone is the storage.For real tho, i loved this phone and i regretted change to samsung a7 2018.