Samsung Galaxy Note8
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy Note8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Superman

It is still the best phone in my book. Got myself s20 fe and i would say it'a not gonna hold a candle to note 8.

I am very reluctant to upgrade to a newer phone. This Note8 has it all, so many features, while the Note 20 and also the upcoming Note 22 or S 22 Ultra will lack features like a 3,5mm jack, heart rate sensor, iris scanner, LED notification light, and so on. But I have to upgrade sooner or later, it's 4 years old and still working like a new one but the battery is not 100% anymore after 4 years of use and I am not planning to change the battery.

  • pipeace

I purchased this phone in August 2018. It's been a great phone, only complaint is I wish it was a little smaller. In April of this year, I decided to upgrade to Note 20 Ultra 5G. I had it a couple of days and was not that impressed, especially with how much it cost. I returned the phone and reactivated my Note 8. Then in early September my battery started to die. So I decided to replace the battery. I even did it myself. I have a local wholesale mobile phone supplier in my area, so I decided to do it myself. It was a little tricky, but with the right tools and YouTube videos, it's doable. Since I replaced the battery the phone is working better than ever. Plan on keeping it awhile. It also made me look at my charging habits. Learned I was overcharging my phone battery, plus changed a lot of settings on my phone to make it more battery saving. For phone parts I would check out www.fixez.com, and for help with battery settings check out How to improve your phone's battery life at businessnewsdaily.com

Anonymous, 03 Oct 2021I am using my Note 8 for about 4 years now. The only proble... moreThe replacement cost of the battery is steep, around $230 from Batteries+ in the U.S.
And I would not recommend attempting to do it yourself without some serious experience and proper tools.
The device is no longer set for updates, will never officially have Android 10 <
The battery is 3300mAh with a ton of neat little hardware, security features, and specialized proprietary software, and bloatware of course, running constantly, so yes it will die quickly, especially if you enable Full GNSS constellation tracking in Developer Options, as it removes the duty cycle of the GPS and similar hardwares.

The predecessor Samsung Galaxy 7 , if you recall, was revised and recalled after one of the units batteries, which was faulty, essentially exploded on someone , while in a plane.

Li-Ion batteries are no joke when they get damaged or over-temp, to prevent headsplosions and planes landing everywhere, they reduced the physical size and in turn the storage capacity of the batteries, which also provided for better thermal management of the cells.

I have seen viable options on Ebay and Amazon, USB-C Power Banks , some even as high as 6,500 mAh that double as phone cases (the case/bank also has a USB-C port to allow for OTG and the like). They all seem to cost approx. $30-65 USD

Personally I would go for that option , and may eventually.

I still use this phone for over 4 years. And it still has the most features a Note ever had.

  • Masood

Anonymous, 03 Oct 2021I am using my Note 8 for about 4 years now. The only proble... moreSir u should buy note 9..why note..bcz u will never gonna like the display of a52s..after using note 8

Anonymous, 01 Oct 2021I have heard it, and it is not suitable for curve screen, i... moreI got a tempered glass for my Note 8 from a store that instals the glass to perfection cause if you try doing it yourself you can make a mess of it.

  • Waxasky

Note 8 and LG v40 which one should I go for?

  • Anonymous

I am using my Note 8 for about 4 years now. The only problem I have is the battery that drains too fast when i turn on navigation (from 40 45 percent to zero in less than 20 minutes). I couldn't find new battery on the market. So I'm planning on buying A52s. Do you suggest trying to find a new battery online or just buy A52s?
Downgrading from flagship to midrange is really painful but insane inflation is not my fault :((

  • Anonymous

Sammy, 28 Sep 2021There's a thing called "TEMPERED GLASS SCREEN PRO... moreI have heard it, and it is not suitable for curve screen, i read the review and they said the similar thing: the glue layer only on the side not on the center, maybe the failure rate to install at exact place will increase due to not flat glass if the glue layer cover the entire tempered glass, and because the glue layer only on the side, on the center will leave the air gap, messing the touchscreen, that’s why tpu protector is more popular, even only protect from scratch, at least not mess with the touch screen

Don’t forget, about UV Glue? Also mess with the liquid glue, over glue can be mess to the entire glass while least glue also make air gap

  • Sammy

TheInfernoYap, 26 Sep 2021AGAIN AFTER AN ACCIDENTAL DROP FEW MONTHS AGO SHATTERED NEW... moreThere's a thing called "TEMPERED GLASS SCREEN PROTECTOR" in case you haven't heard.

TheInfernoYap, 26 Sep 2021AGAIN AFTER AN ACCIDENTAL DROP FEW MONTHS AGO SHATTERED NEW... moreInterestingly, your talking rubbish.. lot of manufactures have flat screen and not just APPLE. You can always choose others (from Android).. You seem to be a typical APPLE fan boy crying in wrong forum .. !!!

AGAIN AFTER AN ACCIDENTAL DROP FEW MONTHS AGO SHATTERED NEWLY REPLACED NOTE 8 SCREEN, another just so happens at the curved edge. I cba why Samsung or any other manufacturers thought curved screen was a good idea, personally it doesn't look cool or useful. That's why I praise APPLE for never putting curved or even 2D glass on their iPhones anymore and that's why iPhones always win in drop test compare to any other curved screen phones.

  • Anonymous

Aadrian, 25 Aug 2021I also got the August security patch on my Note8, EU region... moreWill s8 plus also get august updates can you tell me thank you

  • Anonymous

3stanity , 31 Aug 2021Got this phone in 2017, it was a beast, today, I had the la... moreTrue! SD835/ Note 9 SD845 are still capable SoCs even for Android 12, its just this Manufacturers Planned Obscolence to force consumer to buy their latest gadgets by cutting OS Support after 2/3 yrs. Pretty much a non green environment move with more electronic gadget waste being thrown to some other country that also contributes to global warming/climate change.

Tafzeel , 29 Aug 2021My Phone is not charging after August update. What to do now?Try to connect the charger to the phone, and reboot it in safe mode. Maybe some app causes the issue, you can delete it in safe mode.

Anonymous, 03 Sep 2021Yes you might miss out on some premium features from the No... moreThe A52 and A52s will also get 3 major OS updates, that's a good thing too.

  • Anonymous

Upgrade or downgrade, 19 Aug 2021Looking to go into an a52 5G or a52s 5G is it worth it? I’m... moreYes you might miss out on some premium features from the Note line, but the Samsung mid rangers are quite good for the average user.

  • Anonymous

Tafzeel , 29 Aug 2021My Phone is not charging after August update. What to do now?You could try restarting the phone or using a different charger. Also try powering it off and keep it off for at least 30 minutes before plugging it in again.

  • 3stanity

Got this phone in 2017, it was a beast, today, I had the latest update. The phone is still powerful the camera is excellent. Being an old phone,the battery lasts for a day. I already purchased S21 Ultra but would never trade my Note 8 since Samsung would not release any Note device anymore.
However, get the much advance Note since the price difference is not that big. The battery is also better.