Sony Xperia 1
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 1

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

Shui8, 07 May 2019Finally. Xperia 1 brings HDR improvement when other competitors ... moreThose competitor's HDR tend to shift the color, it isn't the good HDR because it shift the color like 'avatar' especially the AI camera from Huawei. I have see many sample from Huawei recent phone, their AI color algorithm is far from natural! The true to real life photo should not have oversaturate color and over processing highly contrast, it makes the image looks over-processing, while the over-sharpening is a bit hit or miss, I see the image is very sharp in WhatsApp. WhatsApp, the app always scale down the image and tend to lost some of the sharpness, so Slightly added sharpness maybe should be fine.

Sony camera software engineer say the real HDR should keep the same EV and retain the more details/texture, I can found the sunlight/spotlight area have retain more details and actual colors in day and night scene and it doesn't lost the detail or shift color like those competitor.
Source:
https://youtu.be/i87DiI1ILPg

AlexP, 07 May 2019I'm my opinion P30 isn't enough for me to be a flagship. And the... moreOf course its not the same camera, therefore the cheaper price. At least its the same camera hardware as last Mate 20 Pro, with more advance RYYB sensor.

The duo Mate 20 is flagship, duo P30 is flagship, trio S10 & Iphone Xs (R) is flagship. P30 lite is the mid ranger of P30 series. Honor top end will always cheaper than vanilla P & Mate series, share some high end items, therefore called as 'flagship killer', a direct competitor to Oneplus.

Shui8, 07 May 2019Both P30 & P30 Pro are flagship. P30 just a tone down on the... moreI'm my opinion P30 isn't enough for me to be a flagship. And the camera is not the same as P30 pro has

AlexP, 07 May 2019P30 is not flagship. P30 pro maybe isBoth P30 & P30 Pro are flagship. P30 just a tone down on the Pro version. Both are flagship in terms of performance & camera. Pretty much like Mate 20 & Mate 20 Pro, Galaxy S10+, S10, S10e.

They are definitely not a mid ranger phone.

Shui8, 07 May 2019Finally. Xperia 1 brings HDR improvement when other competitors ... moreP30 is not flagship. P30 pro maybe is

A smart Shooter, 06 May 2019HDR on Xperia One has the maximum improvement, the engineer say ... moreFinally. Xperia 1 brings HDR improvement when other competitors already done it for years. Hopefully a lot of Auto HDR triggered on a selected scene, especially low lights, so it can looks 'Avatar' world when u describe about other excellent device.

That scene on P30 video? Yeah a bit overblown on the background as its focus on the foreground. Not being a nitpicky, but overall results is still great & flagship worthy.

Theres a Honor 20 Pro leaks just now, which has Sony IMX586 with OIS, 48mp 1/2.0" sensor size, 1.75 micron pixel size on pixel binning 12mp. That hardware alone a lot better than Xperia 1 smaller 1/2.6" sensor size, measly 1.4 micron pixel size. Software a different story though, cant wait for both results. - https://m.gsmarena.com/newscomm-36926.php

  • Anonymous

Alexande, 06 May 2019Iphone xs max, xs,xr and razer phone have 120hz and asus rog pho... moreIpad has 120Hz, iphones do not.

Almost all Xperia from X series have 120Hz as long they have at least 1080p screen.
So, even XA2 has 120Hz.
But is disabled by kernel, because it spends more battery.
XZ2 Premium uses 144Hz WRGB LCD ( Xperia P was first WRGB screen).

  • Anonymous

[deleted post]I've used both of them. Both are great in their own ways.

RockStar2005, 07 May 2019Tann, Actually I looked into this and it's not right. If it ... moreYeah, it was removed, but was clearly stated before, I ve seen it myself too.
I dont know about oleds max refresh rates, but some kind of hz upgrade for gaming will definitely be in the Game Enhancer app of Xperia 1.

Pfff, oleds...
I am still an lcd fan here.

Zhao min, 06 May 2019Ask your friend vV5. He "was" the one who said that long time a... moreThat vv5 guy, I dont even know or care who that is, is not the subject at all.
DxO is.

A smart Shooter, 07 May 2019To the zhao min who don't read the full Comments. 3D memory is ... moreYou still love lenovo?

Zhao min, 06 May 2019Actually "you" where the one who "said" that. I just "copy &... moreTo the zhao min who don't read the full Comments.
3D memory is my ex-Gsmarena's username too, it is VV5 too.
"Everything is changing since the Dxomark adopt new protocol policy erroneous tendency to iPhone new dual camera sensor trend."
Conclusion Dxomark changed the ratings by adding Bokeh and Zoom to help iPhone score higher. It is bias enough!

RockStar2005, 07 May 2019Tann, Actually I looked into this and it's not right. If it ... moreActually, in both hong kong and taiwan announcement, they mention about 120hz refresh rate on supported media. but anyway unless it is launched officially then only we can test it. they even said the screen is made by samsung ? if it is true then samsung display with 120hz it would be funny to see samsung is not using the 120hz display on their own phone

Tann Hauser, 06 May 2019Screens are 120hz since Xperia X, but disabled by software, yes.... moreTann,

Actually I looked into this and it's not right. If it was on the Sony China site, they removed it because OLED phones can currently only go up to 90 Hz, not 120 Hz. Only the older LCD (pre-XZ3) Xperia flagships phones had the 120 Hz "option" starting with the Z5. So again, that is prob why they removed it from the website, cuz it simply wasn't true.

Tann Hauser, 06 May 2019Screens are 120hz since Xperia X, but disabled by software, yes.... moreVERY interesting!

So what app is that? Game Enhancer?? What is the official name? Is it available on Play Store????! I wonder if getting that app will actually enable 120 Hz?!!

  • Zhao min

Tann Hauser, 06 May 2019"Extensively"?! Well it obviously depends on who is paying for ... moreAsk your friend vV5.
He "was" the one who said that long time ago.

https://www.gsmarena.com/newscomm-15250.php

  • Zhao min

A smart Shooter, 06 May 2019Most of the flagship camera have software update to get better ... moreActually "you" where the one who "said" that. I just "copy & paste" from your old comment without making any modification.

https://www.gsmarena.com/newscomm-15250.php

See? Now you change your mind just because xperia lose dxo's test.
And about samsung, i dont know.
Btw.. are you trying to shift the topic? Dude.. you should stop blaming samsung for all sony's failures.

Zhao min, 06 May 2019DxO has extensively analyzed the image and video quality of over... moreMost of the flagship camera have software update to get better photo quality, so Dxomark quite a lame site for smartphone camera review because they don't test it again after the new software update. The best way is to have the phone yourself and experience it!

Ah! I remember Ifixit also a 'standard' just like the Dxomark, they teardown the Samsung Fold X and mocking it is a 'butterfly' with no bias lol.

Shui8, 06 May 2019Which part u didnt understand? Told u already its a codec issue ... moreHDR on Xperia One has the maximum improvement, the engineer say the real HDR should keep the same EV and retain the more details as you can see this link from duration 13:13 to 16:24
Source:
https://youtu.be/i87DiI1ILPg

Watch the Huawei P30 Pro capture no detail on the window, start from duration 1:11 to 1:14 and the glass roof also lost the detail and blow out by the glare.
Source:
https://youtu.be/xQmScWWABiw

Are you still Sony fans!? It is hard to earn some Kudos from you, but you just simply give it to Huawei, I have to say.

RockStar2005, 06 May 2019Woah woah WHAT??!!!!!!! lol From what I've read, several rec... moreScreens are 120hz since Xperia X, but disabled by software, yes.
Anyhow, it was seen on Sonys mobile Xperia 1 official China page, under gaming features, stated clearly as "applicable 120hz mode for gaming through Game Enhancer app", but was since then removed. Dont know why exactly.

A post from reddit with the link was:

"On the official HK-exclusive Xperia 1 product/promotional page, there's a mention to 120Hz gaming.

If you scroll down you can read:

{lots of chinese bla, bla, bla}

Which translated roughly to:

Game Enhancer centralizes all games to one place. Play without interruption. Block notifications, and either use Extended Battery Mode to enjoy gaming for longer, or use Performance Priority Mode to boost GPU and CPU performance. Moreover, you can display games in 120Hz.

https://www.sony-xperia.com.hk/xperia_1.php "

​