Sony Xperia 1 III
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 1 III

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

ASJ1901, 06 Jul 2021Its not just a chip that a developer needs to take into acc... moreROG might have dropped a few frames yet gave average fps of 55 and above.
Sony is at 39 fps on average. Lowest among Snapdragon 888 devices.

  • ASJ1901

Android-Authority, 06 Jul 2021If it's not optimized, then how come other phones with... moreIts not just a chip that a developer needs to take into account. The RAM, motherboard, bios etc all play a role. There is a reason all sd888 equipped phones produce different results on benchmarks. And i just mentioned the example of rog phone 5 which is equipped with sd888 but still had dropped frames in genshin impact in the review video that i saw. It was MrMobile's review if you are interested. And i doubt anyone makes a purchase decision based on that one game they play, especially if it involves spending 1300$/1300€/1200£.
And i am also saying that if Sony did indeed skimp on cooling (i dont know if they did or not) then its on them.
And i also said that the phone running pre-release software isnt an excuse as they were the ones who sent the review units out, they should have been ready for it.
As much as i love Sony, i know there are not perfect.

Fake.
It does 4k 120hz.
It has dedicated X1 mobile chip to render 4k 120hz.
Many other reviewers already tested this.

ASJ1901, 06 Jul 2021That might be true, but having played the game, i know that... moreIf it's not optimized, then how come other phones with Snapdragon 888 giving smooth stable performance?

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021Budget phones with SD 888?I clearly said budget flagships, not sure what you are reading.

  • ASJ1901

Anonymous, 04 Jul 2021Worst performer in Genshin Impact out of all Snapdragon 888... moreThat might be true, but having played the game, i know that it is not the best optimised game out there. There arr frame drops on the iphone 12 pro max where I normal play the game.
I have even seen videos on YouTube where you can clearly see frame drops even on the rog phone 5. And thats a full on gaming phone. That kind of issues are expected as the game is cross platform across varying hardwares.
Not that it gives Sony any excuses for skimping on cooling if they have. It sure seems like it from the early reviews, but it might be a prerelease software. Though, that isnt an excuse either

  • Anony

Some of the best night/low light shots on a phone, like ever, but never going to buy a Sony, 71mm width the phone is just pathetic you need atleast a 76-77mm option to go with it if they are going to skin down everything to cater to a dumb market trend in the west. Oh yeah and as always, overpriced.

  • Anonymous

Android-Authority, 05 Jul 2021Did you check the review where they complain about thermal ... moreBudget phones with SD 888?

TheGoldenMellifluous, 05 Jul 2021Did you already check the article where GSMArena covers a Y... moreDid you check the review where they complain about thermal throttling and overheating under sustained loads? Even budget flagships around 500 Euros with Snapdragon 888 have better sustained performance than Xperia at 1300 Euros

  • moky

16,5 cm is just a big NO.

  • Anonymous

TheGoldenMellifluous, 05 Jul 2021Did you already check the article where GSMArena covers a Y... moreAgain if there's proper cooling, then it isn't working which means it's poor quality implementation. Sony should learn from Chinese brands on how it's done

  • Anonymous

I don't see the problems that people have, whenever choosing a phone you always have drawbacks, just choose whichever drawbacks you'd rather have and deal with

  • Anonymous

Is Xperia 1 III compatible with T Mobile’s visual voicemail and WiFi calling?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021Imagine being able to play that same game on another phone ... moreImagine playing mobile games :')

Anonymous, 04 Jul 2021Sony yet again cheapening out on the cooling part. Same is ... moreDid you already check the article where GSMArena covers a YouTube video of the disassembly process of Xperia 1 III? There's a proper cooling down system there (graphite-based heat dissipation), the nearly same one in every flagship Xperia since XZ Premium, albeit a different installation process.
https://www.gsmarena.com/sony_xperia_1_iii_earns_a_6_10_repairability_score_in_disassembly_video-news-49814.php

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021Cod isn't a heavy enough game. Plenty of Snapdragon 8... moreEven Snapdragon 865/870 devices give that much framerate in COD

  • Anonymous

lol, 04 Jul 2021lol imagine playing on a phoneImagine being able to play that same game on another phone with Snapdragon 888 smoothly as opposed to continuous lags and frame drops on Xperia 1 III with same Snapdragon 888.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021As opposed to being the best performer in Call of Duty out ... moreCod isn't a heavy enough game.
Plenty of Snapdragon 888 devices giving above 110fps in COD

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021Photographers also know that prime lenses give better image... moreThat is true when using proper camera lenses, and then only when using the same quality lenses for both. A cheap prime is no match for an expensive telephoto lens for example. With the glass configuration and sensors in mobile phones the differences will be as good as non-existent.

  • Anonymous

kupfernigk, 02 Jul 2021You do realise that no other manufacturer is selling an act... morePhotographers also know that prime lenses give better image quality than zoom lenses.