Sony Xperia 5
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 5

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Pitchwisse

Anonymous, 02 Dec 2019Nice phone. I would love to buy another Xperia since the camera ... moreI could understand why you would miss it but the fact that there is no headphone jack on the actual device, makes it impossible to have the FM radio, given that the headphones themselves served as an antenna. I suppose that getting the actual FM antenna into the device would cause further problems and issues for the manufacturers. I guess that we just have to adapt the new times and accept that the headphone jack isn't coming back (sadly)

A smart Shooter, 30 Nov 2019Well.. next year's xperias will have screen holesI don't like punch hole, but you can choose what ever you like it.

  • moon

Pitchwisse, 25 Nov 2019So I have bought the phone and I can only say that it is an abso... moreIndeed, well said!

  • Anon

Anonymous, 02 Dec 2019Nice phone. I would love to buy another Xperia since the camera ... moreDownload an app...

  • Anonymous

Nice phone. I would love to buy another Xperia since the camera is finally on par with competition which is weird since Sony bought Minolta and is suppose to have a great knowledge in photography.
Xperia 5 would be really perfect but lacks FM radio. And yes I can still listen to it especially when I am abroad with no data and with bad data reception and this is important. I know many think FM Radio is for old people or the kind but it is not. It can save you from problems just as a phone does.
And of course also the lack of audio jack is annoying. There are still people who avoid BT earplugs and want to stay simple. Make an Xperia 5-2 with those features and I will buy it.

This model's camera achieved the same score like my HTC U11 from 2017.
Sony wants to fail somehow.

EmojivsKimchi, 28 Nov 2019You can cut a black paper and stick it on your screen, then tell... moreWell.. next year's xperias will have screen holes

  • -A-

Pitchwisse, 25 Nov 2019So I have bought the phone and I can only say that it is an abso... moreAmen to this 🙏 You've said it all, and said it perfect. I'm having my 3rd Xperia now and just loving my brand new 5.

Anonymous, 28 Nov 2019The reason why sony dont follow those trends is because sony is ... moreYou can cut a black paper and stick it on your screen, then tell me do you really love the blocking, of you don't like it why force other to follow?

  • Anonymous

EmojivsKimchi, 14 Nov 2019Are you sure you love the big curved cut off screen? You love th... moreThe reason why sony dont follow those trends is because sony is not smart enough. bad technical expertise. and dont have money to develop those trends.

  • S8 9.0

Worst design of 2019

  • Pitchwisse

Anonymous, 18 Nov 2019Sony is still left behind in technology. 1. There is still hi... moreI am not really sure how to reply to your comment but I will give it my best based on the fact that I am situated in Shenzhen and I work with a lot of brands:

The on screen fingerprint misses most of the time and is horrible in comparison to the ceramic one found on Xperia.
The 90Hz refresh rate destroys battery life and overheats the CPU and the GPU because it is only useful for gaming.
I will completely ignore the fact that you submerge your phone on occasion.
The selfie camera is horrible, I will give you that.
There is no notch, just small bezels.
The audio jack on a phone is not necessary anymore due to AptxHD and LDAC protocols.

This phone is an absolute monster, you just need to know how to use it.

  • Pitchwisse

So I have bought the phone and I can only say that it is an absolute beast with a disclaimer - this is not a phone for everyone. This is a phone for a specific user (it suits my needs personally). For everyone else who just wants to be negative - there is an enormus market of cell phones, just buy something else. Especially with the camera in mind, you have to go into the manual mode and you will get the best possible pictures ever made on any smartphone (yet again, if this is not your thing, buy something else). Audio is awesome, the display has the best color accuracy I have ever seen on a phone, and battery life is above average. Understand your personal needs and what each company offers before you decide to make a purchase, there are a lot of different brands out there, if it's not a phone for you, don't badmouth it for no reason.

  • jejo

It's a shame that its a mile high.

MeSony, 10 Nov 2019" And each person knows their needs/wishes, so some will find th... moreI don't want to have to mess with setting for each photo in order to have decent shots.

Most phone cameras are used as "point and shoot" especially when using it to capture unexpected events....

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 18 Nov 2019Sony is still left behind in technology. 1. There is still hi... morenot all your opinions are correct but here's a counter

1. It's not a notch, it's a chin, that nullifies your statement
2. Yes the front camera is lower spec and has a lesser IQ than even the XZ1
3. It's a nuisance but the trend is going that way anyways
4. Wireless charge is a gimmick and overcomplicates charging by making a charging pad, putting a coil inside a phone, converting the AC into DC inside the phone, etc. all that can be remedied by just plugging a cable
5. True that the battery is on the low side but the testing concludes that this outweighs even the Xperia 1 that has a bigger battery. Just to show that battery capacity is not everything and software optimization is key to having a better battery life
6. Yes 90Hz panels is a new technology in a smartphone, but it's not going to be mainstream technology. It consumes more battery and in a phone where gaming is not the main focus, it's totally forgivable.
7. In-display fingerprint reader is indeed a new tech, but remember that designing the internals to accomodate that in display fingerprint reader isn't that worth it when you already have a phone that's jam-packed with specs in a small footprint. Side fingerprint reader is already speedy and good enough

*Disclaimer: I do have the phone in my hand and I do speak by my usage experience for the last 2 weeks or so*

Anonymous, 18 Nov 2019Sony is still left behind in technology. 1. There is still hi... moreIndeed

  • toni pifou

i rily realy love xperia 5 and no one can break it...

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 18 Nov 2019Sony is still left behind in technology. 1. There is still hi... moreThanks for the update. I've had 2 i-phones and Google Pixel 3xl since January. I can only speak for myself, but I do not use most of a phones features. The i-phone I found facetime a very good feature which I used a lot and is the only feature I miss from Apple. Android has nothing close, so I use WhatsApp occasionally, but not as much as I used facetime. Things like wireless charging is no big deal or where the finger print scan is to be honest. Phones are becoming too gimmicky. However, gimmicks sell phones and please many so I fully understand why they do it. Call quality is being overlooked to stuff in more and more features and for those of us that call business customers and family it's becoming irritating when they cannot hear you and them and calls then drop. I have experienced this more and more but with Google Pixel 3xl it took it to another level. Do you know what, I'm at the point where I'm looking for a mid range phone that takes great pics, call quality is good and I can read the news online. Whether a phone can take great video does not interest me as I've only used video maybe 10 times in 5 years.

  • Anonymous

Sony is still left behind in technology.

1. There is still hideous notch
2. Front camera is lame with that specs.
3. No earphone, Yes i still prefer wired, although i also use my bluetooth earphones.
4. No wireless charge. Yes i need this, to prolong the life of usb type c port, i also used it whenever i submerge my phone in water and the annoying pop up water in usb port alarms is on.
5. Battery, still low, with 6" screen phone its pretty standard to have a 4kmAh battery at least, the endurance test doesn't reflect the real persons usage
6. 90hz screen refresh rate is the new technology, sony doesn't have this? ROG 2 has 120hz
7. in display fingerprint is also a new tech, sony is still in the dark ages, although side mounted FP is not bad, unless as what i watched fromGSMArena its bad. hahaha

i think sony is still releasing a phone for just meh! or for their avid Japanese Sony Fans and not for global fans.

In simple terms, sony has nothing new to offer. a dying mobile phone indeed.