Sony Xperia 5
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 5

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • INA

Since Sony Mobile has fled their customers in Indonesia, some individual importers offer this Xperia 5 around US$900 to US$1,000 ... is it worth it?

Pitchwisse, 19 May 2020You have to use the phnoe for about a week for it to realiz... moreI have 6 hours of SoT easily between 90% and 25% while web browsing, reading and watching Youtube.

  • Anonymous

Just got an Xperia 5. The screen got a green bar down the center of it within 3 hours of use. So disappointing

Only if it had a headphone jack... Guess I'll be waiting for the Xperia 5 II.

  • Antok Z

Non headphone jack and FM radio...is so pitty šŸ˜­

  • Pitchwisse

TheGoldenMellifluous, 18 May 2020Well, between reviewers itself can be varied. Some like thi... moreYou have to use the phnoe for about a week for it to realize your usage patterns. Once I had it out of the box it was at about 4 hours of SoT (with some Asphalt Legends included). Now I am at over 6 hours of SoT and comfortably using the phone throughout the entire day.

  • Benny1

I'm sony fan, very nice phone better than galaxy s9

Sony fan, 02 May 2020All together great performance only the battery last just 4... moreWell, between reviewers itself can be varied. Some like this, PhoneArena and TechRadar said it was turns out to be great, while others not. Strange... Because this phone received 96hr ER, which's another surprise from Sony since XZ1.

  • Pitchwisse

Vladimir, 13 May 2020Hi :) I watched your review on youtube and saw that you we... moreThe camera experience has changed through an update. The photos are not gonna come out as artificial looking as the ones on a Samsung, but they have fixed exposure issues and the way the camera prioritises shadows and details in difficult lighting situations. The front camera is still terrible in low light which for me is not really a deal breaker, but it might be for some.

  • Vladimir

Pitchwisse, 11 May 2020I have a small YT review channel which gives me the opportu... moreHi :)
I watched your review on youtube and saw that you were dissatisfied with the camera, which led you to switch back to a Galaxy S9. Since the time of the review did the camera experience improve or did you just learn to live with it? I am thinking of buying this phone and camera quality is important to me. Thank you!

  • Pitchwisse

I have a small YT review channel which gives me the opportunity to go through a number of phones on a monthly basis, and this phone is my daily driver.
The design is very unique and serves its purpose on multiple grounds, whether it's playing games, scrolling social media, and especially watching movies. The LDAC audio is absolutely awesome with Dolby Atmos and the speakers are also fairly alright.
I see people complaining about the battery life. I get close to 5 hours SOT, which includes more than 2 hours of Asphalt Legends at 40fps. On a regular day with no gaming I get well over 6 hours. However, there is a number of apps that are on restrict mode (Facebook first and foremost) so that they cannot drain any battery in the background.
All in all, I would take a Sony phone over any Samsung device any time of the day.

  • Alex55

Big f problems with finger print scanner. Verry annoying think. I m ready to quit the phone becouse of this, if i don t find a way to fix it, and I m a Sony fan. Except that, overal the phone have good performance and look great.

  • OSFP

Screen with optimal (for me) resolution and no annoying notches and curved edges. Optimal (again, for me) combination of storage and RAM. IP65/IP68.

Well, it would be a perfect phone for me (albeit slightly overpriced), if it wasn't for apparent real live problems with battery live. I'm reading the comments and it's painfully obvious battery is just too small. Oh, well...

  • Anonymous

Max Ray, 27 Apr 2020What version of the phone do you have? A lot of people co... moreThe FPS issue has been completely fixed for me with Android 10. The fingerprint scanner is not great indeed, though not unusable too. When it starts to not work well, registering the finger again helps for me. Note that I bought the really early ones maybe the issue is fixed in the most recent units

  • Sony fan

All together great performance only the battery last just 4 hours on screen time which is horrible. Waiting for Sony to release another phone with better battery life.

  • Anonymous

Maxray, 29 Apr 2020Sorry for not being clearer, I meant J8210 (Europe) or J827... moreMy bad, I did not understand that you are referring to the phone version. My model is J9210. I have bought it from Greece.

  • Anonymous

Max Ray, 27 Apr 2020What version of the phone do you have? A lot of people co... moreI have the J9210 version I have seen on some forum for xperia 5 that it is recomended to scan your finger by sliding it across scanner not just by touching it, and also to scan it 3 times (same finger). Ever since I have done that it pretty much unlocks every time.

  • Maxray

Anonymous, 29 Apr 2020My Android version is 10 (55.1.A.3.112). The behavior of th... moreSorry for not being clearer, I meant J8210 (Europe) or J8270 USA ,or dual sim version?
I am willing to buy the European version ,UK more specifically.
Thanks

  • Anonymous

Max Ray, 27 Apr 2020What version of the phone do you have? A lot of people co... moreMy Android version is 10 (55.1.A.3.112). The behavior of the fps did not change since I upgraded to Android 10. I am using the official leather book cover and when I am opening the case I am using the fps to unlock the phone. It works almost every time, but to be honest it fails if the finger is sweaty (for example, while training in the gym).

  • Kudabadi

Arckie, 10 Apr 2020Which is better for gaming, Xperia 5 or Galaxy S10 plus? Pl... moreI dont know about xperia...but dont buy samsung product...i own samsung note 4,note 5 and latest note 9 exynos ver ....after 1 year using note 9 i got a screen problem..my screen become yellowish...before that happen its flikering with greenish colour..i serach a solution in youtube and seeing many people have same problem like me...samsung product is overprice for a junk product....for the gaming the grafick is not great either(exynos)...mobile with half the price still better than this phone in term of grafickšŸ¤£..