Sony Xperia 5
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 5

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

kupfernigk, 17 Nov 2019"I am seriously considering returning to Sony after last owning ... moreThanks for your comments. I think you are right with cameras half the time it is splitting hairs!

Anonymous, 17 Nov 2019I am seriously considering returning to Sony after last owning a... more"I am seriously considering returning to Sony after last owning a Sony Ericsson some 15 years ago. I currently own a pixel 3xl but disappointed with call quality. To be honest I mainly use the phone for, should I say it 'calling,' texting, taking pho..."

I don't think you will regret it. I don't work for Sony but I do think their phones are underestimated. My current one is an XZ2C which should be getting Android 10 early next year, so I should get a good three years out of it. It replaced a Z5C which is still in use as a satnav and for 2FA. The next one will most likely be a 5. People fuss about the Google camera but I honestly think in reality hardly anybody would notice the difference - and at one time I was a pro/am photographer.

  • Anonymous

I am seriously considering returning to Sony after last owning a Sony Ericsson some 15 years ago. I currently own a pixel 3xl but disappointed with call quality. To be honest I mainly use the phone for, should I say it 'calling,' texting, taking photos and reading the news, etc. Should I invest in Experia 1 or the 5? Also re updates, are these from the day you purchase or when the phone first comes out, otherwise is it better to wait?

MeSony, 10 Nov 20191. Perhaps, but only in auto settings. In manual mode though, Xp... morenice 1 my brother

edm, 13 Nov 2019honestly sony phones are the ugliest ones,sadly i really want to... moreAre you sure you love the big curved cut off screen? You love the reflective and slippery waterfall big curved edge? Are you love the variety notch designs? Almost all flagship nowadays suffer one or two or all from this ugly/useless design. All these gimmick only ruin your beautiful display, I don't see you saying it is ugly but your display got a big cut off at the corner and various notch protruding top of the screen and massive reflection from the huge curve edge, these doesn't wake you up!? ...

  • edm

honestly sony phones are the ugliest ones,sadly i really want to love them but the price and the look...

  • Hjy

Sony needs to improve on the audio department. Always has low music volume level!!!!!!

AverageUser, 10 Nov 2019They do rate the camera based on many parameters, which is right... more" And each person knows their needs/wishes, so some will find that Sony suits their needs"
Unfortunately, wrong. Each person wants "the best" without any understanding what it actually means. 99.9% of people have no technical expertise with image analysis and processing. Therefore, people fall for marketing hype, which is 100% false advertisement.

Learn to use manual mode. Again see reviews from professional photographers using DSLR as a gold standard. In manual mode, Xperia 5 brings more details in portrait photos and better color accuracy compared to Galaxy S10, Huawei P30 Pro and Iphone 11.

AverageUser, 10 Nov 2019This phone would be awesome, if the price was right. 1. It do... more1. Perhaps, but only in auto settings. In manual mode though, Xperia 5 brings more details in portrait photos and better color accuracy compared to Galaxy S10, Huawei P30 Pro and Iphone 11. You can find comparison on YouTube from professional photographers using DSLR as a gold standard.
2. No one said it was compact. However, this phone is easy to hold in one hand due to 21:9 format. It's less than 7 cm in width.
3. I don't like cables so prefer using Bluetooth headphones. Wireless charging is useless in practice.
4. Battery endurance per battery size is the best on the market
Xperia 5 (endurance rating 95h, battery 3140mAh)
Huawei P30 Pro (endurance rating 100h, battery 4200mAh).
Samsung Galaxy S10 (endurance rating 79h, battery 3400mAh).
5. Lame remark

Xperia 5 costs as much as S10 and P30 Pro, which is around 700 EUR. In this price range, plus/minus 50 EUR means nothing. That being said, Xperia 5 comes with a gift - XF-1000m3 earphones worth 250 EUR, which is a very sweet deal.

  • Me

Uch, 10 Nov 2019Wish this phone is shorter. Too long for its width! Otherwise, g... moreToo long for its width? You are completely missing the point of 21:9 format. It's great for multitasking, can't do that on a shorter phone. No problem carrying Xperia 5 in my pockets.

Uch, 10 Nov 2019Wish this phone is shorter. Too long for its width! Otherwise, g... moreA wider frame of the phone is much difficult to control in one hand, especially you have use a protective case for the fragility note 10. So the Xperia 5 is much nice for one hand control even it has put a protective case on. Taller doesn't have any problems because you must have a normal pocket size and even the Note 10 can put it in why a 2mm taller can not!?

Me, 09 Nov 2019DXO MARK is nonsense. The whole score is a weighted average of m... moreThey do rate the camera based on many parameters, which is right. And each person knows their needs/wishes, so some will find that Sony suits their needs.
Naturally, many others won't.

At this price range, Sony's camera performance gets blown out of the water by so many other flagships. Sony really needs to step up their game if they want to be a relevant player again.

This phone would be awesome, if the price was right.

1. It does fall behind when it comes to the camera.
2. It's not exactly compact if it's over 6 inches (unless you have fairly large hands).
3. It lacks headphone jack and/or some features other devices have (like ability to sharge other devices wirelessly).
4. Battery life isn't outstanding.
5. The design is just... boxy, too boxy.

So, this phone costs over 800 Euros, while you have many other phones with same, similar or better specs for less money, like the S10 or P30 Pro for 600 Euros, Mi 9T Pro for 350 Euros... and it goes on.

  • Uch

Wish this phone is shorter. Too long for its width! Otherwise, great phone. Used to be big sony fan 10 years ago. Havnt seen a good design since! Ill buy if the size is similar to lg v30 or note 10. Ideal size to fit in pocket.

  • Me

nick sloter, 05 Sep 2019oh come on.. :D just look at the youtube videos, online review... moreDXO MARK is nonsense. The whole score is a weighted average of many parameters. For example, if phone has no (or limited) optical zoom, it will get a low score simply because of limited zoom. Does it mean that camera is bad? No. Also, comparison is based on Auto settings which are not ideal. In most cases, you can get better results by using manual mode (assuming you know what you are doing). Most importantly, look at the color accuracy - are colors the same in real life and in the pictures? Most smartphones can't reproduce real life colors, and have fake (distorted) colors, which are artificial and oversaturated. The true art of photography is to reproduce objects as they appear in real life rather than fake them.

  • Kal

The Xperia 5 is truly Sony Mobile's return back to form. For me it's got the perfect size - just big enough to be manageable with one hand and with enough screen real estate for browsing and media. I was sceptical about the elongated form factor, but now I can't see myself going back to 16:9. The feel and design of the phone are also quite premium.

The screen is superb - excellent colour reproduction, contrast and detail. The battery life is a huge improvement over my last phone - lasts easily more than a day, even a day and a half. The camera also takes great photos.

The fingerprint sensor works pretty well for me and the back function of "side sense" is a great and clever feature for browsing one-handed.

Overall, the Xperia 5 has exceeded my expectations. I'd definitely recommend it.

Vlad, 08 Nov 2019I need to know about a few things before I make a purchase: R... moreYou do realise "stereo width" on a phone is entirely down to the recording being played? The days of cross channel interference in vinyl records are long gone, and you can't exactly move the speakers around.
"Audiophiles" claim to hear things that simply are not there.

  • Me

S . SUDHAKAR, 08 Nov 2019Xperia 5 is a waste model because : > No dedicated memory ... moreAnother lousy criticism with lame remarks coming from someone who never experienced this phone before. Bigger batteries make phones heavy and not necessarily last longer. This 3100mAh battery will outlasts 4000mAh batteries of other brands. In my daily life, Xperia 5 give 10 hours SOT (2 full days). Not as good as XZ1 compact though, XZ1c was 14 hours SOT (3 full days).

  • Cristiano

S . SUDHAKAR, 08 Nov 2019Xperia 5 is a waste model because : > No dedicated memory ... moreIt has an OLED Display which is better than a super Amoled Display

  • Dsk

S . SUDHAKAR, 08 Nov 2019Xperia 5 is a waste model because : > No dedicated memory ... moreXperia 5 is having 96 hrs endurance testing. Is this not enough for a smartphone? Even it has small battery it will come long time.