Sony Xperia 5
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 5

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • James

kupfernigk, 01 Oct 2019What do you mean, mediocre batteries? Sony actually care about k... moreThank you so much! People are obsessed with having 4000mAh+ batteries, why? If you can get a smaller battery, with better power management on the device, then why not? The phone would charge faster, but still have the performance that you need, when you need it.

  • Imre

I recieved mine yesterday. so far the biggest minus is the absent of 960 fps slowmo. but since i was mostly just messing around with it, it's fine. it really feels compact with it's width. i have to strech and change the grip a little bit to reach the top of the screen, but bearable. i switched from xz1. on the first full day i managed to have 4h40min screen time with 3,5 hours of gaming (Marvel contest of champions) - yes i was board. so far battery is amazing. still waiting for my preorder gift wf-1000XM3.
as soon as the price drops it's a really good buy.

21:9 and only 6.1" oh no, oh no - With ist 6 cm wide it's like an 4.9" in the good old 16:9 format

2cent, 09 Oct 2019My perfect phone : Body - max 68mm width ✓ Display ... moreXperia 5 fingerprint scanner placement is perfect but Galaxy S10e just a mess, you will press the fingerprint button on upper side and press the navigation buttons at the bottom of the screen do you think your finger is having a basketball match running up and down just for the weird fingerprint placement?

Samsung doesn't have Eye tracking.

The image quality for lowlight comparison even the Pixel 3 with single camera is better than Galaxy S10e, because Samsung smear the texture and looks not focused (blurred) and the daylight is too much punchy than real objects. Please refer the Gsmarena's camera comparison charts.

The punch hole isn't nice, even Samsung try it on several area but still a black hole there.

  • 2cent

My perfect phone :
Body - max 68mm width ✓
Display - min 6" with 1080p resolution ✓
Battery - min 90h gsmarena endurance ✓
Button - placement to be good ✗
Music - 3.5mm is a must ✗
Performance - flagship specs bro ✓
Price - around 500 eur ✗

Sony has failed crosses (look up).
Galaxy s10e is also close but has failed some requirements

anonimous, 07 Oct 2019big batteries mean nothing, people want great battery endurance ... morefinally ,somebody who thinks straight.Bravo

  • anonimous

Jackma, 07 Oct 2019The most dissapointing and confused fone and fone manufacturer, ... morebig batteries mean nothing, people want great battery endurance and that's exactly what this phone is offering. Let's compare a few latest phones below. See where it really matters?

Xperia 5 (endurance rating 95h, battery 3140mAh)
Huawei P30 Pro (endurance rating 100h, battery 4200mAh).
Samsung Galaxy S10 (endurance rating 79h, battery 3400mAh).

  • Jackma

The most dissapointing and confused fone and fone manufacturer, how did u come up with xperia 5, and while other flagships are rocking 4000mah and upward they are still trailing with a 3000mah battery, nowanda they are being left behind, no vision

Why the hell is it so thick with such a small battery?

  • Anonymous

anonimous, 06 Oct 2019Companies decision are governed by the "weird" market demands. P... moreHuman hand sizes have not changed for tens, hundreds of thousands of years. Phone makers need to realize this.

  • Universe

anonimous, 06 Oct 2019Companies decision are governed by the "weird" market demands. P... moreagree.. sooner in 2020..smartphone companies such as huawei will copy this 21:9 aspect ratio lmaoo.. i doubt.. cuz is this gonna be ugly. watching movied is now widened narrowed. lmaooo

  • anonimous

Anonymous, 06 Oct 2019It has to be 6.7" at least for 21.9 ratio6.1 inch is fine with me but I'd not go smaller than that. Now, it's like my XZ1C only a bit longer, which I'm personally very happy with. More vertical screen estate is exactly what I want.

  • anonimous

Deteru, 02 Oct 2019Why would they release a phone in this day and age without wirel... moreit's just a fancy feature and not a deal breaker to me

Anonymous, 02 Oct 2019They are busy right now... They trying to rob customers pocket ... moreYou're acting like Sony is the only offender here... Even some companies who defended 3.5mm in the past now axing the 3.5mm jack from existence of their flagship, and start selling their own BT headphones/earphones...

  • Anonymous

It has to be 6.7" at least for 21.9 ratio

  • anonimous

LOL, 02 Oct 2019LoL, why someone would whatch a movie or media contect on a 5-6"... morenot everyone has a 50" hdr oled TV at home. Phones are a necessities this day...TV's are not though.

  • Anonymous

anonimous, 05 Oct 2019big batteries mean nothing, people want great battery endurance ... more*96h* :D

  • anonimous

Anonymous, 06 Oct 2019Wish Sony made a real Compact.Companies decision are governed by the "weird" market demands. People (fast majority) want bigger screen. Making a true compact with 21:9 is not a very good idea - too long and too narrow.

  • Anonymous

Wish Sony made a real Compact.

  • anonimous

Lonte bajingan, 05 Oct 2019Sony, we arw dont really care about cinematic screen, what we ca... morebig batteries mean nothing, people want great battery endurance and that's exactly what this phone is offering. Xperia 5 (endurance rating 95h, battery 3140mAh) vs Huawei P30 Pro (endurance rating 100h, battery 4200mAh).