ZTE Axon 20 5G
MORE PICTURES

ZTE Axon 20 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Oluwaseyi

AnonD-973296, 02 Feb 2021are you replying to me?Does anyone know how to use music and media player on this device ( ZTE axon 20 5g )??

  • AnonD-973296

Nik, 29 Jan 2021What kind of phones did you have before?All the guys saying... moreare you replying to me?

  • Nik

What kind of phones did you have before?All the guys saying ZTE is not good?I used Magic game phone from ZTE AMand handset perform impeccable,soft update are used by companies like Samsung ,Sony,LG to full people into buy new phones every year.How they will make profit if you keep the phone for 5-6 years.I had an Samsung Note 20 Ultra and was total rubbish bug price was £1179,I order the ZTE Axon 20 5g and I’m sure for £419 will do the job. Don’t forget some phones yoh talk about are double the price but still are performing badly.

  • AnonD-973296

shyboob, 10 Jan 2021A device is not worth this value The front camera is so ba... more"the front camera is so bad that some programs even say clean the camera"

boi what did u expect, this is the first under display camera to be put it in a phone lol

Socks, 26 Jan 2021Can you first explain to me how an under screen camera is s... moreIt is a special pixel arrangement, literally a display inside another, the linkage could fail, such design could prove not durable or even more fragile.

The Galaxy A80 and the Oppo Find X aren't pop up, they are more motorized slider as a whole part of the back come up, unlike a large pop up in the Vivo V17 Pro for example.
And even there the A80 is special too as it is a flip slide up.
Other real pop up are super reliable.

What the point if IP rating if it is actually encouraging behaviors that damage the phone, isn't a guarantee at all, and since no brand cover water damages (either directly or through not covering accidental fall and spill over), as most users will get more protection from no pop up thanks to that.

What are you? An ant? The Poco F2 Pro is 219g while the ZTE Axon 20 is 198g, that's 21g, like c'mon, also the 20 isn't heavier because it is stupid thin at 8mm.
Many people complained about huge phones, and there is more people than you imagine who have issues holding a too thin phone.
I made an experiment with my GF, she has hand heal issues and couldn't hold something heavy for too long, yet she is perfectly fine holding a 313g M bot tab 71 tablet for hours.

I've already argued about possibly every imaginable issues, there are a lot of people like you finding imaginary arguments against the pop up, which at the end, all fall short from their difference with reality.

It is actually super easy to repair, not only it self-retract (not entirely, but enough) in case of fall, but also most of the time using the calibration feature will fix it, also don't blame a piece of tech if you can't properly hold it, would you complain that a glass bottle break if you drop it ?
No, because you simply have to be careful, and even without particular efforts, I've almost never dropped my phone.
It cumulates with the fact that it have been proven though against SLAM TESTS, not just drop tests, but slam tests, it needs to fall on the pop up in order to damage it, AND it will only occur if the camera is opened, that's a lot of "if" scenario here.

It is actually fast enough, any video proved it is actually superfast when it is well done, and we aren't even talking about the possibility to make it electromagnetic actuated which would be superfast and allow to reduce the internal space taken while also making it totally waterproof.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gU9fFcX1C0&feature=youtu.be&t=159
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHtRYt-5bIk

Actually it is THE BEST way to provide 3D facial recognition which CANNOT be accurately made under display, simply because while crappy, the pictures of the Axon 20 are actually gone through A LOT of software work, they are reconstructed as much as possible, the raw quality is probably laughable, even worse than 2Mp Macro camera, but while using AI for making an image appearing better is no problem for picture use, it doesn't work for biometric which need real RAW data, and not altered data.
And apart from the Oppo Find X which prove motorized camera can work with facial recognition, there is also some slider phones that confirm that.
But tell me, what do you prefer, an underdisplay camera that give you awful selfies and if it were to have 3D face recognition would reconstruct your face based on what an AI have learned to do, therefor reconstructing all faces similarly causing the phone to potentially identify anything as you, having an iPhone notch, having a bezel, or having an uninterrupted display?
My fictional concept phone would smoke every other in terms of both 3D face recognition reliability and face unlocking speed despite having a pop up :
https://imgur.com/gallery/ykYfaa6

That's funny you say that, just today I saw an article reading that a security company employee have admited watching 200 people having sex at home.
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9174365/ADT-technician-admits-hacking-home-security-cameras-spy-naked-women-couples-having-sex.html

You people constantly underestimate the dangers and issues of lack of privacy.
And while I wish no one will be victim to that, I can't wait for the first reveal of extremely unethical use of smartphone front camera by X or Y app that will be leaked and give everyone a big kick to let them realize privacy is actually nice.
How in the name of weirdness anyone can advocate AGAINST privacy?
How do you know what companies exploited, there are people that laugh at me when I say leaked user's passwords are available for sale on the deep web despite being a reality, but it isn't about that, you can literally buy someone's identity, and trust me having an identity thief is the last thing over internet you ever want, anything else is details compared to that.
Plus, your claims are literally out of date and totally false, it isn't because you aren't concerned (yet) that it doesn't happen :
https://www.cnbc.com/2020/12/09/chinas-huawei-tested-ai-software-that-could-identify-uighurs-report.html

FlarosOverfield, 24 Jan 2021>K30 pro has under display camera ?????????I meant Underdisplay Fingerprint Scanner...
But, well, if you think about it, it is an underdisplay camera too, and while the pop up is retracted, it is under the display, so...

Demongornot, 21 Jan 2021I love how you pull arguments out of nowhere. How do you k... moreCan you first explain to me how an under screen camera is supposed to break? It's literally just like normal displays the only way it actually breaks is when you break the whole display.

Pop up cameras have already broken multiple times in phones that don't make them right like the A80 for example. I'm not saying there aren't great ones like the oneplus 7 pro which is unlikely to break.

To quote "There are more IP rated smartphones that had damages or were killed by water than non IP rated smartphones with pop up, because the pop up push the user to be a minimum careful." What are you even talking about? That's like saying foldables have less of a chance to be killed by water because the users are more careful. Of course they'll be more careful but will that mean they're inevitable to water? No.

"Yes, it takes up more space, but what ?" I'm not saying that there won't be space for stuff like the headphone jack but it'll be heavier. Just look at the Axon 20 which is massive! It has a 6.92" screen while the mi 9T pro is only a 6.39" yet they have a similar weight.

And there are other cons of the pop up cameras that you can't argue with.

It's very hard to repair the pop up camera if something does happen to it, it's very slow to pop up compared to normal/under-display cameras and you can't have something like an IR scanner since it's a pop up.

"And also because it is another privacy threat that companies will love to exploit." You always had a camera on your phones though? Just because it's invisible doesn't mean you cannot locate it anymore you can still do. And companies never exploited cameras being visible at all times for the past 10 years.

Demongornot, 21 Jan 2021I love how you pull arguments out of nowhere. How do you k... more>K30 pro has under display camera
?????????

  • Anonymous

Ioannis, 06 Jan 202120.5:9 aspect ratio? This is a tv control not a phone, too ... moreSony: are u challenging me?

Socks, 21 Dec 2020Motorized cameras take up more space than under screen came... moreI love how you pull arguments out of nowhere.
How do you know the failure rate of underdisplay camera ?
How do you know that this basically different lower resolution display inside a regular display isn't prone to a lot of malfunctions ?
And where did you get that pop up camera had issues ?

Fun fact : There are more people saying that pop up are fragile, break easily, don't last, have wear issues, and all other myths about it, than the number of actual pop up broken.
Fun fact 2 : There are more IP rated smartphones that had damages or were killed by water than non IP rated smartphones with pop up, because the pop up push the user to be a minimum careful.
There is almost no report of pop up camera breaking, it is one of the most reliable and tough piece of hardware on a smartphone, but it has lost popularity because people keep saying all those myths about it, despite all of them having been proven totally wrong by reality.

Yes, it takes up more space, but what ?
The Mi 9T Pro and K30 Pro are two smartphones with the most features one can want, IR, 3.5mm Jack, underdisplay camera, decent battery, multiple camera, big cooling tech, etc, and still manage to be under 9mm, proof that it doesn't take that much space.

They will only use it because baseless myths made people fear the pop up camera and because the underdisplay camera is overhyped and overestimated, with the ZTE Axon 20 proving how bad the thing actually is, and also because it is another privacy threat that companies will love to exploit.
But certainly not because it is better for the consumer.

thelegend88, 09 Jan 2021Do not even try to buy a ZTE smartphone! People...spend you... moreUnfortunately, you are right

A device is not worth this value
The front camera is so bad that some programs say "clean the camera."
The user interface is very poor
Of course, unfortunately I bought it and regretted it
Bad tech support
I will never buy any device from this company

  • thelegend88

Do not even try to buy a ZTE smartphone! People...spend your money wisely buy any other smartphone manufacturer but not ZTE. They sell you a phone with good specs and bad software support, their software support is equal to 0, you recieve just copy paste answers if you ask them any questions. If you don't believe me go on z-community and see what they did with the AXON 10 PRO 5G. They are lie the people that they will update their smartphone for more than a year, they even made a video that they will update the 5G version in the q4 of the 2020 and no update came till now. Avoid this smartphone manufacurer at any cost you will have a lot of headache's with them. The 5G version users of the AXON 10 Pro are still waiting for the android 10 update now when the Android 11 is around for quite a while. Have a great year people and don't let companies like this to fool you.

  • Ioannis

20.5:9 aspect ratio? This is a tv control not a phone, too tall and very narrow

  • Anonymous

Main camera without OIS is a fail in my book. Instead of macro camera, add OIS to the main camera instead.

  • Anonymous

Nitesh, 29 Dec 2020Why everyone is making such large screens. Can we get 5.5 i... moreNo. Get with the program, large screen phones are the best

  • Popeye

Another phone ruined by the pathetic battery size to screen size ratio.

  • Anonymous

Nitesh, 29 Dec 2020Why everyone is making such large screens. Can we get 5.5 i... moreBecause we want big screens duh.

  • Nitesh

Why everyone is making such large screens. Can we get 5.5 inch or 6inch screens mobile range in 2021.

  • Anonymous

Good job ZTE for publicly releasing 1st gen underscreen Camera!!!!