Google Pixel 4 XL
MORE PICTURES

Google Pixel 4 XL

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • hassan

the white color is the best phone design
price is so high
screen to body ratio is poor
battery is below average

  • I'mPhone

Anonymous, 31 Dec 2019Let's talk buddy 2017 bezels: What happens when you put a cas... moreLet's talk buddy

iPhone 11 costs $100 less than the Pixel 4, maybe $200 compared to the 4 XL at launch.

Drawbacks include no fingerprint sensor, 818p LCD screen (only 60Hz), no telephoto camera (only 5x hybrid zoom), and only 2 antennas (subpar connectivity and GPS). But...

Face ID: definitely better than Google's face recognition, works flawlessly and very accurate.

Performance: ios is still more refined, Apple A13 chipset is still more capable all-around (maybe bested by Snapdragon 865). GPU is a beast, potentially still more powerful than Sd865).

Display: It's not that sharp, it leads to thicker bezels, and it's just 60Hz, but it has True Tone, and color accuracy is great. It also has no PWM flicker. Pixel's 90Hz display only works at a certain brightness, and it's poorly calibrated.

Build quality: iPhone is definitely stronger despite heavy. JerryRigEverything (Zack) has bent the Pixel 4 XL. Imagine if you put it in tight pants often, or accidentally sit or put pressure on the Pixel. The only weakness of the iPhone (all iPhones) are that fragile mute switch, which is a gimmick. Held the Pixel 3 and 3a before, and it is something to forget considering the price point.

Camera: Pixel 4 XL has telephoto, but Huawei P30 has done it better, and P30 has 30x (or 25, can't remember) hybrid zoom. P30 Pro has 50x. iPhone has only 5x, but video recording is peerless because of good OIS. Some Pixel 4 XL users seem to complain about purple tint in some cam shots (also according to Anandtech).

Design: There are many phones with bizzare design styles, so it's not a deal-breaker.

Again the price, unless you live in the US, the Pixel costs more than the iPhone. It is a tough sell in SE Asia countries, unfortunately.

OS: It is a personal preference, but ios is still more refined compared to even stock Android devices, though stock Android is already fast and efficient.

Battery: iPhone has a bigger battery and more efficient chipset. LCD screen may increase consumption by a margin, but the 11 Pro lasts longer, very long actually.

So iPhone 11 certainly is a better device, the Pixel 4 is not a good phone at all. Pixel 4 is only designed for Android purists but I wish Google steps up in terms of build quality and hardware.








  • Goxy

Expensive but average, if price is 300-400$ would think about it but like this.... Lol Google

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 31 Dec 2019Let's talk buddy 2017 bezels: What happens when you put a cas... moreThat sounds like the biggest shill-post ever.

When Google's competitors are working to increase screen real-estate, Google are still trailing behind. Some phones are almost all screen (Galaxy Note 10, OnePlus 7 Pro) while others use a discreet notch instead of the old forehead design. I admit that it's preferable to Google's take on the notch - the ugliest, most obtrusive version ever seen.

Unauthorized access to someone's phone if that person is sleeping is a major security flaw. And it's a hell of a lot easier to hold a phone in front of a sleeping person's face than it is to press their fingerprint on the phone. Of course, you already knew this before you made such a disingenuous retort.

Just because YOU don't care for the bundled earbuds etc., doesn't mean nobody else does. There's literally no reason to include these basic accessories, other than Google cutting corners.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 26 Dec 2019Stop trying to justify your poor buying decisions. 2017 bezel... moreLet's talk buddy

2017 bezels: What happens when you put a case on a phone that is almost all screen? It removes the advantage of having a full screen. The forehead on the Pixel 4 is imo better then a fucking notch.

No ultra-wide camera: So nobody cared about Ultrawide before this year. Why is it a big deal? Maybe 2% of the pics you'll take will be Ultrawide? LG had one but NOBODY CARED.

no 4K 60fps:. Ok So you actually record and watch a lot of videos in 4k 60fps? It's a nice to have but is nowhere near as important as a good solid UI.

no fingerprint scanner:. Indeed, it would of been nice to keep the one from the Pixel 3

unsafe face ID: Nooooo. If you have someone trying to open your phone at night while you sleeping, that same person could simply take your finger and open the phone with the fingerprint scanner. Btw, Samsung's fingerprint has been fooled by not a lot. This is a fucking false debate.

low brightness: None issue really. It does not get as bright as the Note 10 but is more then enough even in Daylight.

average battery life: Sooooo everyone posting about having approx 6h30 sot with 90hz forced is bad??? Go read actual persons using the phone... it's on par with the other good phones...maybe a tad less good.

gimmicky motion sense:. For swapping music, yep. For knowing when you are close to the phone, it is pretty freaking incredible. I've been really enjoying everything about it with the music stuff as the exception.

Earbuds and 3.5mm adapter are so small things that who cares. Maybe it's because I like listening to music in something that sounds at least decent but I've never used the earbuds that came with my phones.

What does the Pixel 4xl offers? A absolutely amazing smooth experience with incredible performance, incredible camera and more then ok battery. What else do you want?

  • lol

Pixel 4 XL - 90hz, 3700 mAh, best main camera on a phone, can be obtained on sale even for $600. Called crap.
OnePlus 7T - 90hz, 3800 mAh (bigger screen than the Pixel), cameras not so great, less opportunities for a good deal ($500-550). Called the God of smartphones.

  • Chris g

Bottom line it's a fantastic phone with many great features. Prices dropping and decent contract deals available now. Only con is battery life. If that's important to you don't buy it. For me it's not a major issue as have charging access most days.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 25 Dec 2019Agreed. So much bellyaching over frivolous stuff. I NEED some b... moreStop trying to justify your poor buying decisions.

2017 bezels. No ultra-wide camera, no 4K 60fps, no fingerprint scanner, unsafe face ID, low brightness, average battery life, gimmicky motion sense, no earbuds or 3.5mm adapter boxed.

There aren't BAD phones but they are ridiculously overpriced. Google thinks it copy Apple and charge Apple prices when their hardware and software are still trailing behind.

  • Anonymous

arfyness, 29 Nov 2019Why is everyone so desperately afflicted with this obsession of ... moreAgreed. So much bellyaching over frivolous stuff. I NEED some bezel or my hand is triggering something along the edges. Especially trying to one hand type and reaching with my thumb but hitting backspace/enter.

Others may have a great camera but ... 6-8 months behind in security??? Come on.

How many thieves actually stop their act and walk up to you and point the lit up face to your face to unlock it and run off?? Seriously, it doesn't work that way, they are grab and dash people. If their afraid of something waking you, they aren't going to do it. Watch some of those documentaries. Better yet, get a dog who are bred for writing you, like schnauzers. You don't need no meaty type dogs, you just need one with a strong piercing bark at strangers. Room secured.

What else have I read here... General whining ... Not released in certain regions .... So??? Move on.

I dunno if it's general whining or plain ignorance and stupidity by this point. ...

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 10 Dec 2019I think google team was drunk while designing this ugly phoneI know we all have our opinion if this is an ugly phone or not. Personally I quite like it. The matte rails and soft touch back feel and look really nice and I like the top bezel, obviously it looks better when it’s full screen but then you sacrifice things like a worse speaker because it’s crammed in a top slit or having a notch in the display or losing waterproofing for a pop up. I’d much rather have a bezel above the screen than a notch cut into it. Also that panda, stormtrooper look is really nice, especially in person

  • juspassingby

I've been using the 4XL for about a month now. Unlocked with no carrier or other unnecessary bloat. I absolutely love the speed and smoothness. It has plenty of unique features such as live caption, call screening etc. Camera is quite nice, could use some manual control though. I've had no problems whatsoever. Battery lasts plenty long. Get's me far more than through the day. Plus it charges quite fast. There are other phones that last longer, but seriously the whole thing is overblown. Came from Iphones and Samsungs. I am now a PIxel fan for life.

  • Anonymous

It's funny how Google used to mock Apple, now they just shamelessly copy them.

Using it for 2 months now. Switched from P30 pro.
Delightfully awesome :)
Awesome camera display UI, decent battery.

  • Info

It's not the worst phone, it's okay. If you're looking for the best phones oppo, Samsung and Huawei are there. Iphone isn't really for everyone and it's not so easy to use especially if you're a new user. I still think the best smartphone camera is in the Huawei p30 pro for photos. Especially because of the night cam. S10+ is great but it also over saturates pictures to make them look pleasing to the eye. And there's no zoom on a phone as good as that of Huawei p30 pro. Huawei mate 30 pro still remains the best video recording phone ever with 4k at 60fps, and 720p at over 7000fps. That's mad! No other phone comes even close to that. The best competition could offer is 720p at 240fps. And the battery life on Huawei is awesome. Can last 2.5 days off one charge for normal users

  • Trk

Jorey, 13 Dec 2019Better than having a notch, punch hole, popup cameraAbsolutely!! The real world usage is far better than YouTube reviews. Better than a big hideous notch, pop ups.

  • Jorey

Anonymous, 10 Dec 2019I think google team was drunk while designing this ugly phoneBetter than having a notch, punch hole, popup camera

Anonymous, 10 Dec 2019I think google team was drunk while designing this ugly phoneProbably you're drunk while writing? 😅

  • Anonymous

I think google team was drunk while designing this ugly phone

  • jr

X, 04 Dec 2019No 2160 60 fps No 240, 960 fps No card slot No 3.5 mm jack N... moreAgreed. Don't forget to mention how easily this phone snaps. It is a very weak device. Pathetic.

  • Anish De

X, 04 Dec 2019No 2160 60 fps No 240, 960 fps No card slot No 3.5 mm jack N... moreYou are right. That is very true