Google Pixel 5a 5G
MORE PICTURES

Google Pixel 5a 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

This the most perfect phone in 2021 so far (for me). And very happy to see that aluminum body is back in the game.

  • Anonymous

It's finally great to see a Pixel with a headphone jack and IP rating. If Google can expand this combination feature to the flagship models as well, that would be a solid buy. But at $449, it cost the same as the Samsung Galaxy A72 4G and also the Samsung Galaxy A52 5G in my country. Being a Pixel phone, it does have the advantage of being the first in line to get the very latest OS version update. However, those Samsung phones do have a more solid feature. While the A72 4G has a lower 90Hz screen refresh rate than the A52 5G's 120Hz, the A72 4G does have a 3x zoom telephoto camera. Plus, they both have microSD card support. The Pixel, by contrast, only has a 60Hz screen refresh rate and no microSD card support. So really, it's either you care about hardware features or you care about timely updates.

  • Anonymous

ElioX, 18 Sep 2021Hahahah you are so funny. Some people just can't get t... moreIt is definitely you who can't get the truth. If you really claim that you can, you won't be making such corny idiotic comments.

  • Anonymous

ElioX, 17 Sep 2021MicroSD is a slow storage. It can be as slow as 5MB/sec eve... moreThis has to be the crappiest joke I ever heard in my life. 5MB/sec? What kind of China copy SD card are you using? I can still manage to get more than 100MB/sec from my two-year-old SD card. UFS may have a four-digit speed, but it has to be that fast because that is where the mobile OS is installed and it works 24-7-365. You don't install the mobile OS on the SD card, that's for sure. Oh yes, there's also a worthy bonus for an SD card: the ability to format and use it as internal storage. Sure that some phones have USB OTG, but it can't be used for such function. After all, USB OTG is there for other wired peripherals like wired keyboards and mice.

So really, don't ever think that the SD card is outdated or irrelevant. If anything, people want it even more. Even a friend of mine recently traded his S21 Ultra 5G for an Xperia 5 Mk3 and never looked back. The reason for the trade? No SD card and also the headphone jack in the S21 Ultra. There are people out there who aren't as ignorant as you.

  • Anonymous

When it will launch in India?

ElioX, 17 Sep 2021MicroSD is a slow storage. It can be as slow as 5MB/sec eve... moreWTF? !!! I can record 8k video whit my LGv60 on lastest generation sd card.

Mark Mark, 15 Sep 2021ElioX is just a Google shill, he posts all day on these for... moreHahahah you are so funny. Some people just can't get the truth to their face. I am sure you are also protesting Google for removing 3.5 MM JACK 🤣🤣🤣

Anonymous, 17 Sep 2021This has a headphone jack, do your research and no microsd ... moreMicroSD is a slow storage. It can be as slow as 5MB/sec even though UFS is 2100MB/sec. And when you retrieve a file from microSD, you think that phone is lagging. But actually it is microSD lag. And to prevent this, manufacturers stop putting microSD storage. Because you cannot make people not use slow sd and when they do, you cannot stop them saying that phone "lags".

There is obviously another point - to make people use cloud storage. And doesn't matter which one. Paid is secure and free ones can be monitored for ads.

  • Anonymous

ElioX, 15 Sep 2021If the move is stupid, we dont act on it. E.g. pixel 4 was ... moreThese people just don't understand, pixel a series is what a normal phone is, it runs great, takes great pics, has good battery life, good experience overall. Price is low so you don't get super cool features, you don't need them though. If you wanted them you would get a premium phone with a premium price tag, that's it

  • Anonymous

AverageIndianUser, 15 Sep 2021there exists a thing called SD card slot, and its not redun... moreThis has a headphone jack, do your research and no microsd is bad yes but Google usually gives free unlimited cloud storage for their phones, idk about this one for sure

  • Anonymous

Dear GSMArena, are you absolutely sure the thickness of this phone is 7.6mm?!
Cause on Google store the mention it as 8.8 mm

  • Mark Mark

AverageIndianUser, 15 Sep 2021there exists a thing called SD card slot, and its not redun... moreElioX is just a Google shill, he posts all day on these forums defending his beloved employer.

ElioX, 15 Sep 2021Do you know the meaning of "redundant"? Google it... morethere exists a thing called SD card slot, and its not redundant by any means!
google isnt doing any favour to anyone, pretty much any OEM has similar phones at an even lower price out there and with mostly better specs.
remove headphone jack, removing sd card, selling earbuds, selling cloud storage, what is this? what is the real need for google to do it?
every average guy needs the jack and slot. seems like you are one of those premium users who can afford lossless wireless music and cloud storage, good for you!

  • Anonymous

Google devices are really good value for the price. It's the kind of phone that someone will buy to have a reliable experience without having to change phones every 2 years. It is meant to be straightforward not flashy. A lot of features from flagships are usually not utilized by a regular consumer.

I would say this phone is really perfect for someone like who just wants a phone that will not break the bank and will still be capable of running around 3-5years. I'll buy this phone if it's available in my country.

AverageIndianUser, 13 Sep 2021its not about me adjusting my preferences.... its about del... moreDo you know the meaning of "redundant"? Google it ;)

They could add 512GB storage, but if you know about technology, then you know that the prices for the storage do not add up as you think. The price increase from 16-32, 32-64, 64-128 is less than double, but after 128, the price increases geometrically. When you reach 1TB, it is already 3 times expensive than 512, and 8TB is about 6-7 times more expensive than 4TB.

I don't know where you make up your "minimal storage" idea, but this is an A SERIES DEVICE dammit. They deliver whatever has high performance-to-cost ratio in the device. As I said, this is NOT meant to be a device running against S22 or Note 89 or Apple 15 XXXL Max Premium Mega Out-of-the-World Jesus Christ devices; so this is the best an ACTUAL average user needs. You probably are a user who wants to have S22/Apple 13 contents in a 100$ device.

AverageIndianUser, 14 Sep 2021based on my time here at gsmarena it seems that pixel phone... moreIf the move is stupid, we dont act on it. E.g. pixel 4 was not a good move with soli sensors. Pixel 5 was a very good move, which got rid of USELESS premium chipset - that consumes more battery and heats phone too fast. Pixel 3a-4a-4a 5g-5a are VERY GOOD MOVES. As a 3a XL owner I must say I still cannot update my phone to another device because how good it is. It just CLICKS. It has EVERYTHING an ACTUAL "average user" needs:
- Midrange SOC *tick
- Big OLED screen *tick
- NO BLOATWARE *tick
- OPEN SOURCE FIRMWARE *tick
- One of the BEST cameras *tick
- 3700mAh battery (that is ACTUAL all-day battery) *tick
- A simple look with NO water-drop/rotating camera/flipping screen/

This is what an ACTUAL "average user" needed back in 2019 and Google delivered it. And by each increment, it improves upon it. With 4a, they brought the overall size down while increasing display, battery, RAM, CPU and storage of 3a. With 4a 5g, they brought overall size down, while increasing display, battery, RAM, CPU, storage and added a UWA camera. With 5a, they added the one missing puzzle of awesome phone - IP rating, whilst increasing display and battery(!!!) as well as introducing aluminum protection versus plastic.

If you don't call this improvement, then you can continue using "same device every year where only a placement of one of the cameras is moved" as a apple-fanboy, and don't even get me started on that closed-source-hell-knows-what-happens-in-the-background Chinese phones.

based on my time here at gsmarena it seems that pixel phones have got some very strong loyal and somewhat blind fan following who would endlessly defend every move of google. ive not seen this much defending even by sony fans! sad that pixel phones are actually not worth it.

ElioX, 12 Sep 2021I sincerely think that users who write "bad comments&q... moreLol! It's that or just people these days live to complain about everything and to spread hate because their lives are empty and meaningless

pirabishio, 13 Sep 2021I'm considering buying this phone. Would this phone be... moreI think that this phone suits your needs as a daily driver. Good battery, good screen and decent soc. It won't give you a premium feeling or experience but it doesn't mean it's a bad phone

AverageIndianUser, 13 Sep 2021its not about me adjusting my preferences.... its about del... moreThis phone is neither that big nor heavy. And size or weight have nothing to do with storage