Google Pixel 5a 5G
MORE PICTURES

Google Pixel 5a 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

AverageIndianUser, 14 Sep 2021based on my time here at gsmarena it seems that pixel phone... moreIf the move is stupid, we dont act on it. E.g. pixel 4 was not a good move with soli sensors. Pixel 5 was a very good move, which got rid of USELESS premium chipset - that consumes more battery and heats phone too fast. Pixel 3a-4a-4a 5g-5a are VERY GOOD MOVES. As a 3a XL owner I must say I still cannot update my phone to another device because how good it is. It just CLICKS. It has EVERYTHING an ACTUAL "average user" needs:
- Midrange SOC *tick
- Big OLED screen *tick
- NO BLOATWARE *tick
- OPEN SOURCE FIRMWARE *tick
- One of the BEST cameras *tick
- 3700mAh battery (that is ACTUAL all-day battery) *tick
- A simple look with NO water-drop/rotating camera/flipping screen/

This is what an ACTUAL "average user" needed back in 2019 and Google delivered it. And by each increment, it improves upon it. With 4a, they brought the overall size down while increasing display, battery, RAM, CPU and storage of 3a. With 4a 5g, they brought overall size down, while increasing display, battery, RAM, CPU, storage and added a UWA camera. With 5a, they added the one missing puzzle of awesome phone - IP rating, whilst increasing display and battery(!!!) as well as introducing aluminum protection versus plastic.

If you don't call this improvement, then you can continue using "same device every year where only a placement of one of the cameras is moved" as a apple-fanboy, and don't even get me started on that closed-source-hell-knows-what-happens-in-the-background Chinese phones.

based on my time here at gsmarena it seems that pixel phones have got some very strong loyal and somewhat blind fan following who would endlessly defend every move of google. ive not seen this much defending even by sony fans! sad that pixel phones are actually not worth it.

ElioX, 12 Sep 2021I sincerely think that users who write "bad comments&q... moreLol! It's that or just people these days live to complain about everything and to spread hate because their lives are empty and meaningless

pirabishio, 13 Sep 2021I'm considering buying this phone. Would this phone be... moreI think that this phone suits your needs as a daily driver. Good battery, good screen and decent soc. It won't give you a premium feeling or experience but it doesn't mean it's a bad phone

AverageIndianUser, 13 Sep 2021its not about me adjusting my preferences.... its about del... moreThis phone is neither that big nor heavy. And size or weight have nothing to do with storage

  • pirabishio

I'm considering buying this phone. Would this phone be an upgrade from my 2.5yo regular P30? I'm not an enthusiast, I mostly use my phone for social media, web browsing, and a couple of pictures. I'm excited to try stock android, but I'm dissapointed on no facial recognition and no onscreen fingerprint sensor -- are these dealbreakers? I think my phone will soon be a brick with Android 10.

ElioX, 10 Sep 2021That storage is more than enough for normal usage. And at t... moreits not about me adjusting my preferences.... its about deliberately keep the storage minimal in a phone this heavy and big. if they wanted to they would.

Anonymous, 11 Sep 2021Like every phone has 1080p besides a few flagships, this is... moreI sincerely think that users who write "bad comments" here are REALLY willing to buy the device.
But since they know that it is not available in that much number, they want to make other people NOT buy the phone so that there is enough left for them.
Just my 2cents :D

PhoneAddict, 11 Sep 2021My storage of my current phone is at 90gb filled from 128gb... moreIt depends on with what you fill it. All my photos and videos stored in Google photos in my 2 year old 3a XL with 64GB storage (54GB user-accessible) I still have 12GB space available.

If you fill it with movies and music that you downloaded or play 10-20 heavy games that have obb files of 2-3GB or just store files that you do not need and never do a clean-up in your device, even 512GB storage can be filled.

So that ends in whether you are of a user group that "wants more and more" or you are compliant user who can make things work. As I said, it is quite EASY to fill ANY storage I get on my phone. But the thing is whether you ACTUALLY need to store that much files in your phone or you rather should use a cloud storage that can be accessible everywhere through the net.

Cambodia , 11 Sep 2021With SD 765g + Full HD + Gorilla Glass 3 ! Say no +3.5mm jack
+IP67
+not a chinese phone with "who knows what contains" closed source firmware
+6.34" OLED screen
+rear FPS (faster than in-screen and more convenient/secure than side-mount)
+4680mAh 2-day battery life
+sd765g does not deplete battery as fast as sd888 or sd898
+three cameras with GOOGLE software
+UFS 2.1 storage (most midrange still use emmc which is SLOWER)
+type c 3.1 connection (most midrange still use type c 2.0 which is SLOWER)

Considering these, I find your comment funny :D

  • Anonymous

Cambodia , 11 Sep 2021With SD 765g + Full HD + Gorilla Glass 3 ! Say no Like every phone has 1080p besides a few flagships, this is a budget phone, are you alright in the head?

  • PhoneAddict

My storage of my current phone is at 90gb filled from 128gb after owning it a little less then 3 years.. So a bigger storage option is key..

  • Cambodia

With SD 765g + Full HD + Gorilla Glass 3 ! Say no

ElioX, 09 Sep 2021Well then you can take your preference and not post in this... moreWell said! It's a shame that they eliminated the possibility to vote in these forums. Your post deserves a lot of up votes

AverageIndianUser, 10 Sep 2021something as simple as a dedicated SD Card slot could have ... moreThat storage is more than enough for normal usage. And at the worst you can purchase an sd card and transfer files from/to using an adapter.

I have been using my 3a XL with 64GB daily for 2 years and only 2-3 times I needed to backup old files to drive to save space. 128 would be more than enough for normal usage.

If you are an enthusiast though, this device is definitely not for you. Please wait for pixel 6/pro. This device is for everyday tasks and for standard usage - not heavy gamers and not vidographers 😊

Anonymous, 09 Sep 2021Depends on what you want. If you want a phone for gaming be... morePoco has a good custom android development (because of its price and performance) but once you go custom ROM and lose safetynet (these days it is more often than before) you cannot use your device for stuff requiring safety measures like banking and etc.

I owned poco x3 nfc for short time, and though it was snappy, you need to love the UI to use it, which wasn't really my favorite :(

something as simple as a dedicated SD Card slot could have made buying this phone more logical. 128 gb storage is a scam!

  • Anonymous

Devil Himself, 09 Sep 2021Tomorow or Monday at latest I am purchasing Xiaomi Poco X3 ... moreDepends on what you want. If you want a phone for gaming being able to get by everyday tasks, go for the Poco. If you're just a minimalist user looking for a phone that can get by day to day tasks (social media, listening to songs etc) and a good camera then go for the Pixel.

I have experiences with Pocophones (Poco X3) and Pixels, and they're both a good option

  • Samih

Devil Himself, 09 Sep 2021Tomorow or Monday at latest I am purchasing Xiaomi Poco X3 ... moreFor me the biggest would be software differences. Depends what you prefer but definitely look into the software.

  • Infidel

Devil Himself, 09 Sep 2021Tomorow or Monday at latest I am purchasing Xiaomi Poco X3 ... moreNo, it doesn’t. 3 years of software updates do. Your Poco or whatever will end up being a brick in one year.