Google Pixel 5a 5G
MORE PICTURES

Google Pixel 5a 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

$450 with SD 765G, GG3? this phone must have at least SD 778G and GG6 and i know they won't give victus.

  • mattlach

AverageIndianUser, 29 Aug 2021i dont think 128 gb storage is enough at all. i have 400gb+... moreHonestly, Pixel Devices are the only phones I am even considering these days.

They get security patches before almost every other official ROM, and that's really what matters above all else. Performance is middling, but hey, this is not a gaming desktop PC or professional workstation. It is a phone. Performance really doesn't really matter much in a phone, as long as the interface is responsive, and your email and web apps run.

I don't know what y'all are doing with your phones that requires such ridiculous amounts of storage and transfer speeds. I've had a 128GB phone now for 2+ years, and I've come nowhere even close to filling it. My phone gets used for basic web/email when I have to be on the go. Anything heavier than that I prefer to do on a proper desktop PC, as it is a much better user experience than even the most expensive high end phone on the market.

I don't really care much about the camera (I have an SLR if I want to take fancy pictures, and pretty much any cellphone camera is sufficient to take a spur of the moment hipster shot of my plate of food if I should be overcome by that silly desire). Same with 5G bandwidth. For email/Web anything 10-15Mbit/s is more than sufficient. I don't need 5G. Only reason I'm buying a 5G phone is to be future proof as far as coverage goes, as 5G transmitters on towers start outnumbering LTE transmitters in the next few years.

It really comes back to the fact that no one buys a Pixel phone for the hardware (except maybe the fancy GSM/CDMA switching tech if you happen to be on Google Fi, and who knows how long that will even be needed after the T-Mobile/Sprint merger. I'd imagine they will eventually phase out CDMA). You buy it for the best in class software and security updates.

  • Anonymous

Ridiculous outdated phone, forget it

AverageIndianUser, 29 Aug 2021i dont think 128 gb storage is enough at all. i have 400gb+... moreYou are free to choose. I don't think you are forced to try any device. I for one would never go to sony phones knowing their android update history. But you seem to be expert in android. So I will leave it to you

AverageIndianUser, 29 Aug 2021its a waste phone. you can defend as much as you want. idcGreat to know. You made your point which is you don't understand about android/linux or even the history of pixel devices that you judge. You are now free to leave this device's comments page. See you anywhere else

ElioX, 29 Aug 20211. Headphone was removed WAAAY BEFORE pixel 5. 2. Storage ... moreits a waste phone. you can defend as much as you want. idc

i dont think 128 gb storage is enough at all. i have 400gb+ storage currently on my HTC one x9 and its still not enough. yeah you maybe linux expert or whatever but at this price point its just not enough compared to others. why would anyone buy this when xperia 10 iii already exists with some really better features at same price point.

Dmitriy, 29 Aug 2021I'm with you on that, but there are no many alternativ... moreAgree. The problem is that sd can never be as fast as ufs/emmc. If any data is being pulled out, sdcard data will be much slower than ufs/emmc - which looks like phone is slowing down. By cutting out the sdcard, it is possible to get rid of that phenomenon

Bodygard, 28 Aug 2021"If you bother to go to the TV to change the channel a... moreIt is all personal. I really don't like pressing on screen to turn on device. Also the light that comes out is too much especially in nights. Side mount also is weird. It is not as intuitional as is back side. So, it is all personal. I think backside panel is much better than front or side mounts

  • Dmitriy

androiddiordna, 28 Aug 2021yup, if no sd card slot, i'm not buying. even hybrid w... moreI'm with you on that, but there are no many alternatives out there. Most good phones going away from SD cards this days ..

AverageIndianUser, 28 Aug 2021first google tried to intentionally remove headphone jack o... more1. Headphone was removed WAAAY BEFORE pixel 5.
2. Storage of older a devices was 64 (i own 3a xl) and it os very much enough for everything.
3. You definitely don't understand how linux works, or you would know that even 4 or 6 is enough

I would advise you to research before posting so that you don't seem as "..." as it looks now. Currently total waste was reading your post and replying to it

When will there be a review of this phone? Phones received 2-3 days ago already have reviews but you said this phone reached your office more than a week ago. Please do review this device. We care about your ideas and results.

  • Anonymous

It's a pitty this phone has no 90hz refresh rate. Also the option for 256gb of storage should have been there. And I do miss a zoom lens. Too bad this could have been my new phone.

I really wish it had a 90hz refresh rate and an upgrade on the front cam because its still 1080p@30fps, There isn't an gyro-eis with 1080p@60fps/30fps.

  • Me

I am a huge fan of pixle phone ,when will be it launch in india ,i will definitely but it,3.5 mm jack oled display and 3 years update, now it have android 11,12,13,14.google photos unlimited storage, please tell which company provide in just 33000 rupees.wow...

AverageIndianUser, 28 Aug 2021first google tried to intentionally remove headphone jack o... moreyup, if no sd card slot, i'm not buying. even hybrid wouldve been mice but nope, damnsung and google trying to push use cloud based shit. and being on google fi with 100gb cloud storage you are limited to 20GB data cap smh on their plan.

Silks, 27 Aug 2021If lifting the phone bothers you, maybe you need the extra ... more"If you bother to go to the TV to change the channel and access the menu etc maybe you need some exercise too". What a mentality man...with that kind of thinking, we would have no progress.
Fingerprint in the back is awkward and no easy of use. The should be on the side or in the front easily accessible. You don't always pick your phone to use it.

first google tried to intentionally remove headphone jack on pixel 5 to sell their wirless audio but i think it failed. also intentionally now trying to limit storage by giving mere 128 gb and no sd card support to push their cloud storage agenda. and at this price point ram should atleast be 8 gb man! hardware wise its a totally waste phone to buy.

Does anyone know if there's any black crush on the 5a screen? The 5 was gorgeous in low light, Google had solved that issue on the 5 I'm wondering if that will continue. Looking at the 5a but this is a worry having seen previous Pixels

  • Silks

yannis, 25 Aug 2021No sir. The best is side mounted. You don't have to li... moreIf lifting the phone bothers you, maybe you need the extra exercise anyway.