HTC One V
MORE PICTURES

HTC One V

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Ok Boomer

Himanshu baladia, 17 Dec 2018I bought this phone in june 2012 , this was my first android pho... moreThe HTC One V is a smartphone designed and manufactured by HTC as part of the HTC One series which runs Android 4.0.3 with an HTC Sense 4.0 overlay. This phone is constructed from an aluminum unibody.[1] Its design resembles the HTC Legend released in 2010. It features a 5-megapixel camera, 3.7-inch touchscreen (480×800 resolution), 512 MB RAM, a 1 GHz processor, and Beats audio. Officially announced by HTC on 26 February 2012, the HTC One V was released on 26 April 2012 in the UK.[2]

In December 2012, HTC announced that the One V would not get an upgrade to Android 4.1.[3] Still, in early 2013, independent ROM developers produced several ports of Android 4.1 and Android 4.2 Jelly Bean for the HTC One V, including Shpongle-Evervolv[4] and Paranoid Android.[5]


Contents
1 Camera
2 Reception
3 Availability
4 References
5 External links
Camera
The 5 megapixel camera has an aperture of f2.0, a 28 mm lens with a BSI sensor. The camera is capable of autofocus and includes a LED flash, as well as video recording in 720p. Images taken by the camera are processed by HTC's ImageChip, and includes ImageSense, a set of software tools that add functionality to the camera. This added functionality includes the ability to take HDR photos, improves performance in low-light situations, and allows the shooting of slow-motion video.[6]

The One V does not feature a front-mounted camera.[7]

Reception
The HTC One V has received relatively positive reviews from various prominent technology sites. Jamie Keene from The Verge praised the One V's design and durability, but was let down by the low-end specifications. Overall, the smartphone received a fairly positive score of 7.1 out of 10.[8] Mat Smith from Engadget shared similar opinions, but his main criticism was given to the phone's lower-end Qualcomm processor. Nevertheless, he lauded the rest of the device citing it as an inexpensive phone that could handle almost all day to day tasks.[9]

Availability
The HTC One V launched in India on 9 April 2012 with ₹19,999 (US$290) as the suggested retail price.[10] From 10 May it is available for ₹16,800 (US$240) in some online shops.

In Canada, the device is available on Bell Mobility, Telus Mobility, Virgin Mobile and Koodo Mobile.[11]

In the United States, Virgin Mobile USA sells a CDMA variant of this device for $150 contract-free.[12] U.S. Cellular also sells a CDMA version which is available for $129 upon signing a contract.[13] On 5 September 2012, Cricket Wireless MVNO RadioShack No Contract Wireless service began selling the One V, Cricket itself also began selling it a couple of weeks later. Cricket's and RadioShack's One V are both compatible with the Muve Music service.

In Australia, the device is available on the Optus network.[14]

In the United States, GSM versions with custom "Ninja Networks" logos and OS were given out for use as a ticket to the "Ninja Party" with the NinjaTel Van during DEF CON 20 in July 2012.

  • Nasiruddeen

please do something to make compass work on HTC one v

This phone is not deserving of the "One" brand!!! >:(

  • Himanshu baladia

I bought this phone in june 2012 , this was my first android phone & i used whatsapp for the very first time . The shopkeeper mislead me at the time of purchase , he said that the phone memory is 4gb , but when i start using the phone i found less than a gb was available for use. I was not so knowledgeful at that time . I bought it for around 17000 rs. Phone userinterface was very charming at that time especially the weather app

  • Anonymous

Beats audio is the best of best of all audio I am still listening in 2018 with beats head phone jack no one can beat beats bill gates purchased patent for 300 crore dollar

  • Htc

It still working with some bug in the software.
Ram is just to low after update.
One thing 720p playback is something on this devices
Really that 3.7 inch display is killing clear from every angle
I love this phone songs on my phone which is not alot if you are going for a good phone that will last forever this aint for you, also the glass/screen on it is very VERY VERY brittle and breakable then again it is an older phone and the wifi on it decides not to work without the back piece a good way to fix this problem is take a piece of aluminum foil and some tape and just take the 2 receptors and put the foil across them both and then tape them together on the back and boom wifi without the back of the phone and cases are hard to find i get you can find them online but it isnt really that good of cases as i said up above the wifi stops working after awhile with this *DISCLAIMER* if you put the aluminum foil on the back to connect the 2 receptors you will slowly kill your phone and it will over heat but i couldn't find a new back piece online so i just You need to see what's running in the background on it. I've had mine for years, and it's a treat.
I actually don't use mine as a phone, either, I got mine as a pre-paid phone and never activated it. I really only wanted to use it on WiFi and as a toy.
I mainly use it for the GPS, camera (of all things), media player, alarm clock, and some games. But lots of things try to stay running in the background if you don't squash them.
Like any internet music app, any IM app, and any Google stuff - but you can control that with some power management apps and Airplane Mode.
It's not a super-machine, but mine is stable, dependable, and used daily - for years. And strangely, the camera beats all my other devices (3 other Android devices - two newer tablets, and one "phone" - also never activated).
My only complaints are that I can't see the screen very well now-a-days, and 512MB of RAM doesn't go very far. Still, for what I use it for, it's the rock.and good for backup phone
enough for normal use

  • dd

had this phone when i was 14 . seemed great back then but now cant belive i had such a crappy phone.

  • Makkuda

One of the WORST decision I ever took.YES, buying this BULL sHit phone @19.5k was that decision.

512 MB ram was the 1st piece of shit.available free memory is always below 100 MB.operating system consumes 300mb.

  • USD

am enjoying this phone but now am having alot of lacuna's with it, due to its senssor

  • Demmy

My HTC ONE V is having network problem, when i insert the sim is not always having network what will i do?

  • rohan

good phn not the best but better

  • ayush

It still working with some bug in the software.
Ram is just to low after update.
One thing 720p playback is something on this devices
Really that 3.7 inch display is killing clear from every angle
I love this phone
Just make remastered version of this phone plz.

  • Anonymous

please my HTC v6 fell on the floor and the touch is not functioning well what can I do?

  • icee

#dope phone for it's price with badass curve, but unstable network.

  • Nene

i have lost the back where you put your sim and memory card so its affects the network

  • Jake

I own this phone and i have it unserviced but it is not a very good phone it works for some games but it lacks in alot of things the speak isnt very loud but calls come in nice the micro sd card stops working after awhile and you can only hold up to 90 mb of music on it which is only around 20 songs on my phone which is not alot if you are going for a good phone that will last forever this aint for you, also the glass/screen on it is very VERY VERY brittle and breakable then again it is an older phone and the wifi on it decides not to work without the back piece a good way to fix this problem is take a piece of aluminum foil and some tape and just take the 2 receptors and put the foil across them both and then tape them together on the back and boom wifi without the back of the phone and cases are hard to find i get you can find them online but it isnt really that good of cases as i said up above the wifi stops working after awhile with this *DISCLAIMER* if you put the aluminum foil on the back to connect the 2 receptors you will slowly kill your phone and it will over heat but i couldn't find a new back piece online so i just did this and it has slowly killed my phone but it works. and now trying to find a back piece after doing it isnt worth it,

  • HTC

hanging problems. calling getting difficult. good camera. many useful preinstalled apps. beats audio super

  • mukesh kumar

Ayo, 19 Mar 2016Bad in battery life span but good in internet browsing Hanging problem

  • Ayo

Bad in battery life span but good in internet browsing

  • Nick Name

Len, 20 Jan 2016Had it for 3 years. Battery life sucks big time. I seldom use i... moreYou need to see what's running in the background on it. I've had mine for years, and it's a treat.
I actually don't use mine as a phone, either, I got mine as a pre-paid phone and never activated it. I really only wanted to use it on WiFi and as a toy.
I mainly use it for the GPS, camera (of all things), media player, alarm clock, and some games. But lots of things try to stay running in the background if you don't squash them.
Like any internet music app, any IM app, and any Google stuff - but you can control that with some power management apps and Airplane Mode.
It's not a super-machine, but mine is stable, dependable, and used daily - for years. And strangely, the camera beats all my other devices (3 other Android devices - two newer tablets, and one "phone" - also never activated).
My only complaints are that I can't see the screen very well now-a-days, and 512MB of RAM doesn't go very far. Still, for what I use it for, it's the rock.