Huawei Mate 20
MORE PICTURES

Huawei Mate 20

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

Guys recently I just updated to Emui 10 running on Android 10. It's definitely cleaner and looks better than Emui 9. However I encountered a problem. Previously I would get like 3+ GB of available ram. Now it's down to 2+ GB ram after optimisation. Any ideas?

Nagy Erik, 18 Nov 2019Guys, which phone has better sound, Mate 20 or Mate 20 pro?Mate 20

Guys, which phone has better sound, Mate 20 or Mate 20 pro?

Anonymous, 17 Nov 2019Is it still a good option in the end of 2019?Sure its a good choice in 2019 it has a great battery, camera no lagging at all also it comes with android 9 so it will receive 2 major updates 10 & 11
Go ahead also its a flag ship

Anonymous, 17 Nov 2019Is it still a good option in the end of 2019?I think so and it is better than many recent flagships with higher costs and all midrange phones with same price tag.

  • Anonymous

Is it still a good option in the end of 2019?

  • 'JohnnyTest

Anonymous, 16 Nov 2019Is there a notification LED light?Yes. In the notch.

  • Anonymous

Mate 20 or P20 Pro??

  • Anonymous

Is there a notification LED light?

Just reveived the android 10 update notification
Anyone tried it yet?

Software update 10.0.0.154 --- 15.11.2019 :) in Bulgaria / East Europe

  • Rooney

ChampionX, 30 Oct 2019currently owning mate 20 & mi 9t pro, I recommend mi 9t pro,... moreI have both Mi 9T Pro and Mate 20. Both of them are not comparable. Mi 9T Pro is a midrange and Mate 20 is flagship. Mi 9T Pro is half a price of Mate 20. Nothing in Mi 9T Pro can be compared to Mate 20. Don't give a crap that Mi 9T Pro is better. You probably don't even have Mate 20.

Ghee8732, 22 Oct 2019How is the GPS for mate 20?The GPS is godlike on the Huawei Mate 20 series altogether.
If you check "Notebookcheck", they clearly say at the Mate 20 Pro review. And if you check the Mate 20 review, you can see the sky high signal bars.

Actually I spent more time on this subject (GPS signal strength in mobile phones) than I would like. My findings? GPS signal in Snapdragon chipsets (845, 855, 670, 675) are usually bad, weak, not-so-great. Like OnePlus 6T and 7 Pro both has horrendous signal strength. Pixel 3a XL, Galaxy A70 - "not that great" (barely touches yellow signal color).

Meanwhile, the Mate 10 Pro I had and the Mate 20 both have superb signal strength. So Huawei's chipset is great in this area. Another champion is Exynos. At least it was, since Samsung cancelled their custom chip development. But up until the S10/S10+/Note10, they all have superb GPS signal (Exynos models).

MediaTek (such as G90T, Helio) - is a good question. I ordered an Umidigi F2 to test, but have not received it yet. I guess at some point I will come up with a more scientific testing method and publish my findings. Hopefully that will force the Snapdragon team to come up with a proper GPS solution because frankly, the signal on ALL SD855 phones is just..garbage.

Check Notebookcheck reviews and Google for Mi 9, Mi 9T Pro, ROG Phone 2, Black Shark, OnePlus 7 Pro, and so on. All of them have just crap GPS signal strength. Some of these (SD855) phones even have dual band. But what good does that do if you have no signal strength? You just have tons of GPS satellites without a solid connection.

And now we get to the "but then what should I buy?"
Depends. With SD phones, like Xiaomi, you can unlock the phone, flash it, root it. The phone lasts longer so to say as you can always mess with software. So they last longer. But if you require precision on your GPS for example, it's not a bad idea to look elsewhere. I mean honestly, if you get an Android 10 update (which this phone got), how long can you use your phone? 3-5 more years? Some people use Android L even today and it works just fine.

So yea.. it's what it is. Hope that helped.

  • Me

derp , 30 Oct 2019mi 9s battery is barely average, mate 20 is way above in terms o... moreNot a fair comparison. Look at the battery size (determines phone weight) and compare it against battery endurance (it's what truly matters). Bigger battery doesn't mean great battery endurance

Rottenboyfriend, 01 Nov 2019Would you prefer Mate 20 or Samsung S9 plus (europe)?The only better thing on S9 are display. Others, Mate 20.

Would you prefer Mate 20 or Samsung S9 plus (europe)?

  • derp

Arkiaali, 28 Oct 2019Should I buy the mate 20 or the Mi 9. i want good battery life a... moremi 9s battery is barely average, mate 20 is way above in terms of battery life

M7md.ibrahim, 16 Aug 2019Pls need your help..i have mate 20 not pro...they told in review... moremobile legend 2-3 hours in 4G, battery drop about 45-55%

lim, 17 Aug 2019should i go for Mate 20 or Mi 9t pro?currently owning mate 20 & mi 9t pro, I recommend mi 9t pro, better processor, graphic, amoled screen, no screen cutout, cheaper ( i got it @ S$480 for 6/128gb), camera wise both perform about the same.

Arkiaali, 28 Oct 2019Should I buy the mate 20 or the Mi 9. i want good battery life a... morerecommend mi 9t pro, sdm 855 graphic is significant better than mate 20