Huawei Mate 60 Pro
MORE PICTURES

Huawei Mate 60 Pro

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

AnonF-1121731, 23 Sep 2023To those who already bought, how secure is this phone?It's very secure until you download google...

    • T
    • Tk89
    • SiN
    • 28 Sep 2023

    With the latest software update, antutu score seems to have exceeded the 700k limit. When the gpu score is added to this, there will be an antutu score between 1M-2M. The processor does a very good job with low frequency. We can say that Kirin processors have returned both thermally very well and in terms of energy efficiency.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • PSK
      • 28 Sep 2023

      Long way to go back, 27 Sep 2023That tech is at least five years old. And it'd been st... moreAnd this is the US-brand copium.

      Unlike the US, german car brands are learning from China and partnering with Chinese EV companies to expedite their EV transition. Unfortunately, ideology blinds the American government from learning anything from these situations.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • PSK
        • 28 Sep 2023

        AnonD-1121798, 28 Sep 2023Don't forget to read the Huawei Lovers replies. Everyt... moreYou talk about huawei lovers but you're just as biased, just in the opposite direction (although based on your other comments, you just hate anything Chinese).

        You don't have to listen to the Chinese media to come to the realization that what you say is just wrong. The TechInsights teardown reports that the kirin 9000s is designed and manufactured in China. You can also find on Tom's hardware a die shot that shows the component required for 5G (modem) is implemented as a part of the chip. Any other part that isn't as advanced as the main processor / communication modules you can almost guarantee they source domestically anyway (as most non-chinese brands do anyway). The only question is why can SK Hynix RAM be found in the device? But regardless, there are many Chinese memory producers (ones that even Apple were considering using if it were not the US government stepping in, so clearly of sufficient quality) so if this source of RAM chips is gone, huawei is hardly at a loss.

        And certainly you wouldn't consider licensing IP from ARM as stealing, would you? Because at that point, it seems the whole industry (Apple, Qualcomm, etc.) is just stealing.

        Please base your opinions on facts rather than your political beliefs.

          • D
          • AnonD-1121798
          • 7sx
          • 28 Sep 2023

          Long way to go back, 27 Sep 2023That tech is at least five years old. And it'd been st... moreDon't forget to read the Huawei Lovers replies. Everything about this phone is practically fake or stolen, or in their words, "invented"

            • L
            • Long way to go back
            • Mka
            • 27 Sep 2023

            That tech is at least five years old. And it'd been stolen before the sanctions.
            Kind of a soviet-chinese swan song. A non nuclear copium

              slight mistake for display aspect ratio here. its 19.4:9 instead of 19.5:9 so its very close to s23u 19.3:9 ratio..

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • DbL
                • 26 Sep 2023

                EricssonT28, 26 Sep 2023Its actually pretty easy for a phone manufacturer to integr... moreThe original post was regarding always-on cameras, not data leakage in general. But sure, I'll bite.

                I completely agree setting up a backdoor is not difficult and I acknowledge that going off of what is reported by the device itself is completely unreliable, whether you have root access or not. In fact, I can do you one better: information can be gathered by a separate set of hardware that just listens on certain signals and makes transmissions to preset addresses; no need to do it through the operating system. What's my point? Whether it is through software or hardware, the issue is when information leaves your device, and if it leaves your device, it can be detected. If by WiFi, analyze the packets going through your router. Alternatively, or if by data, analyze the broadcasts made by the device. Any type of wireless transmission is made as a broadcast and any device can receive that broadcast, not just the intended receiver (in this case, the cell tower or router). The broadcasts may be encrypted or obfuscated in some other way, but if the transmitted data is to be useful, it has to be recoverable, so there is certainly a way to find what exactly is coming out of your device. Now before you complain about having to break encryption and all that, hey, I never said it was going to be easy.

                As for consumer protection, China actually does have data protection legislation. You could argue that it could be better and they have some catching up to do, but to say that they have no consumer protection is just untrue. As for government compliance, I would argue it's all the same. When you're such a big company, whether it be Apple, Huawei, Google, Samsung, etc., you're bound to be in the government's crosshairs. Who knows what the conditions are for those government contracts. We certainly won't be finding out anytime soon.

                With all that being said, in my opinion, we (assuming you and I aren't all that different) the average person (not statistically, but rather non-outliers) don't matter enough for the governments to care to comb through our data. For our data, it's probably used in aggregate or we get flagged for something suspicious or illegal. There's no way they have the resources to care about every aspect of our lives 24/7. Plus, say you live in the US, what is China going to do to you? I would be more worried about my own government having my data because they can actually do something about it.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • DbJ
                  • 26 Sep 2023

                  EricssonT28, 26 Sep 2023Great piece of hardware. Used one of P series phones few ye... moreWhile there are ways around most things in regards to Google services, I agree that it isn't for everyone. Small inconveniences here and there can be a deal breaker, especially for people who don't enjoy tinkering around with their devices in the first place.

                  I don't know about that whole stigma thing though. I think it would be disrespectful if we didn't acknowledge the biggest brother (and also uncle), Sam. But honestly, if that's what's keeping you from buying a phone that you otherwise would have, you could just slap a case on. I've seen one that literally covers the entire back of the phone (comes with a camera protector / cap). At that point, the only people who know are people you choose to tell.

                    • E
                    • EricssonT28
                    • TaD
                    • 26 Sep 2023

                    Anonymous, 25 Sep 2023This is the first time I've heard of this. Very curiou... moreIts actually pretty easy for a phone manufacturer to integrate backdoors in their software, more so when they do not even allow bootloader to be unlocked, forget about getting SU access.
                    To understand this better, think about a code built into system.apk that end user has absolutely no access to. Even with SU, you cannot access that code, unless you decompile system.apk, which might not even be possible. Let's say this code just captures your login credentials or your Wifi's location - leaves no footprint and not uses much battery, then it transmits the data to some server and what gets transferred is just text, which is not more than few MBs.
                    Now all this is theory, but a complete possibility.
                    We are still trusting the likes of Google, Samsung and Apple more from a face value perspective than actually looking at their proprietary code and seeing what they are capturing. Since these companies are exposed to significant legal and privacy compliance, they try not to compromise user's data. With Huawei, there is no court of law or consumer rights that would stop them from capturing and sharing customer's data.
                    I still think Huawei's phones are incredibly well built, but the repercussions can actually be dire.

                      EricssonT28, 26 Sep 2023Great piece of hardware. Used one of P series phones few ye... moreBig brother! Where do you live?!

                        • E
                        • EricssonT28
                        • TaD
                        • 26 Sep 2023

                        Great piece of hardware. Used one of P series phones few years back and the build quality was unmatched. I surely would have considered this over S23 Ultra, if the software wasn't an issue - which actually is. Also, its not worth the stigma of possibly carrying big brother around and people raise an eyebrow when they realize the brand you're using.

                          • T
                          • Tk89
                          • SiN
                          • 26 Sep 2023

                          Jeremy , 26 Sep 2023Huawei phones are the best but just too bad cannot used goo... moreYou can use Google with Gbox or Gspace app.

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • XP8
                            • 26 Sep 2023

                            AnonF-1121731, 23 Sep 2023To those who already bought, how secure is this phone?You ask a very hard question to answer for any device. Even if the device itself is secure, the software you use can just as easily compromise security. To know for sure, you would need to analyze everything that comes out of your phone, reverse engineer everything, analyze the designs / source code, or use a phone where you designed and built yourself (hardware + software), all of which is easier said than done.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • PGH
                              • 26 Sep 2023

                              Jeremy , 26 Sep 2023Huawei phones are the best but just too bad cannot used goo... moreCan use Google ..just download gbox , u can download yt, gmail,Netflix,etc

                                • J
                                • Jeremy
                                • sR1
                                • 26 Sep 2023

                                Huawei phones are the best but just too bad cannot used google.
                                I still have their old P20 Pro.

                                Their camera n battery, I think can easily killed all brands out there.

                                Charging run cool and also you won't feel the heat on the back of phone after using for long.

                                For the price you're paying, their technology is far advanced than other phones out there.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • XP8
                                  • 25 Sep 2023

                                  Markovich, 24 Sep 2023The Soviet union also like to proliferate themself. Don... moreI have no idea why you feel the need to bring up the soviet union when the original post made no reference to them.

                                  Either way, there's plenty of frauds, lies, and false advertisements everywhere so I'm not sure what the point you're trying to make is.

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • XP8
                                    • 25 Sep 2023

                                    Anonymous, 23 Sep 2023Is apparently can scan QR codes without opening an app, so ... moreThis is the first time I've heard of this. Very curious where you got this from.

                                    Imo it doesn't make sense at all. If your cameras are always on, it would have a very noticeable drain on your battery. If there is a security concern, it would mean data has to leave your device, which means there would be significant background network traffic, which can be tracked to confirm (and no, not what your device reports, but the signals it broadcasts over wifi or data). Not to mention the inconvenience of your phone randomly opening qr codes when you don't want it to. All in all, it would be an extremely dumb design decision and I'm sure the internet would be up in flames if it was true. And yet I can't find anything on this.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • XP8
                                      • 25 Sep 2023

                                      Anonymous, 25 Sep 2023He's right though, that's what communist regimes ... moreI don't see this as a "weird phenomenon" at all. I think it makes very good sense given the circumstances they face. And it definitely does happen in america and other western countries too, they are just proud different things, for their own reasons. I think the reason china happens to be so proud of technological advancement is because of how impoverished they were just a few decades ago, and because of the american sanctions meant to curb their technological advancement. Imagine if someone made it their mission to ruin your career. Wouldn't you be proud as well if you were able to overcome the obstacles they set for you?

                                        • S
                                        • Ss
                                        • bEC
                                        • 25 Sep 2023

                                        Anonymous, 25 Sep 2023He's right though, that's what communist regimes ... morewhy should we cheer for them? apple, google and meta dominate all our tech with their lobby money and still use (with questionable permission) our data profit.