Huawei P40 lite
MORE PICTURES

Huawei P40 lite

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

hua hua, 27 Jul 2020Which one has better video record - P30 lite or P40 lite?P40 lite has a better camera. Video quality is comparable.

  • NewLee

Giant Sniper, 30 Jul 2020I was actually planning to go with a Samsung Galaxy A71. I ... moreThanks for this review. I am upgrading to the P40 lite today and was shocked when I just read that it does not support Google or Play Store. Did you have any issues getting apps like whatsapp, facebook, youtube etc to run on the P40? How does the new Huawei app compare to the Google Play Store?

  • Giant Sniper

I was actually planning to go with a Samsung Galaxy A71. I then find out that my service provider (SP) doesn’t deal in any dual sim versions of mobile phones. I then approached another SP and the only dual sim deal they could get me is actually my second choice, being the Huawei P40 lite. I then decided to take this deal, although sceptic about the fact that in South Africa we don’t get google play services, only Huawei App store.
I was very impressed with this phone from the start. From the factory I used phone clone to copy all contacts, photos, calendar, messages and apps from my Note 9. This took about 3 hours, the Note 9’s battery was drained from 78% to 4% and the P40 lite only from 70% to 48% over the same time. This impressed me a lot. Now after more than 48 hour after a full charge, the phone is on 56% with two sim cards. I have played with it, moved icons around, installed new apps, and removed old apps, emails, whatsapp videos and messages. I almost forgot, Bluetooth is on to run my Huawei GT2 watch and making calls. No other phone since the Nokia 3210 & 3310 area has last this long. Now I am thinking to myself: “Is this because it is running without Google Play and services?”.
Well, then I will go without Google forever. It even have a mailing app that works with gmail, so I don’t have to create a new email on different platform. The phone is extremely fast with apps and the internet. The camera takes extremely good photos on main camera and selfiecam. Well impressed. I highly recommend this phone.

  • ola

Brytomania, 29 Jul 2020I decided to check out this phone because I saw it was winn... moreAs a matter of fact, it is beating up samsung s20 in app loading speed.. Forget Google, try something new and you'll live to love this 'smart' phone.

I decided to check out this phone because I saw it was winning in every test when I was reading the Review of Samsung Galaxy A31.

is support hdr10 this ltps lcs ?

Of you hate the way the top drawer icons are too big head over to developer options if you have them enabled if not press 10x on build number in settings about software build number and enable them afterwards go to dev options Smallest width take a screenshot with the initial value and afterwards change it to 460 or whatever value you find suitable, and disable the network name from being shown because it won't display correctly because of the front camera. Settings display and brightness. More display settings. Display carrier name. And voila a fresh new look for your p40 lite

  • Khan

Pls how to install Google play store in p40 pro because I'm not satisfied many apps doesn't work kindly help me

  • hua hua

Which one has better video record - P30 lite or P40 lite?

  • 5nm

JIM, 19 Jul 2020huawei p40 lite or xiaomi note 9 pro? please help me! 😊Both of them Good phones.P40 lite has better chipset,gaming performance,battery life.And it looks stylish.Note 9pro is good at video specs.It supports 4K.Choice is your.

  • 5nm

JIM, 19 Jul 2020huawei p40 lite or xiaomi note 9 pro? please help me! 😊P40 lite is good at all cases.Only is has not 4k video.But other specs especially antutu rating 50.000 points higher.And battery life is Better than Any Redmi Notes also better than Realme 6

  • A guy

Phone has reverse charging capability also. So go ahead and charge your headphones with type c cable or another phone. Tested it with my P40 lite

  • Anonymous

Guys im worried about Build quality. How is it compared to Xiaomi note 9s. Does it feel cheap, does it bend.. also i see no gorila glass protection like Note 9s....

  • Rephinga

I've been using the p40 lite for a week now.

Besides Not Having Google Services,
I still very much can access my emails on the Email App and on the Web browser shortcut for Gmail.

Battery wise it's 💯 it LASTS.
I am giving it a THUMBS UP!!!


JiM, 21 Jul 2020No Google services, no standard memory card, no amoled scre... moreThe P40 lite/Nova7i has the lead in its excellent battery, superfast charging, better audio and superior processor and thermal management.

The A51 is almost identical to the 1.5 year old A50. Although the A50 has even much better battery management than the A51. Samsung didn't even bother call is differently. It's a derivative of an old phone but worse power management.

It's a no-brainer between the P40 lite and the A51. The A51 doesn't even stand a chance.

  • Anonymous

JiM, 21 Jul 2020No Google services, no standard memory card, no amoled scre... morea51 is alot slower than this phone btw

  • Mil

Andrea, 21 Jul 2020I have this P40Lite for a few weeks now. Someone asked for ... moreI tried it now on whatsapp it's work without problems

  • JiM

No Google services, no standard memory card, no amoled screen...Why bother ? Buy A51 and you will get all of these...and tons of available accessories.

  • Adul Al Salami Kebab

Andrea, 21 Jul 2020I have this P40Lite for a few weeks now. Someone asked for ... moreDownload the app named apkpure, its a app you most sideload so its not in the Huawei app gallery you most use the browser and google after it. :)

  • Andrea

I have this P40Lite for a few weeks now. Someone asked for my location over whatsapp last week and when i send it my location it shows im somewhere in Greece... how does that happen...
You cannot download apps in your app gallery... is not the same as play store...