LG G8X ThinQ
MORE PICTURES

LG G8X ThinQ

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

RishiGuru, 07 May 2021Do USB data transfers take place through supplied dual scre... moreYes, it worked for me.

Samath N8 808 owner, 07 Apr 2021Sharing almost the same opinion... No idea what to say man.... moreSorry I missed your post.

Regarding LG's exit to smartphone business, for sure they have left a bottomless hole in the audiophile centric smartphone market. Their QuadDAC flagships just ruled.

The Sabre ES9218P audio chip better know as Quad DAC was a custom design made by ESS for LG. The QuadDAC was designed by ESS in accordance to LG to have the hardware option for custom sound tuning. Then LG made partnership with famous audio houses like Bang & Olufsen (B&O) and Meridian Audio. This led famous houses like these to custom tune QuadDAC in the phone's hardware level to attain their signature sound. This led the same QuadDAC to have drastically different sound signature. Look no further than B&O tuned LG V30+ & Meridian tuned LG G8X. Same high fidelity sound quality with sound signatures that are poles apart.

I think LG Electronic's board of directors gave their mobile division a final chance in 2020, before the declaration they are calling quits in Apr, 2021. And boy they tried hard. They completely changed their philosophy and instead of making industrial & rugged looking flagships like V40, V60, G8X, V50 they started from scratch and made eye catching designs like Velvet and real working concepts like LG Wing.

They also curbed costs everywhere possible. If I just look at the audio part, they asked ESS to create a knocked down version of their ES9218P. And thus ES9219 was born which had same performance parameters of the former minus any custom tuning capabilities. And the cost of the audio chip was now slightly less. LG no more wanted to spend millions in partnership with famous audio tuning houses. So now ES9219 will sound the same on all LG handsets but alas it only saw the day on LG V60.

In the software side LG now focused on making their previous cartoonish looking UI to look more mature, a lot like Samsung's One UI. While previous LG UI was feature set kings, now the overall UI look and feel became very important. They shunned additional features at software level to curb cost, so alas support for native DSD playback support on G8X was gone with Android 10 update. They saved some money with licencing fees for DoP used for native DSD playback.

Also on the hardware level there was lot of changes. South Korean manufacturers like LG normally used a more expensive L shaped motherboards on their flagship handsets which provides best weight balance as battery is almost in middle and optimum component spread. Apple does the same with iPhone. But with the onset of Velvet, they saved every ounce of money and now we have cheaper Chinese type small square motherboards which consumes the upper half of the phone and battery resides on the bottom half. So Chinese phones are generally bottom heavy. And so on ... but they tried and then COVID came and just destroyed their sales.

Regarding hiring an ace marketing manager, I get that part. But what will he/she do without any significant marketing budget? Business goes in a circle, you earn more profit .. you invest more in marketing. With dwindling sales .. and YoY loss... where is the money for marketing? So LG targeted countries where carriers rule, like in USA and carriers did the marketing of LG phones supporting their bands.

Does the Redmi Note 8's screen guard fit inside the Dual Screen case? Or do you use just the phone. Thanks for the info.


Burgershot, 29 Apr 2021magnetic connector needs to be kept logo facing upwards for... moreDo USB data transfers take place through supplied dual screen magnetic connector?

I was periodically unsuccessful transferring data from a computer to my LG G8X via magnetic connector.

  • Nathan Brown

Anonymous x, 23 Apr 2021After the April update for LG g8x thinq the sound feels dre... moreI completely agree with you...... with the latest update the volume for songs and videos (not calls) seem to have dropped significantly :-( ........hope they fix that

Babu786, 25 Apr 2021Hi All i tried to charge the mobile when it's in the... moremagnetic connector needs to be kept logo facing upwards for fast charging and usb data transfers.

nico, 26 Apr 2021Received over the weekend an update to my G8X-DSC.... 8 mon... moreLG is generally one update behind other top manufacturers. Expect Android 11 on LG G8X when Google pushes Android 12 to their Pixel lineup. This is what my experience says.

  • nico

Received over the weekend an update to my G8X-DSC.... 8 months after last update.
Still on Android 10, security patch: April1, 2021. Build#: QKQ1.200216.002. ver: G850QM20e.

Am I gonna have to wait another 8 months to get Android 11 which LG promised will come for this model?

SushiMajesty, 24 Apr 2021May, I know which are the custom ROM you've tried on t... moreI have the t-mobile V40 which I don't think could be unlocked for rooting and installing custom roms. I flashed several stock roms from oreo, pie, q and right now I'm on pie with the V405TA20n firmware. Because gcam works well on it and has a nice balance of performance and battery. But if you have any variant other than t-mobile, you can try lineageos. It's way better than LG's stock roms which horribly limit the power of the hardware, from the chipset to the DAC.

Hi All
i tried to charge the mobile when it's in the dual screen case from 9% to 100% , it took nearly 10 Hrs + to finish it using the magnetic charging connector that came with dual screen box !

Totally useless , wired charging via the usb c is better as it takes 2 Hrs and around 20 min to completely charge from 0 to 100 % - FYI

  • SushiMajesty

HiFi97, 24 Apr 2021I have read your comments about the V40 regarding its "... moreMay, I know which are the custom ROM you've tried on the LG v40? And what have you settled with on your V40 at the moment?

HiFi97, 24 Apr 2021I have read your comments about the V40 regarding its "... moreGood to know you are so happy with the phone. Enjoy!!!

RishiGuru, 23 Apr 2021Thanks for the info.I have read your comments about the V40 regarding its "horrible battery" and mentioning anandtech and gsmarena's tests.
Recently I bought a used V40 for $130 and using it as a wifi only phone, it reaches 9-10 SOT with light usages like web browsing. With heavy usages like gaming, it reaches 4-5 SOT.
And believe it or not, that standby time you see here is NOT real. I flashed several firmwares from various android versions available for the V40 and in every one of them, at first, there have been a really weird standby battery drain that quickly gets fixed after a while. Maybe less than a week. I think it's the system setting things up and making caches to optimize the phone. Now there's almost zero standby battery drain. So maybe those reviewers tested its battery when it was not optimized yet.
It's a wonderful phone for only $130. Display, audio, cameras, everything.

arunv1984, 20 Apr 2021It seems the firmware already got downloaded and after conn... moreThanks for the info.

  • Anonymous x

After the April update for LG g8x thinq the sound feels dreadfully reduced

RishiGuru, 20 Apr 2021Yes, I also got the Dual Screen firmware upgrade on my LG G... moreIt seems the firmware already got downloaded and after connecting the Dual Screen, it got updated quickly. The Dual Screen turned off after the update, that's the only clue it gave that it got updated. Like said in the YouTube video, need to check the main screen after call end unlock bug has been fixed or not, which I didn't do.

arunv1984, 19 Apr 2021Yes. Connected the dual screen and it showed a notification... moreYes, I also got the Dual Screen firmware upgrade on my LG G8X, but this FOTA download took place in background and never asked for a restart. I was wondering if the update at all took place. Is there any way to understand, if the update was successful or not?

RishiGuru, 19 Apr 2021Confirmed. Below is the FOTA change log: 1) Phone usa... moreYes. Connected the dual screen and it showed a notification that the dual screen firmware will be updated. After confirmation, the firmware got updated too.

https://youtu.be/u2JZ6S6weg0

ethereal, 19 Apr 2021Received the update in India too. Downloading right now...The first thing I noticed is the revamped volume shade. My wife had this on her G8S from day one, though. Security patch was updated with March 2021 build. Looking for more...

Received the update in India too. Downloading right now...

arunv1984, 19 Apr 2021Received an update today in Indian weighing around 350 MB a... moreConfirmed.

Below is the FOTA change log:

1) Phone usability and functionality has been further improved
2) Version: V20f-MAR-20-2021
3) Size: 350.76 MB

After the FOTA update:

Software Version: V20f-IND-XX
Android Version: 10
Android security patch level: 01-Mar-2021

The LG FOTA servers seems to be super slow and data transfer speed was maybe capped at 200 kbps max. In contrast my Vivo, Honor, Nokia & iQOO phones download FOTA updates at 2 Mbps or even higher. LG India is providing us with bi-annual Android security patch upgrades for their flagship phones as my LG G8X had Sep, 2020 patch before.

Was there any Dual Screen firmware update?