Motorola Moto G7 Play review

GSMArena team, 3 March 2019.

Display

The Moto G7 Play has one of its coolest features at the front, and that is the notched IPS LCD screen with somewhat thinned bezels. It's 5.7" in diagonal and has a resolution of 720 x 1,512 pixels or 294ppi - not the ideal sharpness, but still quite usable. These specs make for a trendy 19:9 screen aspect ratio.

The display is protected with a Gorilla Glass 3. There is no factory-applied screen protector, but you can always opt for one.

Motorola Moto G7 Play review

The Moto G7 Play display has a maximum brightness of 436 nits - not the brightest around, but we guess it's fine for the class. The black levels turned out quite deep, though, so the G7 Play screen scored an excellent contrast ratio of 1468:1.

When in Auto mode, the G7 Play screen can boost the brightness up to 550 nits for a short period - enough for when you are using the G7 under bright sunlight.

For those following our tests closely - the lower brightness we could achieve on the G7 Play is 6.9 nits, which honestly can give your eyes some trouble in pitch dark rooms.

Display test 100% brightness
Black, cd/m2 White, cd/m2 Contrast ratio
Motorola Moto G7 Play 0.297 436 1468
Motorola Moto G7 Play (Max Auto) 0.416 549 1320
Motorola Moto G7 Power 0.298 499 1674
Motorola Moto G7 Power (Max Auto) 0.459 636 1386
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 0.358 479 1338
Oppo Realme 2 0.286 411 1437
Realme U1 0.283 518 1830
Xiaomi Redmi 5 0.378 503 1331
Xiaomi Mi A2 Lite 0.385 488 1268
Xiaomi Mi A1 0.351 551 1570
Huawei P Smart 2019 0.325 437 1345

Sunlight legibility is nothing worth praising, although the score is still fine for a budget phone. In real-world terms, the handset remains usable outdoors. Just don't angle it straight at the sun.

Sunlight contrast ratio

  • Apple iPhone XS
    5.171
  • Apple iPhone X
    5.013
  • Huawei Mate 20 Pro
    4.965
  • OnePlus 5T
    4.789
  • Samsung Galaxy S8
    4.768
  • Asus ROG Phone
    4.765
  • Samsung Galaxy S8+
    4.658
  • Samsung Galaxy S9
    4.63
  • Samsung Galaxy S6 edge+
    4.615
  • Samsung Galaxy S9+
    4.537
  • Samsung Galaxy Note9
    4.531
  • Apple iPhone XS Max
    4.516
  • Sony Xperia XZ3
    4.502
  • Motorola Moto Z2 Play
    4.459
  • Oppo R11
    4.454
  • Samsung Galaxy S7 edge
    4.439
  • Oppo RX17 Pro
    4.434
  • OnePlus 3
    4.424
  • Samsung Galaxy S7
    4.376
  • Google Pixel 3
    4.35
  • Huawei Mate 20 X
    4.337
  • Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018)
    4.324
  • OnePlus 6
    4.321
  • Xiaomi Mi Mix 3
    4.291
  • vivo NEX Dual Display (second display)
    4.289
  • HTC One A9
    4.274
  • LG V40 ThinQ
    4.256
  • Oppo R15 Pro
    4.251
  • Samsung Galaxy Note7
    4.247
  • Samsung Galaxy A3
    4.241
  • Nokia 8
    4.239
  • Google Pixel 2 XL (pre-update)
    4.234
  • OnePlus 3T
    4.232
  • Samsung Galaxy A9 (2018)
    4.22
  • Google Pixel XL
    4.164
  • ZTE Axon 7
    4.154
  • Samsung Galaxy Note8
    4.148
  • Meizu Pro 7 Plus
    4.147
  • OnePlus 6T
    4.138
  • Samsung Galaxy S6 edge
    4.124
  • Samsung Galaxy A7 (2017)
    4.124
  • vivo V11
    4.113
  • vivo NEX Dual Display
    4.108
  • Huawei Mate 10 Pro (normal)
    4.096
  • Samsung Galaxy Note5
    4.09
  • Huawei P20 Pro
    4.087
  • Xiaomi Mi 8
    4.086
  • Meizu 15
    4.082
  • Nokia 6 (2018)
    4.052
  • Google Pixel 2 (pre-update)
    4.023
  • LG V30
    4.022
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
    4.019
  • vivo NEX S
    4.012
  • Honor Magic 2
    4.01
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 Pro
    3.998
  • OnePlus X
    3.983
  • Vivo Xplay5 Elite
    3.983
  • LG G7 ThinQ (outdoor)
    3.978
  • Oppo R7s
    3.964
  • Apple iPhone 7
    3.964
  • Apple iPhone 8 (True Tone)
    3.957
  • Huawei P9 Plus
    3.956
  • Oppo Find X
    3.954
  • Meizu Pro 6 Plus
    3.935
  • Lenovo Moto Z
    3.931
  • Xiaomi Mi 9
    3.921
  • Samsung Galaxy A7 (2016)
    3.918
  • OnePlus 5
    3.914
  • Samsung Galaxy C5
    3.911
  • Xiaomi Mi 8 SE
    3.901
  • Samsung Galaxy C7
    3.896
  • Samsung Galaxy A5
    3.895
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 outdoor
    3.879
  • Samsung Galaxy J2 outdoor
    3.873
  • Motorola Moto G6 Plus
    3.865
  • Samsung Galaxy A8
    3.859
  • Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018)
    3.842
  • Apple iPhone 6
    3.838
  • Microsoft Lumia 950XL
    3.837
  • Samsung Galaxy A6+ (2018)
    3.834
  • Sony Xperia XZs
    3.818
  • Samsung Galaxy A9 (2016)
    3.817
  • Motorola Moto X (2014)
    3.816
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 (2017)
    3.812
  • Samsung Galaxy A5 (2017)
    3.804
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 (2016) outdoor mode
    3.802
  • Xiaomi Redmi Pro
    3.798
  • LG V20 Max auto
    3.798
  • Sony Xperia XZ
    3.795
  • Samsung Galaxy A5 (2016)
    3.789
  • Apple iPhone 6s
    3.783
  • Meizu Pro 5
    3.781
  • Microsoft Lumia 650
    3.772
  • Xiaomi Mi 6
    3.767
  • Sony Xperia XZ1
    3.765
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 (2016)
    3.756
  • Nokia 8 Sirocco
    3.745
  • Sony Xperia XZ1 Compact
    3.729
  • Apple iPhone 8 Plus (True Tone)
    3.725
  • Oppo F1 Plus
    3.709
  • Vivo X5Pro
    3.706
  • Sony Xperia X Compact
    3.694
  • Samsung Galaxy A3 (2017)
    3.688
  • Huawei P20
    3.683
  • Apple iPhone SE
    3.681
  • Huawei Mate 9
    3.68
  • Samsung Galaxy A7
    3.679
  • Sony Xperia XZ2 Compact
    3.675
  • Meizu PRO 6
    3.659
  • BlackBerry Priv
    3.645
  • Sony Xperia XA1 Ultra
    3.597
  • Huawei Honor View 20
    3.597
  • Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    3.588
  • Sony Xperia XZ2
    3.58
  • LG G6
    3.556
  • Samsung Galaxy S5
    3.549
  • Apple iPhone 6s Plus
    3.53
  • Motorola Moto Z Play
    3.526
  • Samsung Galaxy J3 (2016)
    3.523
  • Samsung Galaxy J3 (2016) outdoor mode
    3.523
  • Acer Jade Primo
    3.521
  • Microsoft Lumia 950
    3.512
  • Oppo R7 Plus
    3.499
  • Nokia 7 plus
    3.479
  • nubia Z11
    3.466
  • Huawei P10 Plus
    3.456
  • HTC U Ultra
    3.453
  • Motorola Moto G6
    3.448
  • Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
    3.445
  • Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
    3.445
  • Samsung Galaxy J7
    3.422
  • Motorola Moto G6 Play
    3.419
  • Meizu MX5
    3.416
  • LG V20
    3.402
  • Samsung Galaxy A6 (2018)
    3.397
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 AI Dual Camera
    3.393
  • LG G7 ThinQ
    3.39
  • Huawei P10
    3.379
  • Samsung Galaxy J5 (2016)
    3.378
  • Oppo R9s
    3.352
  • Honor Play
    3.349
  • Honor 8 Pro
    3.341
  • Oppo F7
    3.333
  • Oppo R7
    3.32
  • Lenovo P2
    3.316
  • Archos Diamond Omega
    3.305
  • Honor 9
    3.289
  • Xiaomi Mi 5s
    3.276
  • Nokia 5
    3.261
  • Nokia 6 (Chinese version)
    3.244
  • Nokia 6 (Global version)
    3.238
  • Samsung Galaxy J2
    3.235
  • Oppo Realme 2 Pro
    3.235
  • Sony Xperia X Performance
    3.234
  • Xiaomi Mi Note 2
    3.228
  • Motorola Moto X Play
    3.222
  • Oppo F3 Plus
    3.218
  • BlackBerry KEY2
    3.212
  • Huawei Mate 9 Pro
    3.206
  • Huawei P9
    3.195
  • Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
    3.19
  • Motorola Moto G7 Play
    3.18
  • Motorola Moto G7 Power
    3.176
  • ZTE Nubia Z17
    3.159
  • Oppo R11s
    3.153
  • Lenovo Vibe Shot
    3.113
  • Honor 8X
    3.113
  • HTC U11 Life
    3.108
  • Motorola Moto X Force
    3.105
  • LG Nexus 5X
    3.092
  • HTC U11
    3.089
  • Xiaomi Mi A2 Lite
    3.087
  • HTC U12+
    3.085
  • Xiaomi Redmi S2 (Y2)
    3.077
  • Huawei Mate S
    3.073
  • Oppo F9
    3.069
  • Huawei P Smart 2019
    3.069
  • Microsoft Lumia 640 XL
    3.065
  • Xiaomi Mi Max 3
    3.061
  • Xiaomi Pocophone F1
    3.059
  • Huawei Mate 20
    3.052
  • Huawei Mate 20 Lite
    3.051
  • Motorola One (P30 Play)
    3.026
  • Apple iPhone 6 Plus
    3.023
  • Asus Zenfone 4 ZE554KL
    3.019
  • Sony Xperia XA1
    3.012
  • Motorola Moto X4
    3.012
  • Motorola Moto G7
    3.011
  • Motorola Moto G7 Plus
    3.01
  • Oppo Realme 2
    3.006
  • Sony Xperia L1
    2.994
  • Sony Xperia X
    2.989
  • LG Q6
    2.987
  • Huawei P10 Lite
    2.974
  • Samsung Galaxy Note
    2.97
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 6 Pro
    2.966
  • Huawei P20 Lite
    2.952
  • Xiaomi Redmi 5
    2.951
  • Huawei Mate 8
    2.949
  • Sony Xperia XA2
    2.938
  • Oppo Realme 1
    2.932
  • Razer Phone 2
    2.932
  • Xiaomi Redmi 4
    2.92
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3S
    2.913
  • Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
    2.913
  • Sony Xperia XA Ultra
    2.906
  • LG G5
    2.905
  • Huawei Honor View 10
    2.896
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3s Prime
    2.893
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
    2.893
  • Xiaomi Mi 5s Plus
    2.884
  • Sony Xperia XZ Premium (sRGB)
    2.877
  • Sony Xperia XZ Premium
    2.877
  • Sony Xperia Z5
    2.876
  • Nokia 3
    2.871
  • Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
    2.867
  • Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
    2.862
  • Microsoft Lumia 550
    2.851
  • Nokia 3.1
    2.837
  • Realme U1
    2.815
  • Lenovo Moto M
    2.813
  • Nokia 7.1
    2.804
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3 Pro
    2.803
  • Sony Xperia Z5 compact
    2.784
  • Honor 10 (Vivid)
    2.757
  • Nokia 2
    2.752
  • Meizu MX6
    2.751
  • LG V10
    2.744
  • Huawei Mate 10 (normal)
    2.742
  • Motorola Moto G5S Plus
    2.737
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3
    2.735
  • Huawei Honor 7X
    2.734
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 (S625)
    2.714
  • Meizu M5
    2.71
  • Xiaomi Mi A2
    2.696
  • Sony Xperia M5
    2.69
  • Xiaomi Mi A1
    2.689
  • Asus Zenfone 3 ZE552KL
    2.563
  • Huawei P Smart
    2.563
  • Xiaomi Mi Max 2
    2.561
  • HTC U11+
    2.556
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 5A (Y1)
    2.556
  • Lenovo Moto G4
    2.544
  • Lenovo K6 Note
    2.544
  • Oppo F1
    2.528
  • Sony Xperia Z5 Premium
    2.525
  • Huawei Honor 7 Lite / Honor 5c
    2.506
  • Sony Xperia M4 Aqua
    2.503
  • Huawei Honor 10 Lite
    2.497
  • Lenovo Vibe K4 Note
    2.254
  • Sony Xperia C5 Ultra
    2.253
  • HTC U11+ (EU)
    2.253
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 (MediaTek)
    2.249
  • Sony Xperia C4 Dual
    2.235
  • Xiaomi Mi Note
    2.234
  • Motorola Moto G (2014)
    2.233
  • LG Nexus 5
    2.228
  • Huawei P8
    2.196
  • Meizu M5 Note
    2.189
  • Huawei Honor 6
    2.169
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 2
    2.166
  • OnePlus Two
    2.165
  • HTC One X
    2.158
  • LG Aka
    2.145
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 (X20)
    2.145
  • Archos 50 Diamond
    2.134
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note
    2.119
  • Xiaomi Mi 4S
    2.095
  • Acer Liquid X2
    2.084
  • Huawei P8lite
    2.078
  • vivo V5
    2.059
  • Moto G 3rd gen max manual
    2.026
  • Xiaomi Mi 3
    2.001
  • Xiaomi Mi Max
    1.996
  • Sony Xperia E4g
    1.972

The Moto G7 Play has three settings for color saturations - natural, boosted, and the default one - saturated. The color rendering, when left on saturated, is average at best with an average DeltaE of 6.8 and a maximum deviation of 12. The only saturated hues are the blues, which also hurt the white and grays a lot.

Unfortunately, opting for Natural won't change much, the blue tint still remains.

Battery life

The Moto G7 Play is powered by a 3,000 mAh battery - about right for the class. The G7 Play ships with either 5W or 10W charger, depending on the market. Ours came with a 5W one, and it replenishes 22% of the G7's depleted battery in half an hour.

Surprisingly, the Moto G7 Play posted impressive (for a 3,000 mAh battery) test scores across all of our routines and this earned it the final 103-hour Endurance rating. It did a great job at all tested scenarios - video, calls, web browsing and even stand-by performance.

Motorola Moto G7 Play review

Our battery tests were automated thanks to SmartViser, using its viSer App. The endurance rating above denotes how long a single battery charge will last you if you use the Motorola Moto G7 Play for an hour each of telephony, web browsing, and video playback daily. We've established this usage pattern so that our battery results are comparable across devices in the most common day-to-day tasks. The battery testing procedure is described in detail in case you're interested in the nitty-gritty. You can check out our complete battery test table, where you can see how all of the smartphones we've tested will compare under your own typical use.

Speaker

The earpiece on the Moto G7 Play also doubles as a loudspeaker. The good news is the speaker scored a Very Good mark on our loudness test, and its audio is deep enough.

But the loudness varies a lot depending on whether the speaker is facing towards or away from you.

Speakerphone testVoice, dB Pink noise/ Music, dB Ringing phone, dB Overall score
Motorola Moto G6 Play 62.6 68.0 71.0 Average
Huawei Y7 Prime (2018) 64.9 70.5 71.9 Average
Honor 8X 67.1 72.9 81.6 Very Good
Moto G7 Play 66.6 74.4 81.8 Very Good
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 67.5 77.8 77.6 Very Good
Realme 2 Pro 69.1 74.8 81.4 Very Good
Moto G7 (Smart Audio) 70.2 71.9 84.6 Very Good
Moto G7 Plus (Smart Audio) 70.8 72.4 84.9 Excellent
Huawei P Smart 2019 69.5 73.6 86.0 Excellent
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 69.8 71.5 90.5 Excellent
Moto G7 Power 75.8 75.2 82.5 Excellent
Motorola Moto G6 81.1 75.7 83.7 Excellent

Audio quality

The active external amplifier part of our audio quality test saw the Motorola Moto G7 Play deliver output of average loudness and perfect clarity - par for the course these days, but it’s good to see that no corners were cut here to make the low price.

Headphones introduced a tiny bit of intermodulation distortion and an average amount of stereo crosstalk. They also dropped the volume a bit, relegating it to a below average rating. Still, all things considered, the G7 Play should be an adequate music player for everybody but the most demanding audiophile even.

TestFrequency responseNoise levelDynamic rangeTHDIMD + NoiseStereo crosstalk
Motorola Moto G7 Play+0.07, -0.01-90.090.10.00190.015-92.9
Motorola Moto G7 Play (headphones)+0.16, -0.10-92.392.50.00690.164-64.8
Motorola Moto G7+0.04, -0.04-93.690.90.00340.0100-94.8
Motorola Moto G7 (headphones)+0.06, -0.03-90.593.20.00360.048-62.5
Redmi Note 7+0.04, -0.04-90.790.70.00150.014-94.5
Redmi Note 7 (headphones)+0.05, -0.29-92.592.50.0240.296-55.0
Huawei P Smart 2019+0.02, -0.02-93.193.00.00390.0088-81.9
Huawei P Smart 2019 (headphones)+0.64, -0.38-88.691.90.00690.606-50.6
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite+0.04, -0.04-93.593.40.00110.0070-93.4
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite (headphones)+0.45, -0.18-93.493.40.0210.457-54.9
Honor 8X+0.01, -0.04-92.392.40.00410.0085-80.7
Honor 8X (headphones)+0.45, -0.54-92.292.80.00840.492-51.5

Motorola Moto G7 Play frequency response
Motorola Moto G7 Play frequency response

You can learn more about the tested parameters and the whole testing process here.

Reader comments

  • Anonymous

does the phone support at&t HV Voice ?

  • Thermo

I bought this phone Moto G7 play in Dec 2019. I don't mind the phone but find the volume sucks is there any way to "'boost the volume on this device???? Plz tell me there is!!! 🤬

  • ArlisT

No matter how I set the selfie camera, whether I turn mirroring on or off, it still mirrors my photos - that is, text on my hat or shirt displays in reverse. What am I doing wrong?