Nokia 1
MORE PICTURES

Nokia 1

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

This was my main phone for two years, until late 2020.

I got it because I had a Nokia in the old days that served me for a long time, and the Nokia 1 was one of the few phones I could operate comfortably with one hand.

Really good: >1 day between charges with BT and WIFI on. Nokia upgraded from Android 8 to 9 to 10, and even recently continues to provide security updates.

Worst hardware issues: screen was never very bright -- barely readable in sunlight. The camera is pretty much bottom of the barrel -- no autofocus. Also, it turned out the camera was very vulnerable to physical wear.

Most annoying: A persistent bug with pattern log-in to the phone -- every week or so it would proclaim the pattern was wrong, and would maintain that position on any pattern it was given, right or not. Only a re-boot fixed it. This was reported to Nokia, and discussed with them, and again and again I did experiments for them. Complete waste of time. I suspect no programmer ever heard about it.

In the end, I moved on to another phone for those reasons, and because the protective layer had worn off the camera lens, making images ugly blurry.

Upshot: it was a good phone, served me adequately most of the time. It deserved more in its line, never got them. Their customer service is just broken.
Nokia blew their opportunity to make me a loyal customer.

  • Tmoney

Ome, 19 Jan 2021Try to factory reset youre phone if you experience bugsHow do I factory reset my Nokia 1 phone,its not coming up

  • TheoS

Anonymous, 04 Mar 2021That Class 10 SD card (unknown brand 128gb) worked fine for... moreWhy battle on like this with the Nokia 1 without any problems resolved by HMD?. Never another Nokia. I'm over HMD. Even the Redmi GO hasn't had the software issues that the Nokia 1 has. And they were competing against each other. Tough means NOTHING if software cripples the phone. Bah.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 20 Dec 2020Some clarity to my earlier posts about the microSD cards: ... moreThat Class 10 SD card (unknown brand 128gb) worked fine for a month. Then the card wasn't detected by my Nokia 1.

Now I've been using the Class 4 SD card (fake Huawei class10, 256gb) for two months. Card and phone have been working fine until now :)

I am convinced that the SD card's class type matters for this Nokia 1. It is Class 4, maybe 6 too, but certainly NOT Class 10, U1, U3, V30 etc.

Will be getting smaller capacity (32 or 64gb) Class 4 cards of a known brand (SanDisk, Samsung...) for my Nokia 1s. May try a Class 6 out of curiosity.

  • Saad Hussain

After jan 2021 update..... It has serious battery drain issues....

  • TheoS

I purchased a Redmi 9C because I had had enough of HMD and my Nokia 1 unresolved issues with Pie and Android 10. Redmi fast and just works like a phone should without issues.

Having a working phone allowed me to try figure out what the hell is wrong with the Nokia 1. I removed the SD card. Factory reset the phone (for the umpteenth time) and.......left it SD card free. No SD card.

Surprise, surprise. ZERO PROBLEMS for a full Month now. Everything works like it should.

No more issues. Try it.

  • TheoS

So many issues and complaints with the Nokia 1 now. HMD is not going to help resolve them. You're on your own now. Never another Nokia.

  • ID62

Tell me how to fix the cpu/ic

  • blindside

My Nokia 1 is not playing received videos in WhatsApp anymore.
Did any of you experience this issue? Do you know what is the cause of this and is there a fix?
Thanks!

Din, 08 Aug 2020After updating to Android 10, you have to reset the phone t... morePls I'm having issues with my Nokia 1
It's usb doesn't connect to the computer again just charging it..
Google photos has also disappeared

  • Ome

TheoS, 04 Dec 2020Android 10 seems to be getting slower and slower on my Noki... moreTry to factory reset youre phone if you experience bugs

  • Ds

TheoS, 04 Dec 2020Android 10 seems to be getting slower and slower on my Noki... moreThrow a sd card in and it speeds up a lot! (I use kingston)

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 16 Dec 2020Hi Akkay, here is my microSDcard experience, tested on both... moreSome clarity to my earlier posts about the microSD cards:
- The “fake Huawei Class10, 256GB” (video write speed = 5 MB/s max) must be a CLASS 4, not 10. Worked fine without any problems.
- The “unknown brand Class10, 128GB” (video write speed = 14 MB/s max) must be correct Class 10. Gave problems after about a week on both Nokia 1s. Tried a few times, same result.
But now it’s been working fine for a few weeks. The automatic phone restart has happened a couple of times only.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 16 Dec 2020Hi Akkay, here is my microSDcard experience, tested on both... moreSorry for the English mistakes. For SanDisk Ultra and SanDisk Extreme Pro,
- Problems start within a DAY or two.

  • Anonymous

Hi again Akkay, some extra tips. Again this is from my experience only, after testing on both my Nokia 1s:

- First, formatting SD card to “FAT32” file system on PC. If PC doesn’t allow this, I’d install the free MiniTool Partition Wizard for instance and format it to FAT32.

- Second, I’d format/set up the card as “portable” (not “internal”) on Nokia 1 to be on the safe side, at least for the time being.

- Finally, I’m not really sure but this seems to help. I’d make sure the folder “System Volume Information” exists on the SD card in the phone.

If this SVI folder isn’t there and if card/phone issues start happening, I’d try the above steps again, maybe this time starting with a slow complete formatting to FAT32 (i.e. unchecking the “Quick Format” box).

My newly-bought card, “unknown brand Class 10 128GB” (mentioned in my previous feedback), initially worked for a week and then problems started. Now this card and my phone have been working fine for weeks.

Only the automatic phone-restart still happens from time to time but much less frequently than before. May consider switching to my “fake Huawei Class10 256GB” (mentioned in my previous feedback) to compare this one day.

Good luck.

  • Anonymous

Akkay, 02 Dec 2020have you tried A1 rating SD card Hi Akkay, here is my microSDcard experience, tested on both my Nokia 1s running Android 10:

1. “SanDisk Ultra Class10 U1 A1 32GB” (video write speed tested on my PC = 21 MB/s max). This card worked fine before on my Nokia 1 running Android 9,
- Problems start within a days or two.

2. Newly-bought “SanDisk Extreme Pro V30 U3 A2 64GB” (video write speed = 71 MB/s max),
- Problems start within a days or two.

3. An old cheap “fake Huawei Class10 256GB” (video write speed = 5 MB/s max)
- Had no problems for weeks.

4. Newly-bought cheap “unknown brand Class10 128GB” (video write speed = 14 MB/s max)
- I've had no problems for weeks.

Might be useful to note that I'm using my phone for necessary needs only. No games nor social media sites (aside from whatsapp).

Hopefully this card issue will eventually be solved with future updates, and so will the problems with the 'proximity sensor during phone calls' and the 'lock screen pattern/password'.

  • TheoS

Akkay, 02 Dec 2020have you tried A1 rating SD card Android 10 seems to be getting slower and slower on my Nokia1. Barely useable even after restarting the phone. I'm so sick and tired of battling with HMD software updates. Pie was full of bugs....now this. GRRR.
I seriously feel like throwing this phone away and buying another brand. Ive had enough.

Anonymous, 23 Nov 2020Remove SD card from phone, restart phone and use it for a f... morehave you tried A1 rating SD card

  • Anonymous

Remove SD card from phone, restart phone and use it for a few days to see how it works.

Since Android 10 update, "fast" SD cards (e.g. Class 10) don't seem compatible with Nokia 1. They also have been slowing down this phone and making apps open up with a lingering blank screen.

  • laikung

It could be the cheapest android with less than 140mm in height. But it is too slow. Sadly, Nokia didn't release new small smartphone after the first gen (nokia 1,2,3,5...).

This phone is really slow, exceeding most people's tolerance. For example, when there is a phone call, it takes at least 4 seconds to turn on the screen so that I can know whether it is a spam call or not.