Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Jay

Anonymous, 17 Nov 2010i am a nokia fan but nokia needs to update there old fashion os ... moreMy N8 is not buggy and it is very fast and smooth.

  • Jay

Enzo Maldini, 16 Nov 2010Hello everybody, It's pretty odd I post something on internet... moreI have a N8 and i encountered no problems, your post is just useless crap.
The way you write and explain stuff i am pretty sure that you are just stupid Apple fanboy.
You talk jack shit and i believe you never touched a N8 before.
You are just in tears because your iphone is just a overpriced featureless crap.
This is a N8 page don't hate Nokia because Apple ripped you off, like iphone is only for classy people propaganda.
Please remove yourself from here because you are just a NOOB.

  • deep space bar

Anonymous, 17 Nov 2010i am a nokia fan but nokia needs to update there old fashion os ... more50 things will be added to symbian3 as of next year

and that will also be the 3 month mark where they always put out their firmware update

  • deep space bar

David891, 16 Nov 20101 question to N8 owners. There is a red LED light which burns b... morelol all digicams have that

it's only active when there is not enough light in the room or area

since it has a two stage shutter

it uses the red light to focus first then takes the pics with the zenon flash after

the lens needs light so it can detect what your focusing on XD

  • Anonymous

i am a nokia fan but nokia needs to update there old fashion os and make it more stable and eye candy symbian is good for multitasking not like ishit or iphone 4 nokia needs to step up i will repeat symbain 3 is buggy and wheres the firmware update and it needs a better web browser nokia needs to wake up and smell the coffea

  • Jeff Newton

Enzo Maldini, 16 Nov 2010Hello everybody, It's pretty odd I post something on internet... moreI owned N8 for a month. I am very happy with N8 's performance. N8 is the best cell phone out there now. Can you tell atruth?

  • Anonymous

i think i will wait to december and c if the nokia n8 will have a good firmware update for the buggy symbain 3and c how it performs i love the n8 but the os is very bad what have nokia been doing all these years they need to get it rite and get there act together nokia xenon plus video light xenon plus bright video light they need higher resolution screens come on nokia

  • Anonymous

can some one tell me how fast is the tegra processor i think having the n8 is good but no video light and bugg software lets me down i think i will wait for the n9 will have better specs and video light

  • Anonymous

Unofficial, 16 Nov 2010The N9 has an Intel Moorestown processor at 1.5 ghz. It also ha... moreumm, interesting

I'd say 60% of what you wrote is right based on the fact that Nokia is indeed co-operating with intel and that Moorestown processor which only runs on linux-based systems (MeeGo!) existed as we know and is competing with Tegra from nvidia

but the resolution is far from reality in my opinion, the storage space is exaggerated too.

Nokia C9/X9 are replacement for the current C7/C6, so these won't be released for a while.

anyway, whatever Nokia releases it will be a lot better than competition in both style and features, cause Nokia has creativity and experience which others lack.

  • Enzo Maldini

Hello everybody,

It's pretty odd I post something on internet, but seeing N8's popularity I thought I could share my experience with it and maybe make up someone´s mind.

I work for a research company in Italy. Nokia give us all their latest toys before release to review them extensively and make comparisons with competing models: N900, Booklet 3G, N8,... you name it.

We tested Nokia's N8 and my advice is DON'T buy it. Yeah, it has the best camera, HDMI, DivX, USB on-the-go and full GPS navigation; BUT:

- Battery life is poor.(Charge every day).
- Crappy screen resolution with dirty pixels (Each one has a different deviation in bright from standard values).
- It´s fatter than Androids and iPhone 4.
- Underpowered. (CPU, GPU and RAM).
- Symbian isn't just obsolete. In this new version, it's more faulty and buggy than ever. You will just hate to handle it.
- Web browser is terrible.

Overall, the N8 seems too focused on periferic features and fails at the core. Due to its low performance and glitchy old OS, it won't make you happy whatever you want to do with it. Nokia offers an inferior product in terms of hardware and software, it's that simple.

Long gone are the days when Nokia made the best phones. They were like Mercedes-Benz: they could build anything from A Class, vans and trucks to S Class, AMG models... Today, Nokia is Hyundai, a mid-class product that tries to copy the top dogs with cheap prices in a try to appeal to the masses.

In the latest months we have seen all these resigns: Nokia CEO, Smartphone division CEO, MeeGo CEO, and Symbyan CEO. Nokia centric web pages are closing (Nokia World, Symbian Guru...)and Gizmondo doesn´t even want to review the N8 because they say it's irrelevant. Get the picture?

Don't let nostalgia ruin your enjoyment of life. Choose between iPhone 4 or Android and don´t look back.

Note: I have owned Nokia high-end phones since the day they didn´t even had color screens, so please don't think I'm just a random Nokia hater. I hope this helped someone.

  • Anonymous

if you can remove that red light and but a proper led light for video there it is posible to have a video light i dont c the use of the red light for taking photos it does nothing but take up the space for the video light

  • David891

1 question to N8 owners.
There is a red LED light which burns before taking pictures. I have 2 questions:
1: If turn off flash, will it still light up?
2: as long as you use autofocus (pressing button halfway) will the LED light light up all the time?
Because the N8 doesnt have LED flash but that way we would still have some kind of light for in the dark ;)

  • Anonymous

Unofficial, 16 Nov 2010The N9 has an Intel Moorestown processor at 1.5 ghz. It also ha... morewhere do you take these specs?

  • Unofficial

The N9 has an Intel Moorestown processor at 1.5 ghz.
It also has a High-definition screen ( 1280*720 )
1gb RAM, 2gb ROM, 64 Gb hard-drive.
8 mp camera with carl zeis optics, Full HD 1080 P video recording AND playback.
It runs MeeGo OS, the offical version, and not the harmattan version.
There are plans to scrap this prototype in favour of the Nokia concept phones form the design by community project. Sketch 1 could be the N9, sketch 2 is the X9, and sketch 3 is the C9

  • aaptk

[deleted post]funny, i thought it was the other way around

  • snonre

[deleted post]why are you here then? to bash the ever more popular n8? i would like 2 have a good camera on my cell. and the n8 has the largest sensor ever built in a cellphone.

  • Nameless

[deleted post]Oke, its your right to say your mind...or spread FUD for that matter.

Can you tell us why are you so upset? We'll walk you through your forest of issues and enlighten you if we can, we are all one you know...

Also, yes I did find it necessary to respond to a pointless post with...well...a pointless post ^_^. Hope someone out there gets the irony...

  • Ejike Ojukwu

Power problem apparently because of battery. I bought 20pcs from Dubia, I had 6 returns now. Seem to be the majour problem of the phone.

  • azm

Anonymous, 16 Nov 2010N8 is BEST phone! MUST SEE!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n... moreintresting! ppl trying anything to bash N8. maybe....maybe they want help the would be buyers of N8 to make better buy... wakaka. thanks N8 bashers! thank you !! we love you all

  • Anonymous

N8 is BEST phone!
MUST SEE!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4XRcZs0iao