Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

wheez tell me how you open multiple tabs in N8's browser ?

  • Wheez

Engineer Man, 10 Oct 2010No, I mean there is no Copy & paste string text in the Web B... moreThe copy & paste works in the current browser in N8 in at least some places/ways. Anything you can edit yourself, you can copy/paste. Not sure (havnt really tried but at least doesnt seem doable at first thought) if theres any way to currently copy paste normal text that is already written on the page.

As said, N8s browser also has a full support for new windows, apart from lacking a button to open said new windows in a controlled manner.

  • Anonymous

Engineer Man, 10 Oct 2010Although Copy & paste is available anywhere else within Symb... moreNokia developed new Ovi client and web browser for S40 using QTWebkit. For the new web browser for S60 & Symbian 3 is under development. It will be released soon.

  • Engineer Man

Wheez. Have got your N8? I'm sure it was you who trialed the phone & gave us your thoughts. Does the N8's Web browser finally have copy & paste, multiple windows?

Thanks :)

  • Engineer Man

Although Copy & paste is available anywhere else within Symbian. It's even available for the Nokia Messaging Email client but not the WEB Browser... :)

  • Engineer Man

Anonymous, 10 Oct 2010Engineer Man, you can copy & paste string text. First use... moreNo, I mean there is no Copy & paste string text in the Web Browser currently on my N5800. It's not possible even in the latest firmware Im currently running, neither are multiple page windows!

  • AMANITA

Wheez, 10 Oct 2010Either it can't be changed or none of the default themes have se... moreOk I ve found ! Itz just bcoz they have used only default themes in most of the videos ! Glad to see,in 1 video orange N8 has orange background in menu :) so it depends on the themes :)

  • Wheez

Anonymous, 10 Oct 2010even those having CD or USB music player in their cars, it is be... moreIt can use other apps though, so not just the music player. For example I once forgot the FM transmitter on and started playing NFS: Shift, the game sounds came from the radio! :D

  • Wheez

Anonymous, 10 Oct 2010even those having CD or USB music player in their cars, it is be... moreAt least the OVI Map version 3.04 (theres 3.06 in beta with pinch to zoom, so might have better support for FM transmitter too. Ive been told it works perfectly on N8 but personally I dont wanna use betas) it doesnt say the instructions through the radio, which is abit sad, cos I don't see why not. It however lowers the FM transmitters volume down so that you can still easily hear the Ovi Map speaking, although the sound comes from the phone and not the radio.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 10 Oct 2010still waiting for my N8 and using it. as per my knowledge wit... moreeven those having CD or USB music player in their cars, it is better to listen music by this feature, in this way you will not miss any call b/c music sound.

i dont know whether can use it with OVI maps or any other apps, but it will be great listening intrustions in this way

  • Anonymous

Wheez, 10 Oct 2010Yes I have and it works beautifully and the sound quality was as... morestill waiting for my N8 and using it.

as per my knowledge with FM transmitor you can publish a show, program or share your music upto a broad area like in college campus, all having FM radio reciever facility can listen it at that particular frequency

  • Wheez

Anonymous, 10 Oct 2010wheez did you use FM transmitor feature in N8 (I am not talki... moreYes I have and it works beautifully and the sound quality was as good as my car radio could just push it. This is a real big feature for me, cos every car I would potentially drive in my life atm just has a radio and like a cassette player, no MP3 or USBs or even CDs, this lets me play good music and not rely on the radio channels selection :D

My car, my fiancees car, my moms cars, my dads car and the car I drive at work all have "just a radio", so this really is a feature I wouldn't trade away.

  • Anonymous

Wheez, 10 Oct 2010And I'll say this too, my old phone was E65 that was nothing lik... morewheez did you use FM transmitor feature in N8

(I am not talking about FM radio)

  • Wheez

AMANITA, 10 Oct 2010Yo yo congratz ! 6 million hitz ! Have a question in my mind b... moreEither it can't be changed or none of the default themes have set any other color than black for it (which I doubt). I'd like to get it in a different color too, but then again, I open the menu VERY rarely. I access everything via the homescreens. Those are customizable :D

  • Wheez

hani, 10 Oct 2010i would like to ask wheez a question about the browser. Is st... moreI never really close the browser, cos I always keep 3+ tabs open in it and with the current browser they are abit annoying to open cos no dedicated button for that. So far it hasnt closed itself.

What do you want to know about the cache? The default browsers cache goes to C:/ sadly, so in theory you might be able to fill the 140mb it has free there with cache files, but I'm not sure if you'd be able to do that in 2 years. Personally I'm used to my laptop deleting all temp. files apart from passwords every time I close the browser, so I regularly delete all privacy stuff from the N8 browser too apart from passwords.

  • AMANITA

Yo yo congratz ! 6 million hitz !
Have a question in my mind but It can be a stupid quest. ! Why the menu background is always black ? Can't it be changed with different themes ?

  • Wheez

Wheez, 10 Oct 2010I wouldnt judge the whole UI just cos it looks the same. Alot of... moreAnd I'll say this too, my old phone was E65 that was nothing like the touch screen Symbians till now (this meaning that I'm not familiar with modern Symbians), and I've yet to have open to manual myself once. I've found the Symbian^3 extremely easy to use and stuff is in logical places.

Not a single thing has been left undone cos the UI was too hard to use. Don't blindly jump on the bandwagon cos the American journalists are too used to different operating system to be able to adapt to Symbian.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 10 Oct 2010Engineer Man, you can copy & paste string text. First use... moreengineer man and all having doubt about copy paste

i think you never used your phones properly....

even in s40 versions copy and paste facility was there in options... and also in s60.... from the start

and all e series (personally having in family e63, e71) have "ctrl c" and "ctrl v" shortcut as they have extra button "ctrl"

  • hani

i would like to ask wheez a question about the browser.

Is still the web browser close by itself like we had in 5800 and n97 or nokia fixed it with that phone ????
Do you have any idea about the cache??

  • Wheez

punky88, 10 Oct 2010Nokia is really a great mobile maker.. But one thing sucks in NO... moreI wouldnt judge the whole UI just cos it looks the same. Alot of its functionality was changed too. No more double taps to get stuff done. Presenting a press & hold command to open bigger menus. Alot less "Do you want to [Yes] [No]. Even if it looks the same, it really doesnt function the same.

I'm not sure if you've given it a try yet, but try if possible, I'm very pleased with the Symbian^3, very well optimized for touch screen devices and I really don't get whats the talk about it being hard to use. Ok, I give it that you can do alot more than just have a single tap do everything, but thats the price you pay for having features and functionality.

I hate to use this argument, but back when I was younger, reading the manual was a granted thing. I rather have to check the manual a few times that have a dumbed down operating system cos some people are too lazy to open the damn manual. But luckily, thats the beauty of having diversity in the phones and operating systems, everyone can pick what fits them the best.

I really suggest to not judge Symbian^3 cos of older Symbians unless if it's ONLY about the visual look staying the same. Windows 7 doesnt suck cos Windows Vista sucked.