Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • PC

Why dont these wavers brag about their phones (what they call phones) in their own forms, btw i by chance went there and all i saw is ppl complaining about the buggy OS (if it is really an OS), battery life, and their syncronization with stupid kiaes or kites, whatever.. the point is just kick the wavers out of this form.. cheeeeers

  • rOman

Anonymous, 09 Aug 2010Lets face it. Nokia makes phones for geeks ie user interface is ... moreThe equation of Symbian Vs Android in % may something like this 40 : 6.......right? if not may be u r taken minority as a general user......

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 09 Aug 2010Lets face it. Nokia makes phones for geeks ie user interface is ... moreN900 was not failure. It was a surprising to Nokia success. Of course, it is a bit geeky since very little add-on software existed when it was launched. Users had to wait and search it on Nokia forums. Its spread in North America was also limited due to the phone having 1700 / 2100 3G when the majority operators use 850/1900. Only T-Mobile subscribes could use it.

  • iphone user

apple phones are still more decent than those of nokia. 12mp camera? better get an external flash along with it...lol!

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 09 Aug 2010I suggest that nokia include instructional manual written in kin... moreLets face it. Nokia makes phones for geeks ie user interface is unimportant but capability is important. Android/iphone make phones for general user. They keep user interface in mind. Eg they dont mind having 5 mp camera instead 12 mp as long as users experince is good. For them user experience is important than capability. And since general users are outnumber geeks heavily, nokia lags behind androids & iphones & samsungs. Take example of n900 which was a failure as it was made for geeks. Lets see how n8 fares

  • Matt

The N8 is the best-looking smartphone I've seen (especially in blue or orange). The 12-Megapixel camera (with dual Xenon flash!), totally radioed-up -- including FM transmitter and Flash support really make it the all-in-one device I've been waiting for...for years. No, it's not Android. Which, to me, means you're not supplying your user data to Google (seems a bit Orwellian to me, anyway). Complain about Symbian all you want; but capabilities will always trump font style, icons, menus or any of the cosmetic complaints that I hear about Symbian.

  • Anonymous

I suggest that nokia include instructional manual written in kindergarten language.


I've heard/read lots of complaints from people who don't know how to manage a smartphone. It sucks.

  • r 3 b 3 l

phones fan, 08 Aug 2010sorry but I don't agree with you ,my samsung wave video light is... moreDude, thats the whitest lie i've heard this month. Do you know what a meter is? Unless you'r gonna tell me your waves flash is powered by an external cell, i put it to you that at 2m, what you get is a horrible video filled with red green blue artifacts(if the flash were a good one) while at 5m, its completely useless. If your waves flash was that good, samsung would have ventured into the street lightening market. Not even dual led can give you a good video at 5m.

  • r 3 b 3 l

Anonymous, 09 Aug 2010skype voice works on symbian phones. if the current version will... moreDude, skype symbian supports video calling.

  • Anonymous

RONALD, 08 Aug 2010what's the benifit of edge class 33 where 3g is therekeep in mind that 3g is still not universally available. even though 4g networks are starting to roll out. for some situations this 2G class 33 may be of some help.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 09 Aug 2010i want to pre-order this phone but just wanna know if compatible... moreskype voice works on symbian phones. if the current version will not be working on S^3 for some reason, i have no doubts it will be updated to work in short order.

native skype software has no video calling for symbian. until recently skype video calls could be placed via fring, but skype recently shutdown fring's access to the network due to some conflict of interests. not sure if this is temporary or not.

  • Anonymous

i want to pre-order this phone but just wanna know if compatible to skype voice and video calling as well. thanks

  • Anonymous

That youtube vid demonstrating the browser looks ok. Finally it looks like they got the browser right. Still a bit slow, but maybe because of the flash. At least it looks like you can actually use the browser now though.

  • Anonymous

leanne, 09 Aug 2010is nokia n8 will be launch in canada? and when?Given that all carriers are supporting 3G, it it will come faster than in the past when only Rogers had compatible network.

Wind will probably be one of the first operators since it is compatible with their 1700 MHz network and will occupy high end offering slot.

  • Anonymous

Cindy, 08 Aug 2010The 'USB on the go' is a great feature to have, but really, who ... moreYou have a problem with icons. Icons have nothing to do with OS. Symbian OS has nothing to do with it. The same icons can be reused in in any OS, even Meego, or iOS :)

  • leanne

is nokia n8 will be launch in canada? and when?

  • Adam

Nokia N8 browser demo (Flash + YouTube)
http://dailymobile.se/2010/08/08/nokia-n8-browse­r-demo-flash-youtube/

  • Anonymous

To every one:


I saw Nokia N8 official videos that made by nokia and saw that it is extremely fast with nice effects.

This phone don't need more speed.

Thank you all.

  • Anonymous

RONALD, 08 Aug 2010what's the benifit of edge class 33 where 3g is there3G *(very high mobile internet speeds) uses much more battery power in any phone when using the internet. But when using GSM or EDGE it uses little battery power as the speed is limited. So Class 33 (maybe) will use little battery and provide higher speed.

  • SidewindeR

Why in the world do all these samsung fanboys wanna compare their wave to the N8 (a phone that hasn't hit the market yet). Think they feel so insecure and wants to proclaim that wave is the best (though the truth is far from different) so that they can feel good about themselves for having purchased a buggy phone that doesn't even do what basic smartphones are suppose to do.
The thing about majority of Nokia users is that they know what they have is the best and doesn't have to shout around to let themselves be heard. When you know that you have the power at your hands you don't show it to anyone. It's that simple. I have used a handfull of samsung phones myself and I can tell you nothing even comes close to what Nokia offers. The user experience is that much refined and the rest are pretty much self explanatory. This being the main reason why Nokia is still the preferred mobile of choice for majority of users especially in booming markets like India.