Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • sanbin24

Carol, 17 Nov 2012Yes that's quite heavy usage. but it is also important how to tr... morehey Carol...
Let me ask u one thing..
Is nokia's future bright wid windows phone 8 coz as i think every other competitor has started aquiring win 8 as their phone os.
So will nokia be successful or is Elop in strategy to sell nokia to microsoft.
What do u say about the company 'NOKIA'

  • AnonD-20358

Got the set a few days back (unlocked). Overall satisfied, but like all Symbian based devices - seemed a bit sluggish in opeations.
Although there is a shortage of good apps, I don't mind it that much as I already own a Desire S.
Camera is definitely the main or rather only reason for buying this device, and I am not totally disappointed :)

  • Matt

Guys,is there any video player to use for n8 aside from the built in video player? Where can i download it?

  • rKs

mustapha, 16 Nov 2012pls what is the use of the HDMI on top of the n8 between the swi... moreYou Can Connect This HDMI port to TV's HDMI port Through HDMI Cable and Play Recorded Video,Pictures On BIg Screen Of TV.

  • Carol

Yemko, 17 Nov 2012Hi palz, I just gat n8 with PR 1.1 firware, i tried to update it... moreHallo. IS your n8 new? Also, is it branded or locked on some network service? Also, are you trying to install the new firmware via OTA (over the air, straight with your phone)? IF yes, there is no way you can do that. Symbian belle will install only with nokia suite. It would be kind of strange for nokia not to release this firmware for everybody... Also there is another way to install belle refresh... but it is a bit complicated if you are new in business. I will give you some instructions maybe you can do it. I am not hold responsive if something goes wrong. Presuming that you have a PC and Nokia suite installed let's start. So first you need Nokia suite being installed, there is no go without it. Now download navifirm from: http://www.symbian-toys.com/navifirm.aspx#downlo­ad (you will also need to have .net framework 4.0 http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.­aspx?id=17718 in your pc for navifirm to open).

Ok, now decompress the archive of navifirm on desktop or wherever you want to. Double click on NaviFirmPlus fire, after it opens hit "clear local cache" button. After it is done, slide down through phones until you find n8. When find it. just click one time on it, on the second panel will appear it's old and new firmwares.

11.12
111.30.609
111.30.610
111.40.1511
13.16
14.2
22.14
24.1
25.7
25.8

if you see this file systems then you are in the right place. Now the firmware that contains belle refresh is 111.40.1511. click one time on it and wait until everything loads, can take awhile, depending on your internet connection. So now you can find all the country's available for this firmware. Peak your country or the one closest to your country. try to respect the color of the device. An example: a Germany dark gray device would be this file: euro2_dg_germany ("product code"). now on the last panel you need just to browse where you want this files to be downloaded and click download. Don't change anything in the last right panel. Just download. Now comes the complicate part. And you will have to register to this site first: forum.symbian-developers.net Is no spamm or something like that, it is just a site that provides good tutorial on how to flash with phoenix. After that, enter http://forum.symbian-developers.net/flashing-tut­orials-%28updating-and-downgrading%29/%28tutoria­l%29-how-to-flash-official-nokia-belle-in-n8-%28­111-030-0609%29/ for flashing belle with phoenix instructions.

  • Yemko

Hi palz, I just gat n8 with PR 1.1 firware, i tried to update it but always gives v024.001 as the available firmware update... How can i update it to belle refresh directly

  • Carol

AnonD-50635, 17 Nov 2012yeah carol.. i know a senior person(the place where i work), he ... moreYes that's quite heavy usage. but it is also important how to treat your battery. You can search some specs about charging and taking care of lithium battery's. There are allot of opinions and i took some of every. Some instructions are not so smart some are quite good. One important thing is that i rarely let it's battery deplete to 0%. i normally put it in charger when still has like 2 lines (20 or 15 or 10%). So when i need it to last, will last! Also, a fact to be know is that lithium battery's loose their capacity like 20% per year so this is quite sh*t but is true... They start to loose the capacity even after the first day of manufacturing. Unfortunately this problem has no cure by now. So even if you buy a new battery to replace the old one don't expect to much from it if it's manufacture, let's say, like 2 years ago. You will be able to use only maximum 70% of it. This is why people complain that they bought new battery's and they still don't last.

  • AnonD-50635

AnonD-77977, 17 Nov 2012This is a amazing mobile....i m using this mobile from last 3mon... moreDude pls let me know battery backup breakup details..
Like how much percentage drop while using and idle .. and mixed condition how long does it support you.. and yeah the charging time too (0 to 100%)
and 75kb/s ??? on 2G??

  • AnonD-77977

This is a amazing mobile....i m using this mobile from last 3month........amazing battery backup, amazing internet speed....with AIRTEL sim upto 90kbps speed and with TATA DOCOMO 70 - 75KBPS AMAZING MUSIC PLAY BACK , VIDEO PLAY BACK ALSO COOL HD VIDEO RECORDING....720pCool phone.....best ever.....nokia ROCK

  • AnonD-50635

Carol, 17 Nov 2012I really don't think there is a difference between n8 and the co... moreyeah carol.. i know a senior person(the place where i work), he uses this phone mainly for calls(4 hrs per day), texts(atleast 50 per day) and mail reception always ON(3G) and he gets around 20 hrs of backup.. and i think this is heavy usage.. mine will be half of it. plus a lil bit of gaming.. so i think i can get atleast 30hrs of backup. .. also i will be using 2G.

  • sumit saha

This is a amazing mobile....i m using this mobile from last 3month........amazing battery backup, amazing internet speed....with AIRTEL sim upto 90kbps speed and with TATA DOCOMO 70 - 75KBPS AMAZING MUSIC PLAY BACK , VIDEO PLAY BACK ALSO COOL HD VIDEO RECORDING....720pCool phone.....best ever.....nokia ROCK

  • AnonD-50635

AnonD-77781, 17 Nov 2012I am talking about Indian mobile model : Battery backup is WO... moreSudhakar .. i m from India like you dear..
and your phone must be a faulty one..
May i know when and from where did u purchased it?? is it from Nokia Priority dealer?

  • Laur

mustapha, 16 Nov 2012pls what is the use of the HDMI on top of the n8 between the swi... morethe use is for TV out via HDMI, you can view your phone files on a tv that supports HDMI, the "old" tv out is the jack 3.5 ...

  • Anonymous

My N8 rulez well I needed a better camera though

  • Mika

When i confuse n8 ya lumia 800

  • Carol

AnonD-50635, 17 Nov 2012What are u saying buddy!!! I am about to buy this phone...(i m ... moreI really don't think there is a difference between n8 and the countrys has be bouth. It is not there is a n8 build for every country... I hqve no problems with my battery. Yes, last 24 hours sometimes a bit more more. But. I always talk more then 3 hours per day on it. And play just as much, sometimes i use internet wile talking and my battery still give me 24 hours. Go to s3 and see how they are proud with 12 hours on avarage usage... Pathetic! But this is the smartphone world this days, so the n8 is quite good on it's battery when it last 24 hours. If i use it normaly, like: don't play so much with it and don't talk so much on the phone, it last from 2 to 3 days. Right now i'm on my n8 charged yesterday. Since the last charging i was talking more then 5 hours on it, i played on it, and now i'm using the internet from one hour o it. Still hqve 14% of the battery and i go straight to 24 hours in just about 15 minutes. If i stop using it right now, this 15% WILL take me through the night. But that no go for me cause i will use it. Big time:)).

  • AnonD-77781

AnonD-50635, 17 Nov 2012What are u saying buddy!!! I am about to buy this phone...(i m ... moreI am talking about Indian mobile model :

Battery backup is WORST !!!. Read my previous post. It will last only 20 to 24 hours.

Read my previous post.

I have given my mobile to Nokia care. I may get back this month end (may be on 29th or 30th Nov).

Look at the 7th point in main disadvantages section in http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_n8-review-523.php . Then say.

I don't know the case with foreign Nokia N8-00 models.

  • Ayman

mustapha, 16 Nov 2012pls what is the use of the HDMI on top of the n8 between the swi... moreHDMI is an interface used to connect your phone to a monitor, tv, or projector.

  • AnonD-50635

What are u saying buddy!!!
I am about to buy this phone...(i m from INDIA too).. ppl please comment on batery backup specially those who have got belle os out of the box..
please... battery backup is must for me.. sold 2 phones in 4 months just coz of this reason..

  • Salman

AnonD-77430, 16 Nov 2012I didn't know people still were commenting on the N8 but since I... moreyes dear i am also using n8 from 2 years and its best cell phone but failed in skype video calling and a bit slow in office documents when zoomed.