Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • AnonD-20890

AnonD-50635, 18 Nov 2012Hmn.. kk Please don't forget to reply here once you get back yo... moreOk. When I searched for similar phones in Samsung, none of them are having dedicated camera key.

  • AnonD-50635

AnonD-20890, 18 Nov 2012I will normally put to charge when the Nokia battery monitor sho... moreHmn.. kk
Please don't forget to reply here once you get back your phone.. waiting for your response. :)

  • AnonD-20890

AnonD-50635, 18 Nov 2012Have you tried calibrating your battery?? Process: Drain it to ... moreI will normally put to charge when the Nokia battery monitor shows 10%.

I have Nokia N79, 5320 EM and 1280. All these did not show worst backup (like N8) when they were new. I use iON battery timer for N79 and 5320 EM to know the battery charge level.

Only this idiot cheater (N8) is behaving like this.

I have given N8 to Nokia care. Lets see this month end. If I don't get a solution, I will sell this N8 and I will buy Samsung I9070 Galaxy S advance with almost similar features like N8.

  • vb78

AnonD-50635, 18 Nov 2012Have you tried calibrating your battery?? Process: Drain it to ... moreLi-Ion battery does not need calibration.
Do not drain your battery at 0%, it will ruined battery.
They start degrading as soon as they leave the factory. They will only last two or three years from the date of manufacture whether you use them or not.
Lithium-ion does not need to be fully charged; a partial charge is better.

  • mustak

what a brillant phone

  • Anonymous

this is really a biggest harassment by symbian that it really has no skype and yahoo videocall. I brought n8 only for videocall purpose but except fring and from 3g dialer. It really does not support any videocall. No yahoo no skype no google talk. It only has that bloody cloud chatting from these services which is really useless. What a crap shit nokia. Tough n8 has many features but still it is useless. Even cheap android phones made by samsung supports yahoo videocall and skype call too. Nokia and symbian is really a crap in front of samsung cheap phones. Even symbian does not even supports new fring version. So my next phone will be samsung and i really want not only symbian but even whole nokia should be permanentaly discontunied in the whole world. So bye bye nokia forever. Android is best.

  • AnonD-50635

AnonD-20890, 18 Nov 2012Hey. I bought it only from Nokia priority shop at Erode (Tamilna... moreHave you tried calibrating your battery??
Process: Drain it to 0% and let the phone switch off.
Then connect the charger straight upto 100%.. do this 4-5 times at one go.. i.e. don't break this process.. i read it somewhere that by this process battery backup is much much improved..

  • AnonD-50635

Carol, 17 Nov 2012Yes that's quite heavy usage. but it is also important how to tr... moreSo carol.. what should we do to get most out of battery life?
We should drain it to 0% to let it calibrate everytime.. or we should charge it once it shows low battery alarm?
And yes.. i always look from month and year of manufacture.. whether it's a phone/battery..

  • AnonD-20890

AnonD-50635, 17 Nov 2012Sudhakar .. i m from India like you dear.. and your phone must ... moreHey. I bought it only from Nokia priority shop at Erode (Tamilnadu, INDIA). I am 'quality' conscious when buying electronic gadjets.

I have given my mobile for service. Lets see. I think I will get back by this month end (29th or 30th Nov 2012).

I asked African students who are studying in the ARTS college in the same college campus. They told that they get 2 days of backup in their mobile which they bought from Africa. The mobile looked old. So even after getting old, they get 2 days backup means, then they should have got 3 days backup when it was new !!!. I think that one may have been a good piece.

  • sanbin24

Carol, 17 Nov 2012Yes that's quite heavy usage. but it is also important how to tr... morehey Carol...
Let me ask u one thing..
Is nokia's future bright wid windows phone 8 coz as i think every other competitor has started aquiring win 8 as their phone os.
So will nokia be successful or is Elop in strategy to sell nokia to microsoft.
What do u say about the company 'NOKIA'

  • AnonD-20358

Got the set a few days back (unlocked). Overall satisfied, but like all Symbian based devices - seemed a bit sluggish in opeations.
Although there is a shortage of good apps, I don't mind it that much as I already own a Desire S.
Camera is definitely the main or rather only reason for buying this device, and I am not totally disappointed :)

  • Matt

Guys,is there any video player to use for n8 aside from the built in video player? Where can i download it?

  • rKs

mustapha, 16 Nov 2012pls what is the use of the HDMI on top of the n8 between the swi... moreYou Can Connect This HDMI port to TV's HDMI port Through HDMI Cable and Play Recorded Video,Pictures On BIg Screen Of TV.

  • Carol

Yemko, 17 Nov 2012Hi palz, I just gat n8 with PR 1.1 firware, i tried to update it... moreHallo. IS your n8 new? Also, is it branded or locked on some network service? Also, are you trying to install the new firmware via OTA (over the air, straight with your phone)? IF yes, there is no way you can do that. Symbian belle will install only with nokia suite. It would be kind of strange for nokia not to release this firmware for everybody... Also there is another way to install belle refresh... but it is a bit complicated if you are new in business. I will give you some instructions maybe you can do it. I am not hold responsive if something goes wrong. Presuming that you have a PC and Nokia suite installed let's start. So first you need Nokia suite being installed, there is no go without it. Now download navifirm from: http://www.symbian-toys.com/navifirm.aspx#downlo­ad (you will also need to have .net framework 4.0 http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.­aspx?id=17718 in your pc for navifirm to open).

Ok, now decompress the archive of navifirm on desktop or wherever you want to. Double click on NaviFirmPlus fire, after it opens hit "clear local cache" button. After it is done, slide down through phones until you find n8. When find it. just click one time on it, on the second panel will appear it's old and new firmwares.

11.12
111.30.609
111.30.610
111.40.1511
13.16
14.2
22.14
24.1
25.7
25.8

if you see this file systems then you are in the right place. Now the firmware that contains belle refresh is 111.40.1511. click one time on it and wait until everything loads, can take awhile, depending on your internet connection. So now you can find all the country's available for this firmware. Peak your country or the one closest to your country. try to respect the color of the device. An example: a Germany dark gray device would be this file: euro2_dg_germany ("product code"). now on the last panel you need just to browse where you want this files to be downloaded and click download. Don't change anything in the last right panel. Just download. Now comes the complicate part. And you will have to register to this site first: forum.symbian-developers.net Is no spamm or something like that, it is just a site that provides good tutorial on how to flash with phoenix. After that, enter http://forum.symbian-developers.net/flashing-tut­orials-%28updating-and-downgrading%29/%28tutoria­l%29-how-to-flash-official-nokia-belle-in-n8-%28­111-030-0609%29/ for flashing belle with phoenix instructions.

  • Yemko

Hi palz, I just gat n8 with PR 1.1 firware, i tried to update it but always gives v024.001 as the available firmware update... How can i update it to belle refresh directly

  • Carol

AnonD-50635, 17 Nov 2012yeah carol.. i know a senior person(the place where i work), he ... moreYes that's quite heavy usage. but it is also important how to treat your battery. You can search some specs about charging and taking care of lithium battery's. There are allot of opinions and i took some of every. Some instructions are not so smart some are quite good. One important thing is that i rarely let it's battery deplete to 0%. i normally put it in charger when still has like 2 lines (20 or 15 or 10%). So when i need it to last, will last! Also, a fact to be know is that lithium battery's loose their capacity like 20% per year so this is quite sh*t but is true... They start to loose the capacity even after the first day of manufacturing. Unfortunately this problem has no cure by now. So even if you buy a new battery to replace the old one don't expect to much from it if it's manufacture, let's say, like 2 years ago. You will be able to use only maximum 70% of it. This is why people complain that they bought new battery's and they still don't last.

  • AnonD-50635

AnonD-77977, 17 Nov 2012This is a amazing mobile....i m using this mobile from last 3mon... moreDude pls let me know battery backup breakup details..
Like how much percentage drop while using and idle .. and mixed condition how long does it support you.. and yeah the charging time too (0 to 100%)
and 75kb/s ??? on 2G??

  • AnonD-77977

This is a amazing mobile....i m using this mobile from last 3month........amazing battery backup, amazing internet speed....with AIRTEL sim upto 90kbps speed and with TATA DOCOMO 70 - 75KBPS AMAZING MUSIC PLAY BACK , VIDEO PLAY BACK ALSO COOL HD VIDEO RECORDING....720pCool phone.....best ever.....nokia ROCK

  • AnonD-50635

Carol, 17 Nov 2012I really don't think there is a difference between n8 and the co... moreyeah carol.. i know a senior person(the place where i work), he uses this phone mainly for calls(4 hrs per day), texts(atleast 50 per day) and mail reception always ON(3G) and he gets around 20 hrs of backup.. and i think this is heavy usage.. mine will be half of it. plus a lil bit of gaming.. so i think i can get atleast 30hrs of backup. .. also i will be using 2G.

  • sumit saha

This is a amazing mobile....i m using this mobile from last 3month........amazing battery backup, amazing internet speed....with AIRTEL sim upto 90kbps speed and with TATA DOCOMO 70 - 75KBPS AMAZING MUSIC PLAY BACK , VIDEO PLAY BACK ALSO COOL HD VIDEO RECORDING....720pCool phone.....best ever.....nokia ROCK