Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Lol, 07 Jun 2010Please please suggest me which color N8 should I choose.. Please... moreHey pal, this is base on your personal preference. Do not get influence by others opinion.

Actually, i myself also having hard time to choose between the blue, orange and black color.

I guess we will have to wait till we have the real device on our hand to decide which color looks best for us. :)

  • Lol

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2010This phone is very well balanced ,a good combination of all feat... morePlease please suggest me which color N8 should I choose.. Please suggest as a good friend.

  • Mark

Sk, 07 Jun 2010That was convincing enough.....i think the present 680Mhz proces... moreYou are right, we will have to wait and see. However, is the CPU is too slow, which I doubt, then the speed can be adjusted through firmware, like happened to the 5800.

  • Anonymous

This phone is very well balanced ,a good combination of all features and i think itz good with cost 450 USD

  • Mark

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2010thanks alot boss, do you happen to have an n900 by any chance?... moreAs an N900 owner: overclocking means flashing a new kernel in there. Depending on how that kernel is written you can update or not. Worst case you will need flash back stock kernel, then update, then flash updated kernel (high speed kernel will be adjusted like what happened when going from 1.1 tot 1.2)

Cheers

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2010n900 can be sucessfully overclocked to 1.2 ghz but that may caus... morethanks alot boss,
do you happen to have an n900 by any chance? im debating if i should overclock mine, but i notice they say you have to flash it and manually run the firmware updates. does that mean no updates notifications will come to your phone if you overclock it? do you know of anyways that it can be overclocked and continue to recieve the updates?

  • AMANITA

I am not gonna judje this phone only by itz specs,i am waiting to release it and for itz actual performance . Love N8.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2010yea its definately clocked down... the nokia n900 can be over cl... moren900 can be sucessfully overclocked to 1.2 ghz but that may cause instabillity, however 1 ghz can be acheived safely!
http://themeegoblog.com/2010/04/04/how-to-overcl­ock-the-nokia-n900/?utm_source=feedburner&ut­m_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+MaemoCentra­l+%28Maemo+Central%29&utm_content=Google+Rea­der

  • SK

Lol, 07 Jun 2010According to Rumors N8 has Arm 1176 processor core. Here you can... moreThanks for the info I knew that it was ARM11 but not that it was actually 1176....

  • Sk

kevinaux, 07 Jun 2010Sk, I understand your apprehension about the possibility the N8 ... moreThat was convincing enough.....i think the present 680Mhz processor to my knowledge falls in the 600Mhz category(a slightly higher though) which I think the statement I made is not a fallacy..... the phone looks promising.... but we are only 'hopeful' that it performs well although it is optimized to use the GPU....there are no fears or misconceptions though.....it is just a thought....So you do admit than the Phone may be slow with 680MHZ?

  • Anonymous

Lol, 07 Jun 2010According to Rumors N8 has Arm 1176 processor core. Here you can... moreyea its definately clocked down... the nokia n900 can be over clocked to 1ghz but is restricted at 600mhz only to save battery. people have successfully overclocked it to 850 mhz and have no problem with it. in the same way, nokia has done that with this phone for increased efficiency. this phone will not be slow wat so ever. any lag will be due to bugs in symbian (if there's any) (which will be fixed with updates), not due to the processor.

  • Anonymous

Lol, 07 Jun 2010Its not paint. Even if you scratch the phone hardly the color wi... moreyea i know its not paint, i didn't mean it that way, i guess i should have said colour instead. its deposited via chemical electrolysis... basically its very hard to take off. and the finish on it is unbelieveable...

  • Lol

Sk, 07 Jun 2010Thanks....where did u gt this info from ?...i tried searching in... moreAccording to Rumors N8 has Arm 1176 processor core. Here you can get info about it and other arm processors. http://www.arm.com/products/processors/classic/a­rm11/arm1176.php

  • SK

Ohk.... N8 has a single CPU......

  • kevinaux

Sk, 07 Jun 2010It is just a thought that it would have been better if N8 came u... moreSk, I understand your apprehension about the possibility the N8 coming short in terms of power under the hood. Let me help you allay some of your fears and possible misconception.

1. The the most important fact here is that the N97 used Symbian^1 which was basically the old Series 60 OS running with a touch UI layer. I don't think I have to explain what a bad idea that turned out to be. N8 on the other hand runs a completely reworked OS with an UI that is designed for not only for touch screens but also hard keys. This new UI introduces single touch interface and pinch zoom that was lacking in the previous version.

2. The CPU in N97 was a disappointing ARM 11 434 MHz processor. In comparison, the N8 uses an ARM 11 680 MHz processor. This incidentally is the fastest CPU Nokia has ever stuffed into any of their phones. I point to your statement that "Nokia is still sticking with 600Mhz" which is not true.

3. Not only has the N97 had a slower CPU, it also lacked a GPU. As a matter of act the Symbian^1 would not even have taken advantage on a GPU even if there was one. Symbian^3 on the other hand was designed to optimize the usage of a GPU whereby its UI runs on this allowing for very smooth operation. And importantly, it runs a powerful Broadcom GPU.

I hope I do justice in explaining what an amazing user experience the N8 promises with the these upgrades even with a 'slower' but no less adequate CPU.

  • Sk

Lol, 07 Jun 2010Dont worry. The default clockrate of Cpu is 750 mhz but Nokia ha... moreThanks....where did u gt this info from ?...i tried searching in the ARM site but could no find one.....and by the way is this processor a Single or dual core?

  • Lol

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2010hey hey hey... im a nokia fan boy too, but dont hate on moto, th... moreIts not paint. Even if you scratch the phone hardly the color will not go because Nokia have add the color while making Anodized Aluminium.

  • Lol

Sk , 07 Jun 2010800Mhz would hv been enough and 1Ghz would hv been betterDont worry. The default clockrate of Cpu is 750 mhz but Nokia has underclocked it to 680 mhz (dont know why). It can be safely overclocked to 850 mhz.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2010hey hey hey... im a nokia fan boy too, but dont hate on moto, th... moredamnnnnnnn,
im currently using an n900 (and i love itt), but i wanna get this too now. im stunned by the things they've put into this phone. its like the only thing they left out is a qwerty keyboard. so sexy....

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2010Nokia N8 vs Motorola Milestone XT720 http://www.gsmarena.com/co... morehey hey hey... im a nokia fan boy too, but dont hate on moto, thier still better than 90% of the companies out there. if there's a company you should hate on, its SE, LG, BB...
Moto has stepped up their game insanely, but still NOKIA FOREVER.
this phone isn't even a flagship yet it makes other phones look like a joke. Alumin body with anodized paint? SOOOO ballin.. thats some serious build quality!!!