Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • carol

VIC, 29 Oct 2012From all the reflashes and downgrades I did(11.5, Anna, Belle, R... moreI don't think you will get the same bad luck on every mobile device... Maybe something just burned inside, maybe it is the antenna, maybe it is an isolated case, allot of "maybes" but no answers, i know! Just take and see if they can tell you at least what is the problem. They have to know that. Maybe yours was just defective and the problem was just a time matter to pop-up!

  • VIC

Carol, 29 Oct 2012There is always a chip for everything in nokia or any other gadg... moreFrom all the reflashes and downgrades I did(11.5, Anna, Belle, Refresh), everything was working perfect as it should and as before EXCEPT the wifi/wlan prob. It persists still. Despite all your huge help, I have no idea if it's hardware-related or a software one. I kinda doubt it was caused by a virus coz I think once you've flashed, everything is wiped out. And I used CFWs and original firmwares from Navifirm, too. Everything works great after each successful flash except wifi. Now I'm stuck not knowing if it's a hardware or software prob. I think the phone technicians I plan on going to would not know, either. Nokia would only say I should go to Nokia Care and have my software re-installed. I think I've done that with all the countless flashing I did.
The thing that bothers me now most is that if it would happen again if I get a new N8 or an 808. I will have no idea how to fix it if it happens again on a new one. I've read lotsa restarting problems with the N8 but this one's a bit isolated as it only affects the wifi and it's the only cause that my N8 would restart all the time. Also, I really hope I can solve this so I can help others with their N8 if this ever happens to them, too. You've been a big help, Carol and thanks again.

  • Carol

VIC, 29 Oct 2012Now I'm more confused. I just wanna know how this happened and h... moreThere is always a chip for everything in nokia or any other gadget. You cannot replace them! Let's say you can replace the chip responsible for wlan and other connections... but even if you can do that is more easier to buy a new mother board then to replace it. i don't know what happened with your phone and why, i have no answer to that. All i can say is that you are not alone. Most of them have similar problems after belle update. So, as i told you earlier i doubt now that is a chip problem. You can go to this mobile technicians, see what they have to say. you can also go to the store you bought it from, if it's still in warranty. You can also contact nokia and see if they have an answer. Or you can try a new re-flash with new files downloaded from nokia server. Maybe you have connections problems and the updates are not working as they should... and the firmwares you've downloaded are buggy. Try to do a re-flash on a good connection pc, also a very stable pc, without viruses or any other system problems. i am sorry i cannot help you more then this:(. Did your phone had any problems soon after update? Did you had connection error after update?

  • VIC

Carol, 29 Oct 2012Yes i was talking about the chip, not the antenna. But after som... moreNow I'm more confused. I just wanna know how this happened and how to fix this so I'll know what to do if I get another N8, an 808 Pureview or any other Nokia device as I use my phone a lot as a wifi hotspot. And to answer your query, the phone restarts all the time whenever it starts searching for a wifi. I'd turn on wifi and starts searching and a few seconds later, the phone restarts. One more thing, as I use an app that relies on wifi, phone would restart also.
To make it simpler, is there one chip inside the N8 that is only for the wifi that can be replaced? And if there is, how did it got fried? I really wanna know coz it might happen again if I get another Nokia. My N8 was so good at being a wifi hotspot so I intend to get another one but after this happened, I'm a bit skeptical now of getting another N8. More so, an 808 Pureview.
And I'm light years away from a Nokia Care from where I live so going to other mobile technicians is one of my options now.
Thanks again for your reply, C.

  • Carol

VIC, 29 Oct 2012Thanks for the reply, Carol. And yes, I've tried almost all refl... moreYes i was talking about the chip, not the antenna. But after some researching and looking at the motherboard i don't think is the chip either. Most probably the n8 uses a multifunctional one. So if Bluetooth and fm transmitter, also gps are working ok, then the chip problem answer is reduced to 2% true! Right now i cannot help you anymore, i'm sorry. You should take it to nokia care. Or you can still try another firmware flashing. Hard format the damn thing and the mass memory (download new original firmware files with navifirm) and flash again with phoenix. maybe you are lucky this time. Ah, yes, i wanted to ask you. It is restarting when you just turn on the wifi or after you are trying to connect to your rooter? Maybe the connection is the blame. I don't know what to say anymore:)).

  • VIC

Carol, 29 Oct 2012You said that you did every re-flashing method you know. That me... moreThanks for the reply, Carol. And yes, I've tried almost all reflashes and downgrades. 11.5, Anna, ofw Belle, etc. Everything still works except for the Wifi. And the WLAN adapter you mentioned, are you referring to the Combo Antenna that the wifi and gps rely to? If not, is the WLAN adapter like a chip that's connected to the motherboard? I didn't dropped my N8 before the Wifi stopped working and whenever I try to use it or turn it on, my N8 restarts. I wanna know how this happened and how to fix this coz I rely on my N8 as wifi hotspot for my laptop. Is my N8 bricked for good? Or this wlan adapter still can be fixed?

  • Carol

VIC, 27 Oct 2012Had my N8 for quite a while now and now I just encountered the w... moreYou said that you did every re-flashing method you know. That means that you've formatted the phone by 3 buttons method, formatted the mass memory and then flashing with phoenix right? Ok, did your phone meet the floor before your WiFi stopped working? Cause this issue can be because of the w-LAN adapter being burned. If everything: formatting, flashing downgrading... does not work, than maybe your adapter is burned:(

  • Anonymous

My N8 suddenly broke. It keeps restarting whenever I use or turn on Wifi. I wanna fix this as I don't want this happening to my 808. Is this hardware-related? Anybody knows how do I fix this?

  • 12xu

Em Yet, 28 Oct 2012I recently bought a N8 NOKIA, I have trouble shooting operating ... moreGood morning my friend, can you be more specific so we can help you: You have problem language from the begining, from the first day, you lost language after an update?, suddenly without any reason you lost the language? did you buy N8 from internet or from a shop in your country? do you have access to the shop you bought it?

  • usman

Abhijith, 28 Oct 2012You can make phone to phone videocall using 3g networktell me process of video call

  • Abhijith

srinu, 25 Oct 2012 sri i am using nokia n8 phone. this phone are not wroking for s... moreYou can make phone to phone videocall using 3g network

  • digi_bwn-india

I am using N8 for last 1 and half year. It is amazing phone. I never used a phone more than one year, but till now I can not think to replace it.

  • Em Yet

I recently bought a N8 NOKIA, I have trouble shooting operating because of the different type of language appearing in all settings and I only speak english and can not read that language. Therefore operating the phone is difficult.Any one out there experince this can share with me on how to go about correcting that...Cheers!

  • VIC

Had my N8 for quite a while now and now I just encountered the worst prob I could on this phone. Every time I turn on the wifi or try using it for some app, my N8 just reboots/restarts and I've tried almost every re-flash and downgrades and still my wifi doesn't work anymore. Any one encountered this and found a way to solve this would really be a big help as I use my N8 kinda like a router/hotspot all the time.

  • carol

Anonymous, 26 Oct 2012Is brightness on belle extra Buttons different than the one from... moreSomething went wrong in my first comment, anyway... I was saying that extra buttons from lanternsoft or from MrAlshahawy are, in fact, deactivating the light sensor from your phone. So you can set a bright level of your choice and that level will be always activated, no matter if it's full sunlight or if it's dark...

  • Carol

harry , 26 Oct 2012thnks dear carol,i tried everything u mentioned in ur posts but ... moreHey, i'm sorry that i could not help. You may still try to connect your phone to another pc and with another cable, if you can get one. Or if you have a friend with a nokia (any nokia that supports that usb mini-format) you can try his/her's nokia into your pc with your usb cable and see if is connecting. If yes, then maybe your n8 usb support is dead. You can also try the final "resurrection" :) by 3 buttons format method. What sucks about this method is that you will lose all your preinstalled apps (maps, colorize it, photo/video editor store... and the only bugs free way to get them back will be by reinstalling the firmware with phoenix, so you will need your usb to work:)

  • Carol

Anonymous, 26 Oct 2012Is brightness on belle extra Buttons different than the one from... moreyes it is, cause extra buttons from lanternsoft or from mr ashalway

  • nitin

this handset lookinn good but a problem with them hang problem in many aplication

  • harry

Carol, 24 Oct 2012It also can be an nokia suite error. Uninstall it, clean the reg... morethnks dear carol,i tried everything u mentioned in ur posts but i think the prob is related to hardware{usb port of n8}. thnks again for ur replies.

  • harry

iEATapple, 24 Oct 2012i know its ur pc is a problem. f ur pc has a virus, that's a mai... morethanks everybody for replying to my query, frnds i wanna let u knw that there is no prob. in my pc, when i attach pen drive to pc,it recoznizes pendrive,, so there is no prob. with pc, i think micro usb port of n8 is not working,and also when i make connection with bluetooth of my n8 with pc it connects nd works very well.