Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • maxup

5800xm_user, 15 May 2010Nobody's forcing you get the N8. Get the SE or something so you ... moreagree with you. the tech is inside, not outside. am i right? heheheh...

  • Anonymous

GVS, 15 May 2010SE vivaz has better advantages in terms of video recording since... moreDude,continuous auto-focus is just a feature..Still Video Quality would be better in N8 coz of the bigger sensor and light sensitivity.

Auto-focus doesn't do any good at low-light conditions..haha

  • 5800xm_user

Nobody's forcing you get the N8. Get the SE or something so you could waste your money.

  • maxup

Anonymous, 14 May 2010We are the first to make a 12mp and this phone is only the camer... moreMaybe X10 is the best like what you think, but i still loved Nokia and really waiting for N8. And i think most users are same as me.

  • 5800xm_user

The Nokia N8 has a CPU AND a GPU far better than any of the phones in the market. Rivals that of the 1GHz Snapdragon because the CPU itself powers graphics and has no GPU to support it. THAT IS NOT GOOD.

THAT'S WHY THEY (samsung,htc,etc) NEED A 1GHZ PROCESSOR 'CAUSE THEY DON'T HAVE A GPU!!!

  • maxup

Maybe X10 is the best like what you think, but i still loved Nokia and really waiting for N8. And i think most users are same as me.

  • 5800xm_user

Anonymous, 15 May 2010C6:CPU of 436MHz and TFT resistive touchscreen,...... What is go... moreWow seriously you fanboys are thick!

SYMBIAN^3 DOES NOT NEED A HIGH PROCESSOR TO FUNCTION PROPERLY!!!

And its screen is a 3.5" OLED capacitive, scratch resistant, with 16 million colors.

  • GVS

SE vivaz has better advantages in terms of video recording since it has continuous auto focus.It would have been better if N8 also has continuous auto focus in video recording

  • phonewatcher

its really funny for people believing ram is what takes the performance. SEE how N900 performs at 256mb ram.. it even competes the 1ghz phones..its just 600mhz peps.. but arm11 can only attain 1ghz clock speed while a8 of n900 can boost to above 1ghz.. but who needs that speed for mobile phones,unless you wanna play PS emulators..

n8 will have a function to turn off by pressing the power button for 6-8 seconds overriding any freeze.. why would a manufacturer lock the battery without thinking bout this..but this is not available on current nokia phones..correct me..

--via operamobile

  • KID

grittfrenz, 15 May 2010The phone is absolutely fantastic but the release date is too ... morewell, it's not out in the market yet cause this phone is using the new Symbian^3. Nokia still seems to be doing some adjustment to this new OS, so that it'll go out properly.
well, in my opinion, this phone is like a restarting point for nokia, and after this one, many good phone maybe will come up. So they better do this one right. Maybe now they're still left behind, but eventually I think Nokia will catch up

  • grittfrenz

KID, 15 May 2010mate, look at the SPEC carefully.... the processor maybe the sa... moreThe phone is absolutely fantastic but the release date
is too late why? because its too long the time table it would generally lose your customer if you had stocks you should quickly put to the market in order to maintain customers need.

  • KID

Anonymous, 15 May 2010C6:CPU of 436MHz and TFT resistive touchscreen,...... What is go... moremate, look at the SPEC carefully....
the processor maybe the same like in 5800 (ARM 11) but in N8, it has a higher clock speed, and I believe that probably nokia will boost it even more in the upcoming firmware (just like 5800). Maybe it'll go up to 750? who knows??

and besides, 5800 looks like nothing compared to this phone, N8 has a powerful graphic accelerator (if what they say about it using broadcom is true, even if it's not, it still has a 3D GRAPHIC ACCELERATOR), that's one hell of a gap between N8 and 5800...

the screen's also bigger (even though it has the same res), and even more, it use AMOLED, while 5800 still uses TFT....

the battery is not an Li-Ion, but Li-po, and it supposedly stronger that Li-Ion, that's why it only has a capacity of 1200

the build, while 5800 uses plastic all over, this N8 uses aluminium, and people who already got their hands on those prototype unit said that the buils quality is good...

nevertheless, 5800 is a good phone, maybe it's suck at first, but along with the firmware upgrade, it gets better and better, and I think it's a great phone (amongst the other phone within the same price range of course) And now I have the latest firmware, it's even more better....

for people who hate 5800, they just probably dont know the proper way of using it, or overestimated it, and thus they dread it. As for me, I'm having fun with my 5800, but I've got my eye on N8 also, just wait till it launched, and then wait a little more to see how this N8 in the real world, if it's any good, then I will definitely gonna buy it

  • Naeem

Anonymous, 14 May 2010We are the first to make a 12mp and this phone is only the camer... morecum n look at n8...widen ur eye n look............x10 doesnt have flash player......yuck...then no gps......then many disadvantage...where n8 has only two disadvantage...........................

  • Naeem

Anonymous, 15 May 2010C6:CPU of 436MHz and TFT resistive touchscreen,...... What is go... moreDude!!!!....wa r u tokign about....C6 is for those users who cant efford to buy a expensive sell....atleast nokia understands peoples demand...no other company does that...just think of N8...there is yet no cell like N8......the only thing in N8 is that its capacity is low and the Processor is evn low...but htat wudnt matter...it has HDMI....onli sum cell has that....n the onli 1st cell came in this form is NOKIa and sum other 2 or 3 cell............

  • Anonymous

C6:CPU of 436MHz and TFT resistive touchscreen,...... What is going on? Is Nokia Working in yesterday technology?? Most Phones are now running on CPU of GHz. It is running on 5MP camera and many more weakness. Copy Motorola Keyboard of Milestone? Packaged same as Nokia 5800. And now Nokia N8 with Engine of 5800 and package of X6. Goodbye Nokia

  • anyway

Anonymous, 14 May 2010We are the first to make a 12mp and this phone is only the camer... morewhat do you mean by "we"? do you work for SE?
please, how come an 8mp snapper could be better than 12mp camera with 1/2" lens ?
and 4.0 inch screen with 65k colour limit is just not good enough
all told, you just being fanatic and pathetic, if you like the x10, go buy it.just don't blame any of us if you regret (considering that mighty high price tag of the x10)

  • Anonymous

Okay, seems that the amount of haters are increasing nowadays..haha

In reply to one guy (dunno who) X10's camera doesn't even compete with the N8s. First 12>8mp and even other 12mp camphones out there could not compete with the N8 because it has the biggest camera sensor found in mobiles, which means it has better quality and low-light performance (less noise).

I bet the N8 has the typical Nokia Music Player + CoverFlow so I bet it has an equalizer

I had a 5800 and the loudspeakers sucks ass! No other phone satisfied me in that category except for the Nokia N73 (loudest loud speakers ever). Nevertheless I think the N8's speaker would be satisfactory.

The audio performance of N8 on headphones would be great since it could even support Dolby 5.1

There is Video Light..I think. It says so in the official specifications page of N8 in Nokia. Maybe the red led assist doubles as a white led video light.

In my opinion the only thing good about the x10 is the big display...that's all, the design is so plastic and cheap, the OS is stupid, the features are nowhere, and the cam is just trying hard..haha

Not a nokia fan here..but I'm just trying to express my opinions. Oh and btw, Samsung's Galaxy S and Wave both have very fast processors..but what will you do with it? worthless OS..haha

  • Hassan

andy burgin, 14 May 2010Nokia themselves realised the current designers are not moving t... moreThat's true, N95 was/is a truly revolutionary device.

  • Gigis

Anonymous, 14 May 2010We are the first to make a 12mp and this phone is only the camer... more4" inch with 65k colors for x10? :)) what a joke. i had 65k colors on my nokia 6600 back in 2003 :)))

  • Hassan

Anonymous, 14 May 2010i repeat there is no video light is red light assistated in vide... moreI prefer to believe Nokia official site, I think.. you fail.