Nokia N85
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N85

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • khamal

where can i go to see a full video reveiw of the nokia n85?

  • khamal

i love this phone cause it takes the features of the n95 and puts it in the n96 shell,this phone is what i am looking for i dont care for the price i am going to but this n85 trust me its a good phone number one

  • phone user

wow..the camera in zooming is very clear...clear than se c902..

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 29 Oct 2008Can anyone that knows the answer to this question to please let ... moreThe UPnP architecture offers pervasive peer-to-peer network connectivity of PCs of all form factors, intelligent appliances, and wireless devices. The UPnP architecture is a distributed, open networking architecture that leverages TCP/IP and the Web to enable seamless proximity networking in addition to control and data transfer among networked devices in the home, office, and everywhere in between.

What are the benefits of UPnP technology?

Media and device independence. UPnP technology can run on any network technology including Wi-Fi, coax, phone line, power line, Ethernet and 1394.
Platform independence. Vendors can use any operating system and any programming language to build UPnP products.
Internet-based technologies. UPnP technology is built upon IP, TCP, UDP, HTTP, and XML, among others.
UI Control. UPnP architecture enables vendor control over device user interface and interaction using the browser.
Programmatic control. UPnP architecture enables conventional application programmatic control.
Common base protocols. Vendors agree on base protocol sets on a per-device basis.
Extendable. Each UPnP product can have value-added services layered on top of the basic device architecture by the individual manufacturers.

  • Anonymous

Can anyone that knows the answer to this question to please let me know, what is UPnP technology?

Apparently this handset has it.

Thanx

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 28 Oct 2008Hey guys..whts d difrnce between the N85-1 & N85-2...and also is... moreThe difference is the 3G. N85-2 for USA and N85-1 is for other part of the world.

  • therock

Anonymous, 28 Oct 2008Samsung GT-i8510 INNOV8 vs Nokia N96 vs Nokia N85 : Hardware Per... moreIt is better to compare the innov8 to the nokia tube since both are touchscreens.

Nokia Tube is the Innov8's competition. However, both the nokia tube and innov8 are two of the touchscreen phones that will cripple the iphone.

  • Anonymous

Hey guys..whts d difrnce between the N85-1 & N85-2...and also is 3g working on GSM (AT&T) ?...thanks in advance..

  • Anonymous

Samsung GT-i8510 INNOV8 vs Nokia N96 vs Nokia N85 : Hardware Performance

CPU Platform :
- Samsung GT-i8510 : TI OMAP 2430 450MHz, 128MB RAM
- Nokia N96 : STMicroelectronics Nomadics STn8815 264MHz, 128MB RAM
- Nokia N85 : FreeScale I.MX31 369MHz, 128MB RAM

-Performance Test-
Jbenchmark 1.0.1 Total Score :
- Samsung GT-i8510 : 4997
- Nokia N96 : 2796
- Nokia N85 : 3232
Jbenchmark 2.0.1 Total Score :
- Samsung GT-i8510 : 532
- Nokia N96 : 358
- Nokia N85 : 548
Jbenchmark 3D HQ Score :
- Samsung GT-i8510 : 873
- Nokia N96 : 155
- Nokia N85 : 195
Jbenchmark 3D LQ Score :
- Samsung GT-i8510 : 979
- Nokia N96 : 283
- Nokia N85 : 380
Jbenchmark HD Gaming Score :
- Samsung GT-i8510 : 956 (29.0 fps)
- Nokia N96 : 127 (4.2 fps)
- Nokia N85 : 166 (5.5 fps)

TI OMAP 2430 model are the 2nd generation of TI OMAP chips, 2420, powers multiple hi-end Nokia smartphones(N93, N95, E90, N82) and has in fact an integrated 3D accelerator.
The improvement from 2420 also extremely numerous. The CPU frequency has been pulled up to 450MHz from previous value of 330MHz. The chipset can work with high definition camera(> 5 MP) and it take less than a second to take shot. The rest important point about 2430 hardware are an upgrade TWL4030 module (TWL 92230 was used in 2420). TWL4030 is multifunctional solution providing access to numerous codecs, dedicated audio processing module, noise filters, and so on.
Samsung i8510 is the first Samsung smartphone to fully utilize the potential of the hardware graphics accelerator. It is an absolute requirement for processing 8 megapixel images, real-time VGA video decoding with separate audio signal processing(done by dedicated DSP, excluding the possibility of using the music player and camera at the same time). The graphic accelerator can now handle twice as few polygons per second, commonly used to power the best gaming phone.
Nokia N85 utilizes the same hardware as N78, N81, and N79. Freescale is cheaper solution for the most expensive TI OMAP 2430. The lack of 3D accelerator is blatant in the Jbenchmark 3D test. N85 lags behind in other test as well. Despite the lags seen in the test, N85 audio quality is the same with N96, a bit above than N78, but a bit below than Samsung GT-i8510 INNOV8.

Battery:

- Samsung i8510 : Standard, Li-Ion 1200 mAh, Stand-by Up to 310 h, Talk time Up to 8 h 30 min

- Nokia N96 : Standard, Li-Ion 950 mAh, Stand-by Up to 220 h, Talk time Up to 3 h 40 min !!!!!!!!

- Nokia N85 : Standard, Li-Ion 1200 mAh, Stand-by Up to 360 h, Talk time Up to 6 h 50 min

Camera:

- Samsung i8510 : 8 MP, Video VGA@30fps, QVGA@120fps

- Nokia N96 : 5 MP , Video VGA@30fps

- Nokia N85 : 5 MP, Video VGA@30fps

Conclusion :
- Samsung GT-i8510 INNOV8 has faster hardware performance, the best camera, excellent sound - DNSe 2.0 (Digital Natural Sound engine), excellent build quality, good battery, good price etc. while Nokia N96 is the slowest most expensive and with just 950 mah battery.

- Samsung GT-i8510 INNOV8 fully utilize the potential of the 3D graphic accelerator. It is an absolute requirement for processing the camera, video recording, decoding and playback. Nokia N85 and N96 can't handle this perfectly because the lack of graphic accelerator.

- Samsung GT-i8510 INNOV8 is the best gaming phone today. U can enjoy your 3D or HD games running perfectly in 29 fps, while Nokia N85 and N96 only can run below 10 fps. Thank's to dedicated hardware graphic accelerator.

  • therock

curious, 28 Oct 2008has any one bought it in the us to use on 3g att? does it work? As long as it is unlocked,I believe that it will work in the US using 3g att or t-mobile. I have the n95 classic and it works fine here in the US using the 3g att.

  • curious

has any one bought it in the us to use on 3g att? does it work?

  • anna

Sniper, 28 Oct 2008Hi all i have a question plz plz answear me as soon as u can ... morein my opinion n85 is better, why ? see below,

1) there is card slot, hence easier & faster to transfer files

2) absouletly better screen

3) better battery life

4) smaller sizes

5) nicer design

6) faster hardware

  • Sniper

Hi all i have a question plz plz answear me as soon as u can
Which is better N95 8G or N85 and why ?
best Regards

  • Lee

N85 sound in headset is very soft. Sound in speakers is kind of distorted. N95 better sound in speaker than N85. N81 better sound in headset than N85.

  • therock

al, 27 Oct 2008to m.ung no this one does not support 3g AT&T. an american ve... moreNokia USA is coming out with this phone. Check out the website. It says coming soon. I believe many nokia phones are unlocked and can be use with ATT/T-mobile. Even if the phone is manufatured and the orgin is in Europe, Asia,..etc...you can still use it here in the US as long as it is unlocked.

  • therock

m.ung, 27 Oct 2008Hi I was wondering is the 3G on this phone compatible with US 3G... moreNokia USA is coming out with this phone. Check out the website. It says coming soon. I believe many nokia phones are unlocked and can be use with ATT/T-mobile. Even if the phone is manufatured and the orgin is in Europe, Asia,..etc...you can still use it here in the US as long as it is unlocked.

  • Anonymous

Cute Guy, 28 Oct 2008I was curious about the topic of sounds raise here so i check th... moreI did not review N85 because I do not have this phone nor am I planning to buy this. I just read from various review sites about its sound quality. I have also read p@sco's review of N85. And he's the only who said N85 has better sound quality than N96 and INNOV8 while all other review sites are saying N85's sound quality is not even near N96's sound quality. Actually, I believe mobile-review.com and smape.com than p@sco. p@sco must have loved this phone so much.

  • Anonymous

smape.com and mobile-review.com already reviewed n85 and they said n85's sound quality is nowhere near n81, n91 and innov8. i think p@sco must be high or exaggerated. i used to like n85 but when ive learnt that its sound quality is not even on par with n96 it totally turns me off.

  • Vish

Hi guys,
Bought the phone yesterday for 23,200(INR)=365 euros here in India.

1)The phone is gr8,Love the build quality and slide is firm but there is a very slight wobble(Nothing to worry). The down slide is really hard to slide
2)Camera is gr8(equal or even slightly better than n95 8 gb)Night shots are not gr8 but serves the purpose
3)Sound clarity is really gud with my creative ep630 earphones.The bass is very decnt and can easily erplace ur PMP
4)There are some issues with the UI , some menu load very slowly and auto rotaion is not that accurate.it gets stuck in vertical positions sometimes(hopefully will get fixed in nxt firmware)
5)Screen is amazing.ul see the difference when u have N95(orginal) and n85 side by side and thers just no comparison.WOW!!!!!
6)two days of heavy usage and still battery hasnt come to even half way.

Overall good mobile and satisfies for wat it was meant for.

  • Cute Guy

Anonymous, 28 Oct 2008According to trusted reviews only, N85 has slightly better sound... moreI was curious about the topic of sounds raise here so i check the article

I find the pasco review reliable being him in the mobile review busines for quite sometime.

Its ur review that i dont trust! sorry!