OnePlus Nord 2 5G
MORE PICTURES

OnePlus Nord 2 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • 04M
  • 06 Jul 2022

Gino76ph, 06 Jul 2022Thank you so much for your reply. I'm currently choo... moreThe Realme 9 Pro+ has a very similar camera setup to the Nord 2/2T. The only difference I can see is that the front camera sensor is slightly smaller and lower resolution on the 9 Pro+. Take it with a grain of salt as I've seen many people complain about the front camera on the Nord 2 (although it seems fine on my unit).

For the rear main camera, I would still pick the Nord 2/2T and Realme 9 Pro+ mainly because of the flagship Sony sensor that they use. As for image processing, I can't speak exactly on which one is better but I would assume that the 9 Pro+ is on par with the Nord 2/2T. But do expect inferior performance on the 9 Pro+ if that matters to you.

For the front camera, I would pick the POCO F4 as it has the largest sensor out of all. It's lower resolution at 20MP compared to 32MP on the Moto and Nord but for me personally, sensor size matters more than resolution as it allows the sensor to capture more light and less noise. The main camera on the POCO is also pretty nice but I wouldn't call it the best. The sensor on the ultrawide is pretty small and I don't think I would be a fan of it.

To answer your first question, my top 2 choices for the most balanced camera setup would be the Nord 2/2T and Moto Edge 30. The reasons I would pick the Nord 2/2T are the ones I have mentioned previously but the Edge 30 is a very interesting case. Both its main and ultrawide cameras are 50MP which is very nice. The main camera should be comparable to that of the Nord 2/2T (I still have my doubts as Omnivision isn't as highly praised as Sony for their imaging sensors). The ultrawide camera, however, has a major advantage thanks to its high resolution. As a bonus, the Moto is the only phone out of the bunch that can record 4K on the front camera.

I urge you to do your own research as image quality is very subjective. Everyone has their unique preference in the type of image processing used by the manufacturer.

The second question is much more tricky as I only have experience with the OnePlus Nord 2. Given that the phones are all mid-rangers, I would expect any blazing fast or regular updates as manufacturers always prioritize flagships. Region could also play a role. For example, my Nord 2 (EU version) hasn't had an update since April and is still rocking Android 11 while the Indian version of the Nord 2 has had Android 12 for over a month now. If I had to guess, it's probably the much more extensive verification process for releasing updates in the EU that's really slowing them down.

    Anonymous, 05 Jul 20221. The camera hardware between the two is exactly the same.... moreThank you so much for your reply.
    I'm currently choosing between the Nord 2 phones and a Realme 9 Pro+, Poco F4 and the Moto Edge 30 all of which has OIS. Question: which top 2 would you pick in terms of front & rear cameras?
    Second question: which 2 companies would you trust more in terms of timely/fast updates including monthly security updates and maintenance updates?

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • 04M
      • 05 Jul 2022

      Gino76ph, 03 Jul 2022Between the Nord 2T & Nord 2: 1. Which phone in practi... more1. The camera hardware between the two is exactly the same. Image processing might be slightly different but not significant enough to warrant a preference of one phone over the other. There is, however, a surprising downgrade in video recording. The Nord 2T has terrible EIS while shooting in 4K which isn't the case on the Nord 2. This could be fixed in a future update but there's no way to be sure.

      2. Both phones should hold up fine against splashes. It's possible that they could even survive a full submersion, but don't take my word for it as it's only an assumption. I'd like to think that OnePlus waterproofed the phones but didn't get them IP certified in order to keep the costs down. Again, it's only an assumption.

      One thing to note is that you'll be getting an extra year of OS upgrades on the Nord 2T since it was launched recently.

        • J
        • Jepoy
        • XU$
        • 04 Jul 2022

        I'm so surprise on how to phone performs. It is so smooth and the charging time is very impressive. Definitely one of the best midrange phone out there

          Between the Nord 2T & Nord 2:
          1. Which phone in practice (not just specs) produces natural (not oversaturated), sharp, low noise, better dynamic range, good low light/night mode photos and great video stabilisation for its main and selfie cameras?
          2. Are both phones considered splashproof and safe for minor liquid exposure to water or rain? (for accidents)
          Disappointed with Samsung coz of slow performing phones. Xiaomi has slow updates.
          Please help me choose. Many Thanks. 

            • M
            • MikeLangello
            • nDN
            • 02 Jul 2022

            Anyone from Europe that received Android 12???
            I got only the update with security patch from june!!!

              • D
              • DuskyRick
              • x{6
              • 02 Jul 2022

              Is it safe to buy this phone today or should i buy the CE 2 instead? I'm worried about the battery exploding news last year

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • 04M
                • 01 Jul 2022

                Wondering, 28 Jun 2022I'm torn between this phone and the Xiaomi 11T. Which ... moreHad the exact same dilemma. Ended up choosing the Nord 2 for its better main camera performance and OIS (which I value a lot). I also prefer OxygenOS/ColorOS over MIUI so that could've been a factor too.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • Dk7
                  • 01 Jul 2022

                  Wondering, 28 Jun 2022I'm torn between this phone and the Xiaomi 11T. Which ... moreGo for it

                    • W
                    • Wondering
                    • aX8
                    • 28 Jun 2022

                    I'm torn between this phone and the Xiaomi 11T. Which one do you suggest?

                      • Z
                      • Zxc
                      • 04M
                      • 19 Jun 2022

                      Anonymous, 19 Jun 2022yes it is the chipset on the 2t is better than the on in th... moreIts barely any better, maybe more efficient but performance is the same

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • 3Yb
                        • 19 Jun 2022

                        Hasan, 15 Jun 2022Is OnePlus Nord 2t better than OnePlus Nord 2?yes it is the chipset on the 2t is better than the on in the oneplus nord 2 5g

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • 04M
                          • 15 Jun 2022

                          Hasan, 15 Jun 2022Is OnePlus Nord 2t better than OnePlus Nord 2?If you're looking for an extra year of official Android upgrades and 15W faster charging over the Nord 2, then yes. Those are essentially the only differences between the two phones. Given that the Nord 2 can currently be bought for way less than the 2T, I'd say go for the 2.

                            • H
                            • Hasan
                            • CYe
                            • 15 Jun 2022

                            Is OnePlus Nord 2t better than OnePlus Nord 2?

                              • A
                              • Alaa
                              • Nec
                              • 12 Jun 2022

                              I did not get the Android 12 update

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • vGc
                                • 04 Jun 2022

                                RbN, 26 May 2022I'm getting notification to update software. I'm ... moreworking quite well some bugs but they are not major problems

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • vGc
                                  • 04 Jun 2022

                                  Got the android 12 update its a beta version but quite stable, some bugs here and there those wont effect the day to day use

                                    • E
                                    • ExS21FEowner
                                    • Lu$
                                    • 04 Jun 2022

                                    TT, 03 Jun 2022S20FE 5G and Nord 2 5G cost is exactly the same, spec. ar... moreGoogle S20Fe ghost touch input, its still presente on the S21FE. That's why i returned mine and i am buying a Nord2 5G, i rather deal with bluetooth bugs and apps being closed on the background, than input issues any day.

                                      • T
                                      • TT
                                      • phZ
                                      • 03 Jun 2022

                                      S20FE 5G and Nord 2 5G cost is exactly the same, spec. are similar. Which one to pick in terms of durability, photo quality (no selfies, video), audio? Mr. Randy opinion is welcomed too.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • Tui
                                        • 02 Jun 2022

                                        RbN, 26 May 2022I'm getting notification to update software. I'm ... morei would wait to update android 12.