Huawei Honor 6 review: Virtue in disguise

9 March 2015
High-performance hardware meets low-key design in the Huawei Honor 6, at a price that’s frankly hard to beat. In a market segment where budget matters, the Honor 6 is offering some top-of-the-range specs to raise itself above the crowd.

Sort by:

  • AnonD-373962

AnonD-180917, 12 Mar 2015In India OnePlus is better option for the price rangeBut ONEPLUS 1 and Mi4 dont have expd memory only 16 GB varient is avlb on FLIPKART.
Else all specs are same

  • AnonD-180917

In India OnePlus is better option for the price range

  • MyDeSTiNaTe

AnonD-373962, 11 Mar 2015It is very late review by GSM. I already owned HONOR 6 40 d... moreYou may find Europe version updates from XDA and Malaysia version updates from Mytechgarbage. Try which one works for you. And for the Lollipop, just let it to be fully stable first.

  • MyDeSTiNaTe

AnonD-307318, 11 Mar 2015Huawei main problem is updates and their chipset, if they m... moreAt time Honor 6 was released (last June), Mali 628 is actually still quite capable and it was being used in S5 earlier too. The performance will not be as good as other Mali 628 because in Kirin 920, they reduced the number of cores of the GPU to 4 instead of 6 cores. And yea, their updates for international variant are few months later than the Chinese variant, which is quite sad for me lol. But for the Lollipop update, I will prefer it to be updated only after it's fully stable. Pre-5.1 is still having issues like memory leaks.

  • AnonD-307318

AnonD-142922, 11 Mar 2015It is bcos you naive kid and you don't understand point of ... moreClearly, you are a Huawei fanboy as I can sense butthurt. I work for Huawei as a full time sales promoter. I liaise with consumers trying to get them to buy their devices. Majority of them gave me feedback.

The general public do not know Huawei, they just know it is a Chinese brand and they rather purchase a Samsung or iPhone... even though their modems are Huawei.

Those that are tech savvy like me, know that Huawei's Kirin 925 uses an old architecture utilizing 28nm A15/A7 which provides a low standby endurance and a Mali T628 MP4 (2012 gpu) which is not good had handling graphics as well as the Adreno 330/PowerVR G6430. They should of used Mali T760 MP6.

I own a Huawei Ascend G7, and it has a good battery life because of Qualcomm. But I suppose this is too much for you to understand as you do not know anything about business.

  • AnonD-142922

AnonD-373962, 11 Mar 2015It is very late review by GSM. I already owned HONOR 6 40 d... moreYOu can install EMUI 3.0 by your self..manually it's been there long too

  • AnonD-373962

It is very late review by GSM. I already owned HONOR 6 40 days ago.
I bought it for around USD300 in india i will say it is best in mid-range category.
My Antutu score was 42000+ on first run with 4.4.2 and 2.3 EMUI.
I am waiting for lollipop 5.0 and 3.0 EMUI.
I happy to have it but main problem of huawei is that they dont have much dedicated service centers aslike other companies in india.

  • AnonD-142922

AnonD-307318, 11 Mar 2015Huawei main problem is updates and their chipset, if they m... moreIt is bcos you naive kid and you don't understand point of smartphone !
when you will grow up , one day you will understand .. what phone is for and how long it should hold on ..
carry on your stupid games for one two hour battery stamina
on your draining phone whatever you have...
ANd I don't understand your last mention - underperforming ?
I have seen reviews on honor 6 game test and games were running acceptable so underperforming in useless stupid benchmarks?
that you buy phone for ? Jeeezus chirist ..

  • AnonD-142922

MyDeSTiNaTe, 11 Mar 2015In your previous comment, I didn't really understand what w... moreI don't know why you mentioning aggressiveness or fight or what .. I said on that post you right and I capitalled PEACE so don't understand your point ? theres no any fight or battle ..
IN first place when I said honor 6 has jdi I ment it it ''USES''
And who knows JDI then knows they are japanese not chinese ..

  • AnonD-307318

Huawei main problem is updates and their chipset, if they make a Nexus, great, it will give them a chance to expand in the States and solve their update problem. However, their chipsets are old. Kirin 930 has a good CPU, but the problem is GPU. How do they expect to compete with other chipsets if they are using old generation GPU that is underperforming?

  • AnonD-142922

StrideR, 11 Mar 2015Should have been removable batteryjeezs ppl with your removable batt complex !!1
what for you want ?? just shut up with stupid remov. batt . .
does my hedding really !

  • MyDeSTiNaTe

AnonD-142922, 11 Mar 2015''LOL'' Don't rely on wiki on 100% ''LOL'' it is written by... moreIn your previous comment, I didn't really understand what were you trying to say, so I just asked you to check it over Wikipedia. I'm aware that Wikipedia was also written by public so mistakes are expected. Please do not be so aggressive and let's keep GSMArena a peaceful place. We should be sharing and discussing here, not fighting and solely criticizing. If I've offended you in any manners, I apologize for that, wish you have a nice day.

  • StrideR

Should have been removable battery

  • AnonD-142922

MyDeSTiNaTe, 11 Mar 2015Check Wikipedia for the latest suppliers lol...It changed i... more''LOL'' Don't rely on wiki on 100% ''LOL'' it is written by ppl ''LOL'' so it will be changed hundred times .. ''LOL''
Ar you ill or somethin ? when you loling ??

U read this you prob. missed ... ; http://www.gsmarena.com/jdi_outs_wqhd_lcd_display_with_incell_touch_integration-news-11454.php

  • AnonD-142922

MyDeSTiNaTe, 11 Mar 2015Check Wikipedia for the latest suppliers lol...It changed i... morewho do you think writes on wiki site ???
just ordinary ppl and it mostly rewritten bcos of mistakes..
SO don't rely on wiki 100% OK ;)
but I agree you right..
My point was honor 6 started FIRST using JDI IPS .. wich has crystal clear screen .. that is it.. no need go further ..
PEACE !

  • MyDeSTiNaTe

AnonD-142922, 11 Mar 2015I know they not owning that jdi screen it is japanese compa... moreCheck Wikipedia for the latest suppliers lol...It changed if compared to few years ago

  • AnonD-309678

The gap between glass and sides of phone has a very big benefit. If you drop it on the corner the gap acts as a buffer protecting the glass from cracking. But of course you only point out the negative.. some dirt will get stuck.

Also you say there is 3 themes available. If you click the 3 dots in bottom right and enable location , you will get access to the online theme store with many more themes.

This phone was updated to emui 3.0 a while ago, why are you reviewing the old software?

I don't know how you do your standby tests, but you always seem to give Huawei phones a low standby rating, whereas fromy my experience the standby performance on phones running EMUI is exceptionally good. Only losing 1% every 3-4 hours. Do you close all background apps before doing the standby test?

  • AnonD-142922

MyDeSTiNaTe, 11 Mar 2015Lol...JDI does not belong to Huawei...It's the joint ventur... moreI know they not owning that jdi screen it is japanese company..
and no samsung makes ips'es for apple .. they ar they own samsung's lg does screens for apple laptops
And you forgot mention SHARP which has now INSANE quality of their panels !

  • MyDeSTiNaTe

AnonD-142922, 11 Mar 2015Only NOW you reviewing Honor 6 ???? Jeezz arena ar u been... moreLol...JDI does not belong to Huawei...It's the joint venture of Sony, Toshiba and Hitachi to produce LCD display...And for your information...Apple had been using IPS for years...And besides Samsung, their screens were from LG and JDI too

  • MyDeSTiNaTe

Finally it's here, but I had already bought the phone lol, still thanks for reviewing this phone!