LG G4 review: Sharp and shooter

22 May 2015
Flagships get better with every generation but some of last year’s are as good as reborn. The LG G4 improves on the three best features of its predecessor: design, screen, the camera – and does so decisively. It adopts a G Flex curve, but makes...

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

And my fear turn out true...
When LG announced the G4 specification highlighting the display among others, I commented that it would have been nice to get more efficiency to go along with the improved contrast and colors. But now G4 provides worse battery life in test.
What's wrong, LG? If your display eats too much into battery life, I suggest to replace it. If something else is the culprit, then fix it ASAP...
Great device anyway...

  • Anonymous

AnonD-391800, 22 May 2015Do visit z4 tab review ;-) 6,000 mAH battery.

The Z4 isn't going to do any better than the S6 in battery life. It'll have about the same battery life as the G4.

  • AnonD-391800

Anonymous, 22 May 2015Waiting for someone to say this. The S6 has the latest Samsun... moreDo visit z4 tab review ;-)

  • Anonymous

AnonD-391800, 22 May 2015Ouch, the batterylife... Echooo from last years g3 comment En... moreHuh? The S6 has good battery life.

It has the best battery life out of all 2015 flagships so far.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 22 May 2015Battery is good? It's terrible.Yes its good almost 8hours of browsing and 7hrs video play back is good enough. Plus the extra battery when you buy g4.

The browsing on g3 is the worst.

  • AnonD-391800

Ouch, the batterylife...
Echooo from last years g3 comment
Enjoy your unoptimized 2k screen

Tho Why buy s6 instead, it has bad batterylife too, not on video side but standby ruins it, endures 18h on moderate usage
This even worse

A shame, bad battery, no flagship SoC,...
Only thing I like about this is Camera user interface

  • Anonymous

Also, before anyone starts denying the battery life results, remember that so far, all the sites doing objective tests have the G4 battery life below the G3 and the S6.

The only people saying the battery life is decent or better than the S6 are subjective reviewers who are just guessing based on their usage.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-385367, 22 May 2015Everything is perfect except the endurance. The irony is that th... moreAnd don't forget the s6 has smaller screen too.

  • AnonD-385367

Anonymous, 22 May 2015Waiting for someone to say this. The S6 has the latest Samsun... moreYes I agree. I dint say impossible. But it's quite surprising. Dint expect the endurance to be so bad. That's all. Still I feel both the G4 and S6 are awesome.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-69794, 22 May 2015there's no irony or mistake here. the galaxy s6 is just better i... moreWaiting for someone to say this.

The S6 has the latest Samsung's AMOLED display and a 14nm processor, both of which are far more efficient than the IPS display and the 20nm processor on the G4.

There are other parts on the S6 that are more efficient as well such as the DDR4 RAM.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-385367, 22 May 2015Everything is perfect except the endurance. The irony is that th... moreThe S6 has more efficient components than the G4, so I don't know why you think it's impossible that the S6 has better battery life than the G4.

  • AnonD-69794

AnonD-385367, 22 May 2015Everything is perfect except the endurance. The irony is that th... morethere's no irony or mistake here. the galaxy s6 is just better in every aspect, even with a smaller battery, because it's better optimized.

  • AnonD-69794

no competition for galaxy s6 this year.

  • guru

I am seventh to comment mobile is good providing something that today's flagships are missing god bless you LG

  • AnonD-385367

Everything is perfect except the endurance. The irony is that the S6 sports the smaller battery here yet in GSMs battery tests it lasts longer than the G4. There seems to be a mistake. The G4 is better than the S6 in terms of endurance. There are so many controversies rising between this review and the rest.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 22 May 2015Battery life is disappointing, but if they are giving a free sec... moreJust buy the S6.

  • Anonymous

Battery life is disappointing, but if they are giving a free second battery away for free then that helps a lot.

The normal battery will probably last me on a normal day, but the second battery can be charged and carried with me when I'm traveling or know I'll have extra usage.

Overall I'm looking forward to the improved camera and display over my current phone (z3). I'll miss the battery life though.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 22 May 2015Good review. The battery is good Browsing is improved. Battery is good? It's terrible.

  • Anonymous

Good review.
The battery is good
Browsing is improved.

  • Anonymous

Finally! The beast is here...