Samsung Galaxy S6 Active review: The triathlete

24 June 2015
Once again its June and time for Samsung to present us with a rugged version of its latest range-topping smartphone. This year, once more exclusively for AT&T, it is Samsung Galaxy S6 Active that enters the spotlight with camouflage livery, gobs of tech...

Sort by:

  • AnonD-246723

TheNeighbor, 29 Jun 2015How many apps do you install? 32GB is way big enough not to need... more5gb of music , 8gb of movies and 10 gb for games .
Left with afew gb for apps and 4k videos =/

As a kayaker and photographer, I need a waterproof phone, with as good camera as possible. So far my Z1 was doing the job very well, but I am looking for a next year replacement.

I would like a similar phone, that is beautiful to look at, hold in hand, and most of all have a great camera.

S6 Active is a possible buy, but it looks like a hiking boot, not a phone. Another really important disadvantage is it not having a lanyard inlet.

Taking a photo in slippery conditions, above water, and risking loosing the phone, or having to put it in another, even more disgusting case that has a lanyard?

Unfortunately, I think I will have to pass on this one :/

  • Anonymous

AnonD-293750, 30 Jun 2015When you want an iphone and an android at the same time. lol.So now just because the battery is sealed and no SD slot means that? And since when was the iPhone even close to this advancedout good on battery life? And what about when htc and lLG don't have either of those features?

  • AnonD-293750

When you want an iphone and an android at the same time. lol.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-7433, 29 Jun 2015This device is a crazy achievement by Samsung, and with Samsung ... moreThere actually wouldn't be much difference in battery life

  • AnonD-22824

TheNeighbor, 29 Jun 2015I have several OTG accessories, but wherever I need to transfer ... moreI install lots of apps and why sud i limit myself ? And dude even after u knowing that now a days apps and games requires lots of data to run u r still saying that 32gb is enough , u must also b knowing that even single simple good quality game now a days reaches 2gb data capacity easily...so no 32gb internal mem is also not enough and u must also b knowing that even in that 32 gb only 26 to 27gb is usr available space.. Hot swappable sd slot is good idea but again depends on who u ask sony ,samsung ,lg or any other OEM.and no i dont think that poping a microsd card is that simple if its not hot swappable and even if it is i wud not want to do that often for many reasons, one of them is it refreshs my recently added lists in music player ,dual type OTG mem dongles are way simple just plug & play its helpful to share contents ,even i have one from Strontium 64GB USB 3.0 OTG Nitro Plus Pen Drive With 120 mb/s Speed i use it mainly for media sharing with my friends but yeh it cant b used as a micro sd card.

AnonD-22824, 29 Jun 2015Ohh! Come on read the last part of my comment again.will u?lolI have several OTG accessories, but wherever I need to transfer data from my phone, it's already transferred to the micro SD card while in my pocket, and just pop it in to my pc easily with an SD card adapter or USB adapter to transfer. You waste more time waiting for stuff to transfer to an OTG USB, and time to transfer to another device. Unless you use a USB 3 compatible OTG devices, they're all the same "slow" speed you keep mentioning.

AnonD-22824, 29 Jun 2015Ohh! Come on read the last part of my comment again.will u?lolHow many apps do you install? 32GB is way big enough not to need to transfer their data to the micro SD card so they can't be "slow". Micro SD card being "slow" could be resolved by just defaulting anything active that needs fast storage like camera.

  • AnonD-22824

TheNeighbor, 29 Jun 2015And your contented with OTG than with a micro SD card... Cone on..!Ohh! Come on read the last part of my comment again.will u?lol

AnonD-22824, 28 Jun 2015Yeh cud be, but all i want is a fast phone and if card slot i su... moreAnd your contented with OTG than with a micro SD card... Cone on..!

  • AnonD-7433

This device is a crazy achievement by Samsung, and with Samsung runs a policy of releasing various models of their flagship phones, they have the potential to get a much crazier achievement just by doing one simple thing, release a downgraded version of this model, yes, a downgraded version, one that many many people were expecting. That is a version of this rugged beast with just 1080p display! Can you imagine how much increase in performance and battery life that downgraded version would have?? The model would be far ahead of its competitions in almost every single benchmark tests AND its battery indurance rating would go up to 150 hours if not more!!! Besides, I don't think this active model is meant for VR purpose and also I know that there are too many people that aren't yet making VR experience a priority in choosing their main mobile phone. At least Samsung should just give people the option, that is what they have been doing all this time. And of course provide 64GB and 128GB versions and bundle the model with like 20,000 MaH power bank with fast charging ability and they'll be offering people a top of the line phone that could accompany someone to climb Mount Everest and down and up and down again and not having to look for a wall socket after coming back down the second time. Sammy should really consider this.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-22824, 28 Jun 2015Yeh cud be, but all i want is a fast phone and if card slot i su... moreAndroid m will allow you to install an SD card as internal memory

  • AnonD-22824

Anonymous, 28 Jun 2015No the problem if that the lag and slow downs are exaggerated li... moreYeh cud be, but all i want is a fast phone and if card slot i sud better have full access to it means i sud b able to move all app data to it and sud b use it for everything i wish without any compromises because if i had to leave all that memory space for media content only i can even use a plethoria of OTG mem dongles available i know it occupys the chraging port and gives a additional harware bulk but asap i done using the media content i'll remove the OTG dongle and it will release all the headace the OS was having ..as in i will b in control of it..dont get me wrong am not trying to support OTG memory or saying that its a substitute for micro sd card slot but i am just speaking my mind.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-22824, 28 Jun 2015Lol its ok! sorry for the long essey tough.but ppl made a huge f... moreNo the problem if that the lag and slow downs are exaggerated lies and bias. Only the new ufs storage really losses speed from the sd card slot because of a bandwidth struggle. And even then it doesn't make the device run slow. Just not as fast. But because it the bandwidth struggle and Samsung wanting the memory to constantly run at its claimed speeds... And because of all the over exaggerated hissy fit lag claims, Samsung opted to leave out SD slot this time around. As soon as bandwidth increases expect both

  • AnonD-22824

TheNeighbor, 28 Jun 2015what is your definition of "slow"? 40MB/s? 20MB/s? The... moredefinition of "slow" for me is anything that is slowing the OS eg: bad OS optimization ,mem leaks,unwanted reboots and few more things that i can't remember rit now..hope u understand where i am getting at ...and yeh there r lots of good and fast sd cards from sandisk , evo series from samsung etc they are all r welcome but if they still have to keep the card slot they sud make the phone fast and the min standerd of the internal mem capacity sud be 64gb .16 and 32 gb is just a joke if u compair it the normal sizes of media content ( movies , games and the uhd videos supported recording and RAW Images etc) now a days..lol..i wont settle for anything less.u know.

  • AnonD-22824

Anonymous, 28 Jun 2015Chill? Lol. I made a simple point.Lol its ok! sorry for the long essey tough.but ppl made a huge fuss abt the lag and slowdowns because it ruins the entire user experience...but yes one can easily live with the all the lags and slowdowns if the device is serving them with what they need it for.both the things are very diffrent.

  • AnonD-22824

TheNeighbor, 28 Jun 2015Let me just add that having a memory expansion of even up to 200... moreSd card intigartion for me wud be meaningful only when it has no effect on performance and more than that when google or samsung wud allow the app data moving to external sd card without root...or i can even manage with internal 64gb or 128gb without sd card slot.IMO.but lets see what samsung throws to table with note5, lets hope for the best.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-22824, 28 Jun 2015Dont use what? Chill bro! i was just expressing my views if u re... moreChill? Lol. I made a simple point.

AnonD-22824, 28 Jun 2015Dont use what? Chill bro! i was just expressing my views if u re... moreLet me just add that having a memory expansion of even up to 200GB micro SD card, or even something the current regular 128GB is a huge difference, even with an internal 128GB. Giving in to the masses because they don't know better is r*diculous, so they just show off how thin their device is.

AnonD-22824, 28 Jun 2015Dont use what? Chill bro! i was just expressing my views if u re... morewhat is your definition of "slow"? 40MB/s? 20MB/s? The latest card goes up to 80MB/s. I would assume that Samsung would still give you the latest new internal memory that it offered for the S6 - people don't actually care about what technology it is. For those of us who know, I always have my camera set to my internal memory, and siphon the accumulated pictures later on to the micro SD card. Again, it'd be best to have an optional micro SD card slot - I don't think Samsung is going to have two variants of slot/no slot. Just have the d*mn thing in just ONE model! Geez. And they better get it right with a removable battery! I swear, Samsung had listen to too much of the iPhone mass crowd who can't appreciate forward-thinking innovations. To think, these tech reviewers were the ones who cheered loudly to Apple's announcement of multi-windows... Something we have enjoyed for so many years in Windows and Samsung devices!