Sony Xperia Z5, Z5 Compact and Z5 Premium hands-on: Sony at IFA 2015

02 September, 2015
Sony’s back, and it returns with aplomb. The company has brought us an entire Xperia Z5 family of smartphones ranging from the Xperia Z5 Compact for small pockets to the 5.5-inch Xperia Z5 Premium with the industry’s first 4K display in a production smartphone.

Sort by:

  • AnonD-188372

What is it with all you people who whinge or comment about a phone being thick at 9mm,why,have you got tiny hands and stubby fingers ? Why can't we have thicker phones,with bigger batteries,better camera modules and possibly a few slide out qwerty lbs as well.if skinny folk in silky tight clothes needslim devices,then bud a few,but the rest of us "norms" would prefer fatter,more capable devices.

  • N.U.T

Loved Sony mobies for last 10 years or so now. Found this was a great review breakdown of the new models. Just hoping the the final versions do stand up to test from the review. And keep Sony up there with Samsung. Nevertheless I got my heart set on wanting the Premium even tho its big bulk would be a test trying to operate with one hand. But with what I've read from the review think I can overcome that and enjoy the phone. Could be Sonys best yet!!!

  • AnonD-397942

I fall in love with sony and samsung by the long time bcuz their do the right thing especially sony.Sony made z5 family looks very nice and cool.Samsung made they phone looks so premium and elegant.I'm very satisfied with they products.I never to look back for sucks Apple products.I already used iphone for period of time and i was not satisfied with them bcuz their low battery life,low resolution,cant Bluetooth,take long time to charge even its have small battery,low space and etc.I'm so regards buy they phone,so i sold them and i keep the money to buy sophisticated phone from samsung and sony.They maked my day:)

Martin Reeves, 10 Sep 2015My one simple question is... WILL IT ACTUALLY BE WATERPROOF?!?! ... moreand you put your phone in water because??

  • AnonD-147467

Should I have this as an upgrade from my z1 or should I wait a little more for an SD820 powered xperia z

  • Anonymous

Nice point.

  • AnonD-440602

phoenix, 11 Sep 2015where is the pogo pins? The magnetic charger is very practic. Because of the capless charger port now, theres is no longer a need for magnetic charging.

  • kRennhoX

If they have made the Z5c 4.8" with 1080p and 3gb ram I would get that without a doubt, but 4.6" and 720p is kinda breaking deal for me, I will go for the Z5 it looks great, I have Z1 it works perfectly, battery life is great, performance is great. It looks like I'm staying with Sony for a long time :)

  • AnonD-364662

phoenix, 11 Sep 2015where is the pogo pins? The magnetic charger is very practic. is not practic. maybe it is for tablets. would be nice from sony to fit in wireless charging

AnonD-391800, 11 Sep 20152 new ( old) features on iphone cannot match all those camera,so... moreShifting to iPhone is a good idea if you don't use it much. Apart from the battery, most aspects are marginally better in the iPhone. But if you hate keeping an eye on the battery most of the time, then iPhone 6s is ommitted.

  • AnonD-391800

elegantaddiction, 09 Sep 2015So it's first 4k cell phone...? Any expert who can guide me.. I'... more2 new ( old) features on iphone cannot match all those camera,sound, connectivity, screen, build features of z5 premium
But do try iphone for a change, just so to see why android is just better ;-)

  • AnonD-391800

Martin Reeves, 10 Sep 2015My one simple question is... WILL IT ACTUALLY BE WATERPROOF?!?! ... moreMy xperia z1c is definitely waterproof, so I conclude only that your claim is the false one...

  • mohd.khalaf

Martin Reeves, 10 Sep 2015My one simple question is... WILL IT ACTUALLY BE WATERPROOF?!?! ... moreAlso my Z2
Just 5 min and then its done ,not working any more

  • phoenix

where is the pogo pins? The magnetic charger is very practic.

  • Anonymous

Qualcomm the idiots

  • bla bla

Martin Reeves, 10 Sep 2015My one simple question is... WILL IT ACTUALLY BE WATERPROOF?!?! ... morem8 that is not true .. i had a Z1 compact and i was in wather for a 45 min wit him ... and nothing .. hi worked exelent ....

  • Martin Reeves

My one simple question is... WILL IT ACTUALLY BE WATERPROOF?!?!

And the answer I'm sure will be NO!! Because the Z1 Compact was NOT and then two weeks ago I discovered that my Z3 Compact couldn't even handle 8" of water for 2 minutes.

So what other false claims will Sony make on the Z5 family I wonder????

  • elegantaddiction

SoftwareboY, 10 Sep 2015Sony Xperia Z5 Premium. Ipone 6S is nowhere near the specs,lo... moreI agree with u as I don't like iPhones myself. I predict and personaly think that Sony would be the next Android Giant if Google try to help breaking the monopoly of Samsung in this regard.. I might be wrong but that's my opinion.. Anyway thanx a lot buddy...!! :-)

  • elegantaddiction

Anonymous, 10 Sep 2015Hey, to be fair it actually depends on what you need or what you... moreU r absolutely right, thanx a lot...!!

  • Anonymous

So true Sony = Premium brand