Samsung Gear S2 review: Shifting gears around

4 November, 2015
Samsung is definitely a veteran on the smartwatch scene, perhaps even more so than LG. The Korean giant has already done a few experiments in the field, some of which arguably quite successful, but the Gear S2 might just be the biggest one yet.

Sort by:

  • AnonD-411799

Anonymous, 05 Nov 2015gear1=apple watch??? seriously??? biglol!!! yeah lol. gear 1 watch is ugly!.

  • manchuria

AnonD-411799, 04 Nov 2015doesn't it looks like kids watch?. moto 360 is better.sure, have fun with your flat tire.

When I tried the Gear S2, Honestly, I was blown away.

I used Android wear for a while now and Gear S2 really caught my attention. Not just because of the rotating bezel (which is amazing) but its the widget features and the blazing fast speed. Im no samsung fan and I always hated the galaxy design language and when the first Gear S is only for Samsung, I never put any attention to any of samsung products.. until S2.

S2 breaks away from the "only for samsung" barrier, which is great and more open to others. The downfall is the apps and the gear app store interface. Gear S2 really needs lots of support. Compared to Android wear, this device is jut waaaay lacking of apps. The interface of the watch is great, but the gear app store interface is dismal. Maybe its not that an advantage for those early adopters, but if samsung really updates everything, this device will have a future, especially for non samsung users.

  • AnonD-67141

The Samsung Gear S2 (3G) and the LG Urbane LTE 2nd edition are two smartwatches that really get my attention. Finally there is a good reason for me to want to wear a smartwatch. I think both deserve praises and successes for putting all these nice technologies in such a compact form factor.

  • Anonymous

[deleted post]Apple haven't communicated on its watches sales since past the few first weeks, meaning sales are far lower than they expected and that you think.
And don't try too hard to defend Apple, everyone coming on phones/tech sites knows that Apple is selling thanks to its brand image and simple user experience only.

Back to topic, i hope to snatch a Gear S2 classic too myself, i don't like Android Wear, it's not very user friendly in my opinion (i have 1st lg g watch) that's why Android watches are failing. I also have a Samsung Gear Fit and despite not having any other apps besides basic functions, i still find it better than Android wear to use it daily.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 05 Nov 2015then u should said apple copy for making phone, apple copy sms ,... moreUse your brain, he's right, you are trying too hard by mixing up basic smartphone functions with advanced features he was talking about.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-411799, 04 Nov 2015yeah samsung is a big copy-cat. gear 1 = apple watch, gear 2 = a... moregear1=apple watch??? seriously???



biglol!!!

  • Anonymous

AnonD-462710, 05 Nov 2015Just like Apple copied the bigger Note? Just like copied the No... morethen u should said apple copy for making phone, apple copy sms , apple copy wifi , apple copy touch screen , apple copy phone call , apple copy can install apps feature , apple copy speaker for phone , apple copy using Li-Po battery , apple copy have ringtone , apple copy mp3 , apple copy gsm network , apple copy button ,

yeah... for u everything apple copy , while other everything android did it first ~

  • AnonD-462710

AnonD-411799, 04 Nov 2015yeah samsung is a big copy-cat. gear 1 = apple watch, gear 2 = a... moreJust like Apple copied the bigger Note? Just like copied the Note Pro? Just like Apple copied the ATIV S and stole the design for the iPhone 6 and 6s? Just like Apple copied split screen from the Galaxy Tabs and multi-tasking? Just like Apple copied the whole idea of the smartwatch from Samsung? Just like Apple copied picture-in-picture on a phone from Samsung? Just like Apple copied lower power mode from Samsung? Just like Apple copied the finger-print sensor idea from Motorola? I guess Apple trolls never learn do they? They seem to live in a distorted reality.

JD, 04 Nov 2015Blind Sam-boy-fan-boy detected! Actually, there is no single gre... moreYeah, great for sending d*ck drawings to fellow Apple watch users.

  • AnonD-442781

JD, 04 Nov 2015Blind Sam-boy-fan-boy detected! Actually, there is no single gre... moreI'd say its ironic that you would say that here of all places, but this is getting old, just stop making a fool of yourself and at least bother to read the intro and conclusion at the very least next time.

I'm going to add that extensive thid-party support is the last of people's concerns when buying a smart watch. Its not the same as a phone.

  • JD

AnonD-426702, 04 Nov 2015"more in-line with today's smartwatch trends, as set by Google a... moreWhat a delusional and blind fanboy u are..... Apple Watch suck? Hahahaha.... yeah right.... Probably thats why they sell 5 times more smartwatches than all other manufacturers combined (including Samsung and their geeky looking garbage).....

  • AnonD-416078

[deleted post]Are you stupid? How can you think that this watch looks geeky and Apple watch doesn't.
Gear S2 looks like an other classic watch out there, whereas Apple watch looks nothing like that.

  • AnonD-426702

"more in-line with today's smartwatch trends, as set by Google and Apple"?

Come again?
Where did Apple set any smartwatch trend?
Their smartwatches suck, are more expensive than needed, only work with their devices and erm... are RECTANGULAR. They suck so much that they cut the price. Who? Apple. Before introducing the next version. Like what never happens.

  • JD

AnonD-462710, 04 Nov 2015This watch looks 1000x better than that small piece of trash com... moreBlind Sam-boy-fan-boy detected! Actually, there is no single great review about Gear S2 simply because this thing isn't great! Where in contrast, Apple Watch was and still is being praised as the best Smartwatch money can buy! Purely because: It looks like a peace jewelery (not geeky looking smartwatch like S2), It's got the biggest app store out there (not like poor Tizen), It's got the best hart rate reader of any of the smartwatches (not like Gear S2 where you have to stand still in order to get reading fairly correct), I'ts the most customized Watch and hmmmmmc,.... I could go on and on and on and on and on..... Gear S2 is Samsung's 7th smartwatch but the execution is more like it would be their first...... Anyway, Apple Watch will wipe the floor with this geeky looking thing! End of story!

  • AnonD-411799

AnonD-442781, 04 Nov 2015You mean the square watch reminiscent of calculator watches? Yea... moreoh wait here's a square watch reminiscent of calculator designed by samsung.
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_gear-7716­.php

  • AnonD-411799

AnonD-462710, 04 Nov 2015This watch looks 1000x better than that small piece of trash com... moreyeah samsung is a big copy-cat. gear 1 = apple watch, gear 2 = apple watch + samsung innovative design, gear s2 = moto 360! enough said. why can't they come up some new design triangle may be?

  • AnonD-364786

[deleted post]considering the fate of gear owners, this gear 2 might be dead on arrival

  • AnonD-462710

This watch looks 1000x better than that small piece of trash computer on your wrist called the Apple watch. That thing looks like a mini iPhone attached to your wrist. The Apple watch is just another mass produced piece of garbage made in China.

  • AndY

So now you have to charge your watch like your smartphone, everyday...what a great progress ! What next, charging your car battery everyday ?