Sony Xperia X review: Rated X

20 May, 2016
There's a shift of command in the house of Xperia. The Sony Xperia X and its two siblings are taking over from the Xperia Z. A dynasty has come to an end. We hear the C and M families are being put out to pasture as well, soon it will be all X top to bottom.

Sort by:

  • abc

Tann Hauser, 27 May 2016So, first speed tests are out on you tube The phone beats sd 82... moreonly in benchmark speed. but not others.

So, first speed tests are out on you tube
The phone beats sd 820 flagships in speed

Nuff said...
Kudos to Sony.

  • AnonD-442781

Reaper, 26 May 2016How about last year flagships? Read the conclusion of this a... moreThey were talking about 4k. Which most of that conclusion page was criticising as being meaningless, not noticeable over 1440p, and not utilised outside of a few native apps.

Nevertheless, for the first time in years, Sony had something that other phones didn't. That's what it was saying.

Lex79, 26 May 2016Well like them or not Apple is in somewhat of a unique place in ... moreDoh,

What that last post was meant to say was: "the Z1C (whilst not prefect) deserves all the credit in the world for being the first truly flagship grade compact android product"

The 'compact' bit is important :)

Jumbo, 26 May 2016Z1C, Z3C were masterpieces for their time. I still have an Xperi... moreWell like them or not Apple is in somewhat of a unique place in the market. I would argue that Sony fans (in the mobile market) can be every bit as fanatical as Apple's fans.....but they are far fewer in number.

Apple's huge fanbase and the loyalty it shows helps apple get away with charging over the top premium's on their devices. Sony cannot compete with Apple using those tactics.

I agree with you though the Z1C (whilst not prefect) deserves all the credit in the world for being the first truly flagship grade android product. And both the Z3 and Z3C were and still are great devices, the high point of the Z series.

AnonD-531620, 26 May 2016Totally agree, I was seriously considering this device but not a... moreMy thoughts exactly.....in fact that is what I did :)

Havn't regretted it either.

  • awi11

Guys, the double sim or the 64gb Experia X is going to be Us$519 in Taiwan. I think if you are from Taiwan its a reasonable phone to get, what do you guys think?

  • abc

Reaper, 26 May 2016How about last year flagships? Read the conclusion of this a... morelol. failed sd810, with blurry edge cam. z5 premium was a failure.

  • AnonD-531620

Lex79, 26 May 2016From a hardware and quality perspective this device delivers. ... moreTotally agree, I was seriously considering this device but not at this price. The X performance is not much more expensive but there is no option in the UK. £350 - £400 and I'll take one, otherwise LG g5 for £429 ! Yes please!

  • Jumbo

Lex79, 26 May 2016The best price I have seen it available for puts it at £70... moreZ1C, Z3C were masterpieces for their time. I still have an Xperia P sitting around, works great although the battery doesn't last so long anymore. :p SOny's biggest failing is a misguided impression that everyone thinks their devices are worth a significant premium. I personally feel that they are worth something of a premium, but Sony needs to realise that it's far better to sell a --better-- device at the --same-- price as competitors, rather than the same device (more or less) at a higher price. Not least of all for the sake of avoiding comparisons to Apple-sheeple, heh.

Jumbo, 26 May 2016I can't disagree that it's currently over-priced, especially the... moreThe best price I have seen it available for puts it at £70 over what I would consider to be the acceptable maximum retail value.

And no I cannot agree with your "Once you've used an Xperia you understand why the extra price is justified" line as I have used many Xperia devices as see nothing that justifies increased value.

Now I would list those Xperia devices I have hands on experience with, but am tired of being called a liar simply on the bases of my view of them not being as high as that of diehard Sony fans.

  • Jumbo

Lex79, 26 May 2016From a hardware and quality perspective this device delivers. ... moreI can't disagree that it's currently over-priced, especially the X. Though not by as much as it may seem, if you just compare features to features. Once you've used an Xperia you understand why the extra price is justified.. to an extent. Though I don't see why they couldn't price it --equally-- and thus attract ---better--- sales. Kinda seems like it would make sense, since people need to ---know--- they're good before they can put faith in the brand re: value for pricing.

Tann Hauser, 26 May 2016Aha.... Yet they continuously compare X to flagships... Althou... moreFrom a hardware and quality perspective this device delivers.

For the price it is currently at though, it does not represent good value, it really is that simple.

I notice you Sony fans (won't say fanboys as I dont want to be childishly reported every post I make) have no problems levelling heaps of criticism against the likes of Apple and HTC etc when they over price their products.

When Sony does it though, suddenly its a different story.....

You can buy flagships for what Sony are currently asking for this device. Flagships that are overall better devices and more future proof than the X.

I wouldnt really argue about the lateness of coming to the market. Had Sony released the X at less than £400, they likley would have had a hit.

Lex79, 26 May 2016Well that's kind of a silly position to take. 1. The X Perfor... moreAha....
Yet they continuously compare X to flagships...
Although I say that this phone has some features even better than on flagships, respectivly...
A flagship it is not.
Pricing is a moot point, as its price IS 100€ lower, as a midranger implies, to what those flagships were priced when released to market.
But given the tech and features inside, and being a top brand, it was expected to be more expensive then competitive mid rangers.
Someone disliking its initial price, compared to some flagship with its price already dropped by 15-20%, does not render it being "poor", "bad", etc. midranger. In fact it is one of the best. IMO the best midrange phone.

Coming to market a bit late is an argument. That is Sonys fault.

JJ , 26 May 2016GSM disadvantages posted on X review are Not relevant since all ... moreWell that's kind of a silly position to take.

1. The X Performance is simply not an option for many people as Sony has chosen to exclude it in many market regions.
2. (And I can't believe I am having to point something this frigging obvious out) THIS IS A REVIEW FOR THE XPERIA X....NOT....REPEAT NOT THE X PERFORMANCE!!!!

Your logic would seem to suggest that it's pointless mentioning the compromises made in any low-mid range device, as those shortcomings and missing features will be available in the flagship/high-end model.



  • JJ

GSM disadvantages posted on X review are Not relevant since all those specs are available on Sony X Performance flagship Beast.

  • Anonymous

abc, 25 May 2016samsung also offer similar thing like stamina mode. it turns you... moreDude, Sony is superior in Stamina mode. That's why they require less battery capacity to handle multitasking.

  • Reaper

abc, 25 May 2016why you said that we are sammy fans? dude.. i'm not samsung fanb... moreHow about last year flagships?

Read the conclusion of this article:

http://m.gsmarena.com/sony_xperia_z5_premium-rev­iew-1344p10.php

"Sony is ahead of the competition for the first time in years with the new Xperia Z5 Premium."

Would you be here replying if Sony did the same next IFA?
For me I wish Sony keep X Performance as their flagship for this year. It's all what I need, eventhough they might do again the same to the likes of you by bringing (X Premium). I would rather get the X Performance, because it exactly meets most consumers requirements.

So pathetic replies.

Tann Hauser, 25 May 2016The link was to prove h.265 coder( encoder/decoder) is there for... moreHaha, please be honest at first the link is to prove that H.265 means it will records 4K. You were very proud about it. And youre wrong.

And then you use it to prove its better than older H.264. H265 is newer, better? Its yet to be proven.

And you said its only to prove its there for video recording? Its ok. Its better to approve it and talk about something else.

Avan Dr, 25 May 2016The tittle: Samsung's NX1: The first 4K camera to record in H.26... moreThe link was to prove h.265 coder( encoder/decoder) is there for video recording.
Sth some people cant obviously understand