Honor 8 review: Shining Knight

08 September 2016
Branding aside, the Honor 8 is a purebred Huawei sharing much of the P9 DNA. It was created to fill the blanks left by the P9 by reaching to markets and price tiers outside of those mandated by the Leica co-branded flagship.

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

AnonD-732318, 21 Jan 2018never buy honor phone again.then this my first and last honor phone Why,what is the problem of this phone?,,Drop your comment here

  • jacob

I have bought my honor 8, using it in Angola it doest let me to registar in HUAWEI account becuse my country is not listed on it, finding it hard to use, is there anyone who can help?

  • Mg Naidu

AnonD-424817, 15 Sep 2016Please update your benchmark. Geekbench4 please Tell me that update process

  • AnonD-689280

Agreed.

  • AnonD-732318

never buy honor phone again.then this my first and last honor phone

  • Raaj

alexis, 24 Sep 2017Upgraded to Honor 8 FRD-L09 (the 32 GB storage model) from Huawe... moreGreat review... Helpful... Thanks

  • alexis

Upgraded to Honor 8 FRD-L09 (the 32 GB storage model) from Huawei P8 (the 3GB RAM model, not the P8 Lite). After three months of use, here are a few impressions:
1 - VERY beautiful phone, designed with great attention to details. Couldn't find a 2,5D tempered glass screen protector, but i`ve settled with a classic tempered glass, looks ok-ish. A must have is a bumper or something to protect its back, which is slippery. Go for something transparent, for the beauty of this phone.
2 - With normal use (4-5 hours of browsing, Messenger, music, Whatsapp, Netflix Youtube, a few pictures), battery lasts for about 1,5 - 2 days. It charges fully in about 1 - 1,5 hours. The phone is excellent for videos (Youtube or Netflix or whatever), even when using data connection, because it doesn`t overheat. The P8 was so hot that you could cook eggs on it after 2 hrs of videos. The only overheating problems I`ve seen are only when you are using the main camera for pictures or videos.
3 - Speaker is REALLY loud. Louder than P8, for sure.
4 - Calling experience is average. When you`re in a call with somebody, the sound coming from the earpiece lacks bass and lacks high frequencies, so it`s kinda "tinny". Still, you have no problems hearing the people and neither do they. Signal quality is great on both SIMs. You can switch the 4G/3G connection from SIM1 to SIM2 from the phone`s menu.
IMPORTANT: there is NO VoLTE on FRD-L09, and Huawei doesn`t seem to care about it and fix it in a later update.
5: Data connection: I have tested it on three different mobile operators. When you`re on a 3G connection, you reach about 7 Mbps download and about 3 Mbps upload. On 4G, the speed increases to 20 Mbps download/upload. No overheating when using data connection. No problems with Wi-Fi connection either, it`s running smooth, no interruptions.
6: Sound in headphones is a disaster. Actually, most Huawei phones are (at best) average when it comes to sound in headphones, but Honor 8 is really silent. If you`re a music lover, don`t buy it. Or root it, then change the sound settings using AlsaMixer or something else and you will be amazed (the sound will be twice louder). I don`t know why, but Huawei limits the sound volume in headphones to a level which is annoying. Again, I don`t think future updates will solve this problem.
7 - there`s no FM Radio, which is - in my opinion - a stupid decision, since not all of us have 24/24 access to the internet and, in case of a storm, earthquake or any other natural disaster, the FM Radio is the only app that could be helpful for hearing emergency broadcasts or useful information.
8: Cameras - main camera is really good in daylight, with rich details, crisp, colourful. Great bokeh (depth of field). The colours are a little graysh / blueish, but you can edit the pics later, there`s no problem in that. If you want to take night shots, you really need a tripod, or else the pictures taken won`t be satisfying. Huawei P8 was a better performer in night photography than Honor 8. Front camera takes really good shots.
9: Lag - no lag in opening / using apps, really good phone in that aspect.

If you are looking at Honor 8 and Huawei P9 and you don`t know what to choose, go for Honor 8. It looks better and the dual camera from P9 is better than the dual camera from Honor 8 only at night photography. Also, the P9 heats faster than Honor 8. Don`t thing it`s worth spending the extra money for P9. Hopefully Huawei will correct the headphone sound problem and the missing VoLTE feature from Honor 8, to make it a real flaghsip, though. Till then, Honor 8 is just a really good phone for the money.

  • ziam style

Nice i love this phone, but the price is at the top

  • Corporal Jones!!!!&a

Brilliantly,Brilliant!!!😀great phone,easy to get round,my second Huawei,the 8 is fast and user friendly,a very happy 70 year old!!!!💂😁

  • Tangang Uwak

Anonymous, 20 Dec 2016optical stabilizer missing... always something missing. And stil... moreWhy are you looking for OIS in a midrange phone? If you want OIS then buy flagship phone. Or better yet buy DSLR. Tangang uwak

  • Anonymous

Can anyone say how is the selfie camera & which device it would be comparable for front cam ??

  • Anonymous

honor 8 is single sim or hybrid sim slot???

  • vidya

osm.....
super....
fantastic..

  • Hofmann

I had the opportunity to hold a Honor 8 in my hands today. A solid and very beautiful phone indeed.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 20 Dec 2016optical stabilizer missing... always something missing. And stil... moreyou're right. With OIS, better camera (and removable battery) this could have been a true killer phone

  • Sameer Pakistan

fjweinbk, 10 Jan 2017Had mine for 2+ weeks and used my old Samsung headphones with it... moreThis is very common with my samsung when i tried incompatible headphones it automatically opens the google voice & behaves strange... its all due to the non-compatible headphones now im using compatible headphones with my samsung the phone rocks, now im planning to buy huawei honor8 in next week for sure.....

  • Sean

GSM Arena I have read on Honor website this phone has Nippon Electric Glass which is a Japanese company

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 02 Jan 2017Is it waterproof No it's not

  • fjweinbk

Had mine for 2+ weeks and used my old Samsung headphones with it because it didn't come with one. I noticed that when I'm on a call or listening to music that it'll drop my call or end my music whenever I have a slight movement that interrupts the connection between the headphone jack and the hole for the jack. Seems like a loose connection where the slightest movement can cause a drop call or automatically initiate google voice. Has anyone else had/have this issue? I wondering if I should buy an Huawei headphone to use with it but it just doesn't make sense tho. Please help!

  • Anonymous

Can tell me how I take snap shot on honor 8 mobile