Google Pixel XL review: Upsampled

28 October 2016
Google was always a service - the best search engine on Earth. Now under the Alphabet umbrella, Google is becoming a brand - for online services yes, but also for hardware. Leading the charge are the Pixels, Google’s equivalent to Samsung’s Galaxy or Apple’s i-gadgets... and every bit as premium.

Sort by:

  • I
  • I need a new phone
  • XMk
  • 24 Nov 2016

Mike I, 31 Oct 2016Pixel or Pixel XL has moved to the top slot on my short lis... moreIf you install Google Allo. you get to use the Assistant. Not sure if it's the same experience though.

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • Ibx
    • 21 Nov 2016

    It does have water resistance (IP58) splash and water resistant.......

      • t
      • tituu
      • 7ke
      • 12 Nov 2016

      AnonD-269661, 31 Oct 2016I like Samsung because of the button placements its perfect... moreits easy to drive

        • O
        • Omid46
        • auJ
        • 08 Nov 2016

        Hi,Google the wealthiest King.The difference between 32gb and 128GB price is $550+!!!Whatdoes it mean llogically!!!?With $1500 price tag,15 nexus7 2014 advanced can be bought front Asus!I myself decided to put Pixel XL in my Grand Virtual Dream Museum,then I changed my mind to postpone my decision!!I buy at least 14 Google nexus7 2014 edition and give them to charities!Maybe Google had done this good deed before secretly,like good deeds in Africa to uproot viruses!But,in Google,s constant updates and upgrades,all disadvantages,mentioned in gsmArena,s complete review, can be solved or Pixel XL pro or plus will have no shortages at all!!!So lets wait and see...Omid12Omidvar....

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • Mfx
          • 03 Nov 2016

          Are you not reviewing the Pixel? At least its battery life test?

            • D
            • AnonD-196373
            • U@$
            • 02 Nov 2016

            Couldn't get it.. No Manual Or Pro mode in camera..??

              • J
              • JackTheIPhoneKiller
              • KIB
              • 01 Nov 2016

              I don't care what everyone thinks, IMHO GSMArena has done a very fair review. Especially the last 2 paragraphs on the Conclusion page, totally agree with them.

                Its a shame Sami can't catch up with Apple performance. Actually it's Qualcomme that really needs to do fart much better job.
                If the iPhone 7 had a better screen i would have switched. lets see next year

                  • M
                  • Mike I
                  • p4S
                  • 31 Oct 2016

                  Pixel or Pixel XL has moved to the top slot on my short list, thanks largely to the Assistant feature, which is a software package not available on the other Android phones. There is a way of installing it on other Androids by so called rooting, but it is too complicated (for me) and could be overridden by Google later.

                    • .
                    • .alpha
                    • ytx
                    • 31 Oct 2016

                    Google phone = crappy to mid-range hardware + tons of software tweaks to make it competitive. Alas, there only so much softwares can make up for lack of features.

                      • .
                      • .alpha
                      • ytx
                      • 31 Oct 2016

                      The glass panel on the back is only there to make the phone not exactly an iPhone clone. There is no functionality to it as the iPhone 6 style antenna lines and lack of wireless charging show.

                        • N
                        • Nexus_owner
                        • 0V6
                        • 31 Oct 2016

                        AnonD-604504, 31 Oct 2016If only looking at GSM (since this is GSMArena) then I conc... moreAt last an explanation which sorts out many things... To be honest I thought that whoever chooses an Pixel over an Axon7 or OnePlus3 was just lazy or at least misinformed. Thanks for clearing that up.
                        To us who are living in European countries these details about networks in US weren't known...

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • JbI
                          • 31 Oct 2016

                          It looks positively ancient compared to Mi Mix. What the heck Google (and in general American companies)? Get your act together. We have reached a point in history were a Chinese product genuinely looks better. Do something, or things will get worse from now on...

                            • m
                            • mpx
                            • mky
                            • 31 Oct 2016

                            This phone is great, the only problema is the price, for 500$ probably the best.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • 3uW
                              • 31 Oct 2016

                              Any idea who makes the screen? It seems identical to the one in the Axon 7.

                                • H
                                • Haplo
                                • mNi
                                • 31 Oct 2016

                                Anonymous, 30 Oct 2016do a pixel vs nexus 6p comparison. I'd also be interested in a Pixel vs Nexus 6P comparison. Especially comparison of photo samples.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • sAU
                                  • 31 Oct 2016

                                  The downsides (negatives) of this phone outweight the upside and therefore I won't be a buyer! There are other, better top end phones out there that beat the crap out of Pixel. We find it amazing that G is trying to build (HTC actually) a top end phone with middle spec's. Keep trying Pixel (or Nexus or whatever you want to call yourselves), maybe you'll hit the nail on the head one day.

                                    • D
                                    • AnonD-604504
                                    • 4GL
                                    • 31 Oct 2016

                                    AnonD-448401, 30 Oct 2016HAHA you are wrong man.you can get the same performance in ... moreIf only looking at GSM (since this is GSMArena) then I concur that there are cheaper alternatives.

                                    If looking at Pixel's major market which would be US where CDMA on partner carrier Verizon and Project FI (Sprint, Us Cellular, & T-Mobile)

                                    OnePlus doesn't bother to be CDMA compliant. ZTE Axon 7 is missing Sprint bands according to https://www.zteusa.com/axon-7; which leaves the LeEco Le Pro 3 which specs show correct band support for Verizon & Sprint yet the device is not supported on either carrier.

                                    It's like they cut costs by choosing not to get US CDMA support.As such these devices are not real alternatives for US CDMA users.

                                    Which leaves HTC 10, LG V20, Samsung Galaxy S7 series and iPhone 7/plus as the competition for Pixel/Pixel XL for devices that have all 4 Major carrier support. Neither of those devices are what I would consider as a bargain compared to ZTE, OnePlus, or LeEco.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • vaN
                                      • 31 Oct 2016

                                      Great camera? HUH! There is a high level of noise, if this was xperia you would call it a bad camera.

                                        • D
                                        • AnonD-269661
                                        • ucy
                                        • 31 Oct 2016

                                        I like Samsung because of the button placements its perfect for my use.
                                        I cant have a phone with no front button.