Samsung Galaxy S8+ review: Infinity and beyond

18 April 2017
What was once an impossible fantasy - a sketch in someone’s book, a render of an ambitious concept - is now a reality. These are just some thoughts that come to mind holding the Galaxy S8+, the big and bold next step Samsung took.

Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • nC3
  • 18 Apr 2017

AnonD-483897, 18 Apr 2017835 "95%" same as 835?I think he meant

"835 is 95% the same as 820"

    • D
    • AnonD-483897
    • gM$
    • 18 Apr 2017

    AnonD-39937, 18 Apr 2017So the 835 is 95% the same as 835 in terms of performance a... more835 "95%" same as 835?

      • D
      • AnonD-39937
      • gCq
      • 18 Apr 2017

      So the 835 is 95% the same as 835 in terms of performance and should be more "efficient"...But the battery life is similar to last generation...This sounds like missusage of hardware...A battery which lasted 50% more would have been better than a curved screen with weird too tall screen (which is hard to handle, I used it for a day).

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • nC3
        • 18 Apr 2017

        Anonymous, 18 Apr 2017Problem is that people have two eyes, which means that our ... moreYou're just talking about the peripheral vision. That's why I said that the useful field of view of the human eye is the closest to the 4:3.

          • D
          • AnonD-483897
          • gM$
          • 18 Apr 2017

          Tann Hauser, 18 Apr 2017Am I not spot on with my deleted comment in any way? Batt... moreLOL, a rare seen Sony fanboy.

            • A
            • AlienNextDoor
            • JK1
            • 18 Apr 2017

            Anonymous, 18 Apr 20174:3 is much better than 16:9 in every way, because the usab... moreDont't give me that "human eye can only see" crap.

            The reason why the aspect ratio sucks is black bars.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • LQw
              • 18 Apr 2017

              Anonymous, 18 Apr 2017Why GSMArena didn't check out the reddish tint of the S8 di... moreIt is happening only in Korea so far

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • LQw
                • 18 Apr 2017

                Anonymous, 18 Apr 2017Even with only 3/4th of the screen used (during the test) i... moreProfits?

                OEMs can give same battery life while spending less money. Then they charge more for same bsttery size.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • JbI
                  • 18 Apr 2017

                  Anonymous, 18 Apr 2017Why GSMArena didn't check out the reddish tint of the S8 di... moreReviews are mostly ready days before NDA is lifted, so they didn't know about the red tint issue back then. Also bad reviews tend to stop companies from sending you samples, so they have to be mostly positive if they want to keep reviewing Samsung products.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • 0Iw
                    • 18 Apr 2017

                    Battery test is rigged. They perform it with FULL HD screen instead of original resolution like S7 Edge. Real results are much lower.

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • JbI
                      • 18 Apr 2017

                      Anonymous, 18 Apr 20174:3 is much better than 16:9 in every way, because the usab... moreProblem is that people have two eyes, which means that our total view is wider than it is tall.

                      If you close one eye you can get a 4:3 screen fill your field of view, if you keep both open then you need something like 1.89:1 screen to fill your view. Which is why the film standard is right around that mark. So neither 16:9 , nor of course Samsung's ultra wide screen are ideal.

                      Only Xiaomi came close by using 17:9.

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • nC3
                        • 18 Apr 2017

                        Why GSMArena didn't check out the reddish tint of the S8 display? The article about red tint of S8 has appeared hours before this review.

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • JbI
                          • 18 Apr 2017

                          monsterduc1000, 18 Apr 2017Barely better than the OnePlus 3t and actually loses out in... moreIt's actually decimated in day to day performance even if heavy encoding takes place (where the higher power cpu plays a role): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OX4JucpvbJM

                          Ram matters much more than SoC in say to day performance.

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • JbI
                            • 18 Apr 2017

                            AnonD-632062, 18 Apr 2017Nice review for a nice phone! I like the top-notch scre... moreIt's not 88 hours. During the test only 3/4ths of the screen was lit. Actually battery is in the low 80s , high 70s. Don't just read the charts, take in account what is written also.

                              Barely better than the OnePlus 3t and actually loses out in some categories... Not bad for a phone half the S8's price.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • nC3
                                • 18 Apr 2017

                                Savor, 18 Apr 2017iPhone 7 sucks, dude. Worst update ever for the iPhone. The... more4:3 is much better than 16:9 in every way, because the usable field of view of the human eye is 4:3. And nobody felt the need for nearly 100 years to change it.

                                The reason why manufacturers and the collaborator media sites encouraged the 16:9 is that they wanted people to buy new TVs, new products, they wanted people to spend their money so manufacturers gain profit. It's pure greediness and planned obsolescence.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • JbI
                                  • 18 Apr 2017

                                  Even with only 3/4th of the screen used (during the test) it still gets less battery than S7. I would like to see people justifying that. The most economical SoC hardly made any difference. I would like to see people justifying Samsung's decision to put such a small battery. We're looking for a battery life in its 70s when the whole screen is lit, that's quite a step back from last year's Galaxies.

                                    tumama, 18 Apr 2017due I always see you bashing Samsung and also it doesn't ma... moreAm I not spot on with my deleted comment in any way?
                                    Battery tested in fhd with half act pixels, vid with 16:9, meaning more than an inch of that scrn inactive.
                                    Graphic onscreen bench is below expectations.
                                    And just look at photos close.

                                    Consider that before calling me bashing.

                                      • A
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • 4S2
                                      • 18 Apr 2017

                                      AnonD-656673, 18 Apr 2017Every OLED display has slightly over saturated colours, whi... moreBut if you look at side by side comparison, the red on xperia is true red while galaxy s7 is washed out red that looks like orange.

                                        • L
                                        • Levy
                                        • q{Z
                                        • 18 Apr 2017

                                        I've been using the Nokia N8 for years now and it's better than the S8 in almost every aspect, especially its unmatched triangulation tracking ability.