Samsung Galaxy S8+ review: Infinity and beyond

18 April 2017
What was once an impossible fantasy - a sketch in someone’s book, a render of an ambitious concept - is now a reality. These are just some thoughts that come to mind holding the Galaxy S8+, the big and bold next step Samsung took.

Sort by:

  • A
  • AlienNextDoor
  • JK1
  • 18 Apr 2017

Worse design than S7. Curved screen is an annoying gimmick. The fingerprint reader is now useless. The battery is worse. The soc is hardly an upgrade. The camera is 1% better. More bloatware eg Bixby. Terrible aspect ratio. Screen to tall, now impossible to use with one hand.

Seriously, only a fool obsessed with showing off gadgets would buy this overpriced crap.

I have an S7 and I'll upgrade in 5 years...maybe...when they make an identical S7 phone but with at least 5000 mah battery and 41 mpx camera like we had in 2012 on the Nokia 808.

Not impressed with gimmicks Samsung.

    • C
    • Cyka Blyat
    • MkX
    • 18 Apr 2017

    Anonymous, 18 Apr 2017I feel like GSMA got a little enthusiastic when reviewing t... moreor you can go to phonearena and most reviews for the iPhone are huge upgrades for them even if they are just plain incremental upgrades.

      The best phone there is nowadays, that's obvious. Although there are just teeny-tiny differences in compare to S7. For those who got S6 (with that awful battery), S8 is definitely something to go for, but those who got the previous year model will doubtfully change.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • xCR
        • 18 Apr 2017

        I hope Galaxy S8+ without any major problem like battery. But I also hope that the next Samsung device will get even better than before. If the Galaxy S8+ get the same problem again, Samsung will write off their mobile business.

          • t
          • tumama
          • LC8
          • 18 Apr 2017

          [deleted post]due I always see you bashing Samsung and also it doesn't matters if its on Fhd Qhd the battery wont be affected maybe by 20 or 30 minutes since the pixels will always be on

            Excellent display, as expected from a Samsung.
            And also ... . .... . .... . .... . ....

            I am sorry nothing else. Pixel's camera still remains on top LOL! Won't even go to software experience of pure android and heavily skinned one. So yeah best of luck to the buyers.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • LQw
              • 18 Apr 2017

              The technology dual pixel comes with the imx sensor. It is not added by Sammy like some people believe..

                • D
                • AnonD-656673
                • gMJ
                • 18 Apr 2017

                Anonymous , 18 Apr 2017I don't trust gsmarena and displaymate when it comes to rev... moreEvery OLED display has slightly over saturated colours, which you can fix by tweaking rgb values. but still much better than LCDs washed out colours

                  • D
                  • AnonD-632062
                  • Hxc
                  • 18 Apr 2017

                  Nice review for a nice phone!

                  I like the top-notch screen, the good 88 hour battery life, the better camera (both front and back). I felt the Exynos 8895 didn't deliver a huge performance jump considering the Kirin 960, Apple A10 & even last year's SD 821. Maybe the Adreno 540 GPU will impress better. And BTW, QHD selfie video in previous Samsung flagships also.

                    • Z
                    • Z
                    • g3h
                    • 18 Apr 2017

                    Disappointed with the battery.
                    S7 edge is better.

                      • S
                      • Savor
                      • Ibx
                      • 18 Apr 2017

                      [deleted post]iPhone 7 sucks, dude. Worst update ever for the iPhone. The SE is better than it. Stop trolling.

                      As expected, not a huge upgrade from the S7 edge. What will annoy most users will be the new 18.5:9 aspect ratio. No content provider will concede to that oddball ratio anytime soon especially for a phone. It took 15 years for TV stations to transition from 4:3 to 16:9. And YouTube didn't start offering 720p 16:9 until 2009-2010. Expect pillar boxing.

                        • A
                        • Anonymous
                        • 4S2
                        • 18 Apr 2017

                        I don't trust gsmarena and displaymate when it comes to review. They say that galaxy has the best oled screen and excellent contrast ratio. Gsmarena even stated that it has excellent delta average, but when it comes to comparing it with other phone; the color on galaxy s7 seems less accurate than the Xperia xz. How come?

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • pBC
                          • 18 Apr 2017

                          I feel like GSMA got a little enthusiastic when reviewing this phone. Like almost every small improvements became huge in their eyes.
                          For example, the SOC is on par or behind the A10 which is 6months older, and it's also not so much better than last year's SDs. It doesn't seem like a great achievement, does it?
                          Weird

                            • D
                            • AnonD-538833
                            • Aba
                            • 18 Apr 2017

                            This phone is inferior to last year S7 edge in pretty much every way. Now S7 edge is even cheaper too. This is hardy a upgrade from S7 edge. No need to upgrade.

                              • H
                              • Hoffmann
                              • naq
                              • 18 Apr 2017

                              I don't feel like buying this phone is a good decision to make, most of all if you have a S7 Edge. I would wait for the OP5, LG V30 or eventually the Note 8

                                • D
                                • AnonD-373654
                                • Kcw
                                • 18 Apr 2017

                                At-last Gsm, I have been waiting for like decades now.... thank you for your hard work.